This is a selection of ready-reference sources, including catalogs, dictionaries, directories, and general guides, that are currently available in electronic format or microform. Consult with a reference librarian for information about additional printed reference materials.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) contains records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. The subject areas covered include: English language, English literature, bibliography, and traditional culture of the English-speaking world.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- An index to the literature of the arts and humanities.
- Book Review Digest Plus
- A bibliographic database that cites and provides excerpts of reviews of current English-language fiction and non-fiction books for children and adults. An abstract of each book is also provided. Periodical coverage includes approximately 109 leading magazines from the United States, Canada and Great Britain.
- Books In Print
- Index to books in print, forthcoming books, and recently out-of-print books. The current printed volumes are available at the following libraries: Art & Architecture, Divinity, Engineering and Applied Science, Forestry, Geology, Kline, Law, Medical, Music, Social Sciences Library, and Sterling Memorial Library.
- Gale Literary Databases
- Includes Associations Unlimited; Biography and Genealogy Master Index; Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select; Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Humanities Abstracts Full Text
- A bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, folklore, general scholarship, history, journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion and theology. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
- Individual Literature Collections (LION)
- Lit Finder
- Lit Finder is a international literature resource covering all time periods, comprised of five databases that provide extensive full-text content in English or English translation of the works included.
Provides the full text poems; citations to poetry found in anthologies, single-author volumes, and periodicals; poems published in the current year which forms an annual anthology of the latest poetry published; poetry explication; and biographical and critical essays on hundreds of poets.
Short stories with accompanying biographical information and critical discussion.
Full-text essays and discursive writing based on books published in the 20th century that focus on the humanities and social sciences, and include biographies and literary criticism.
Plays covering the range of dramatic expression, including one-act plays, puppet plays, Harlinquinades, tragedies, gothic, children's, religious, romantic, historical, and comedic plays. The collection includes many nationalities, all in English or English translations.
Over 1,800 of the best and the best-known speeches of the past 2,500 years and categorizing them into easily searchable genres.
- Literature Online with MLA
- English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources. A search in this database also automatically searches the MLA Bibliography, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) (the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature), and selected Web resources chosen by the editors. Search results in Literature Online also link directly from this database to EEBO (Early English Books Online).
- MLA Bibliography
- Index to materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, excluding book reviews.
- Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present
- Orlando provides entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links, and bibliographies. Interacting with these materials creates a dynamic inquiry from any number of perspectives into centuries of women's writing.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
- Short Story Index
- Short Story Index is the electronic version of the standard reference work Short Story Index. It is an index to short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals. The periodicals are those indexed in Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Abstracts Full Text.
- Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd Edition
- Fully searchable version of the OED, 2nd edition (1989). Includes definition and etymology searches, quotation searches, proximity searches, as well as boolean searching.