It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An article is a piece of writing found in a periodical or serial -- commonly known as magazines, newspapers, and journals. Articles are a way to get the most up-to-date way to get information.
What is a "scholarly" article?
In order for an article to be considered "scholarly" it is vetted and approved by other scholars in the field (hence peer reviewed). The approval process can take anywhere from 6 months to a year and publishing an article in a peer reviewed journal is often a requirement of tenure for researchers and faculty.
Find answers to common questions, discover solutions to common problems, and more!
Where do you find scholarly articles?
Scholarly articles are found in peer review journals. You can find scholarly articles (and full journals, like Nature) using library discovery tools and databases. Two resources to start you in this process are listed below:
Make your article search even more specific by using a database. Search for the exact database you need by title (e.g.: "JSTOR," or "Academic Search Premier"), or locate a relevant database using a keyword or subject search (e.g.: "philosophy" or "art history").
General & Reference Databases
If you're just getting started with your research, you may want to consult a reference database or multidisciplinary database in order to get background information on your topic. Doing background research early will help you move forward to refine your research question.
Some examples of general databases are listed below. Try them!