It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Guide Bibliographique is a bibliographic guide in French that is intended for students undertaking doctoral research. Section One presents general works on religion. The subsequent sections are devoted to different disciplines and present first manuals and guides for study, then dictionaries, works and bibliographies, collections, and principal periodicals. The guide is not limited to works in French. Some entries are annotated. The Guide provides an author name index, and periodical index, and very helpful topical index for periodicals.
This guide to theological and religious reference materials deals with works in all Western languages and covering all traditions. Its target audiences are students, scholars and clergy. The intention of the work is to introduce students to the full range of reference materials likely to be required in theological or religious studies and available in academic libraries. All kinds of reference materials are covered, including bibliographies, indexes, abstracts, encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, and basic textbooks. Volume I divides into 2 sections, with the first covering general reference resources, and the second covering Biblical studies. Each entry is given an alpha-numeric number and the indexes are to these numbered entries, not to the page. There are three indexes provided: title, author, and subject. Most, thought not all, entries are accompanied by brief annotations with cross-references to other entries provided where appropriate.
This is the 3rd edition of a work that first appeared in 1978. It is a selective bibliography of over 800 titles. Part I covers general reference works and comprises 19 chapters, each covering various reference works by type: i.e., bibliographical guides, handbooks and directories, encyclopedias, indexes, etc. Part II comprises 20 chapters covering various subject areas, i.e., Biblical Studies, Church History, Theology, Ethics, etc. Each subject area tends to be covered in several chapters, for example, there are 6 chapters in all in the area of Church History, 6 chapters in the area of Biblical Studies, etc. Each chapter further breaks down by subtypes: for example, chapter 27, Ancient Church History and Patristics is subdivided as follows: Bibliographical Guides/Handbooks; Bibliographies/Indexes; Encyclopedias; Patristic Writings-Bibliographies; Patristic Writings-Lexicons and Concordances; Other. The table of contents not only indicates on what page each chapter begins, but also the page numbers for each of the subdivisions within the chapters. Each item covered is given an alpha-numeric code, and a brief, critical annotation is provided. The index is to the alpha-numeric code, not to the page. This is an excellent reference work, well laid out and easy to use, with annotations that are brief and to the point.
3. Research Guides & Bibliographies: Specific Topics
"This bibliography is intended to facilitate access to information about black American women in religion" (from the preface). Many of the entries include annotations and evaluations. The work includes 867 entries.
"The Howard University Bibliography of African and Afro-American religious studies is a comprehensive bibliographical guide to more than thirteen thousand primary and secondary sources in the areas of African, Afro-Caribbean and Afro-American religious studies" (from the preface).Brief annotations and evaluations are provided for some entries. Covers works from both the 19th and 20th century.
"Annotated bibliography of 461 entries listing both monographs and periodical articles. Materials are arranged alphabetically by author in one of three sections: Origins and development of black theology; Liberation, feminism and Marxism; Cultural and global discourse. Indexes of names, titles and subjects." (Balay)
"...a comprehensive scholarly bibliography of published materials on the varieties of Liberation theology, mostly in book form, available in English" (from the preface). Defines Liberation theology broadly. Includes works on or from Africa, Latin America, North America, feminist, Asian and other liberation perspectives.
Call Number: BR95 .B575X 2002 (Trowbridge Reference Room) and Online
This resource covers more than 450 Christian theologians from all historical periods. Each entry sketches the theologian’s education and career, and provides a concise summary of that person’s major works and contributions to theology. Entries are accompanied by short bibliographies, divided into two parts: Part A, listing the most important editions of the theologian’s primary works; Part B, listing secondary works, specifically modern studies of the thinker’s thought and influence. When possible, dates and places of the thinker’s birth and death are provided. The scope is limited to non-living theologians who died before 1994. The intended audience is graduate students in a master’s degree program in theology. There were 97 contributors to this work, and each entry is signed. This is a valuable reference work providing the new student with background into some of the major thinkers in the history of Christian theology.
This is an accessible reference work aimed at the non-specialist in the field. Arrangement is alphabetical. Definitions are concise and generally clear, with over 1700 terms covered. The focus is both on Christian theology and terms related to biblical studies. Cross-references are indicated by small caps. This is a useful tool for quick, ready-reference.
3 volume translation of a French work. Includes a table of entries, of which there are over 500. Entries are arranged in alphabetical order by topic. Entries are signed by the author and include extensive bibliographies. Cross-references are listed at the end of each entry, and are also indicated within an entry by an asterisk. This is a comprehensive and scholarly encyclopedic dictionary, which will be of immense use to scholars. A list of contributors, including both each one’s institutional affiliation and the entry for which he or she is responsible, is provided in the back. A general index is also provided.
Call Number: BR95 .E48 (Trowbridge Reference Room and Circulating Collection)
First published in 1975, this volume contains revisions of the major articles on theology, biblical studies and related topics primarily from Sacramentum Mundi. Although bibliographies are not included in this work it is nonetheless useful as a basic encyclopedia of Christian theology for the student and layman. (Gorman and Gorman) (Roman Catholic Perspective.)
Request this CD-ROM at the Circulation Desk. "Theological movements and trends, such as liberation theology, feminist theology, and black theology, and theological concepts such as resurrection, miracles, and incarnation are combined with biographies and beliefs of prominent theologians" to form the content of this CD-ROM.
The arrangement of this encyclopedia is alphabetical by topic. It is intended to be an authoritative, readable and reliable reference source on modern Christian thought. Modern is defined as the period in Western culture beginning with the Enlightenment in the 18th century, and Christian thought is defined broadly as not only theology but also the general economic, social, political and aesthetic perspectives of Christianity in the modern world. The editors attempted to avoid presenting either a liberal or a conservative bias in this work. The intended audience is both students and advanced scholars. The entries that deal with the major schools of thought in modern Christianity provide a review of the important themes, personalities, literature and debates. Other entries cover philosophical movements having an impact on modern Christian thought, such as existentialism, Marxism, etc. There are also entries that deal with the major Christian theologians of the period. Suggestions for further reading are provided with each entry. A glossary of theological terms is included. An index is also provided. Each entry is signed and a list of contributors is provided. Prominent scholars in the field of religious studies make up the list of contributors. This is a helpful reference tool and would be especially useful in obtaining an overview of the various movements, persons, and trends in contemporary Christian theology and ethics.
Over 630 entries from 205 international scholars. Includes biographies and biblical, systematic, and historical perspectives. Selective bibliographies and extensive cross references. A good, concise, and up-to-date dictionary for both general readers and specialists. (Kepple and Meuther) (Evangelical Perspective.)
Represents the first collaborative attempt in English to take stock of the remarkable developments in the church and in theology since Vatican II. This purpose determines structure, authorship and intended audience. Constructed around 24 main topics which editors believe constitute the principle themes of the Christian faith. (Roman Catholic perspective.)
Call Number: BR95 O25 2000 (Stack Reference and Circulating Collection)
This dictionary includes "some biblical, catechetical, ethical, historical, liturgical and philosophical terms that theological students will come across sooner or later. Although this dictionary is primarily designed for westerners (particularly Roman Catholics), increased contacts with eastern Christians have encouraged us to add some terms from the east." (Preface.)
Contains revised versions of the major articles from Sacramentum Mundi, from Lexikon fur Theologie und Kirche, and from Theologisches Taschenlexikon, and entirely new articles on topics of major importance written for the occasion. No bibliographies. (Kepple and Meuther) (Roman Catholic Perspective.)
Concerned primarily with contemporary theological issues and with the interdisciplinary relationships in theology. Entries provide brief but informative notes on a wide range of terms, and there are both cross references and bibliographies. Not intended as an exhaustive dictionary and is most suitable for laymen and less advanced students. The views expressed are objective and moderate in tone, providing clear and non technical information of a philosophical and dogmatic nature. (Gorman and Gorman)
The compilation is based on the work of more than 600 Roman Catholic theologians and attempts to present current developments in all areas of theology; it is based on modern investigations of key themes in the various theological disciplines, and the articles, all of substantial length, include bibliographies and cross references. The general index in volume 6 helpful in light of the approximately 1000 articles. Not especially objective. Nevertheless, it remains the best large scale guide to current thinking among liberal Roman Catholics and should be consulted by students of all theological disciplines. Cf. the single volume dondensation, Encyclopedia of Theology: The Concise Sacramentum Mundi. (Gorman and Gorman) (Roman Catholic Perspective.)
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
This is a projected 4 volume encyclopedia of theology; 3 volumes have appeared so far. The work reflects the perspectives and interests of Vatican II and presents an authoritative statement of Catholic faith and doctrines along with the sources from which they are based in scripture and tradition. Excluded are entries dealing with Catholic discipline and Canon Law. Each entry is accompanied by a bibliography. A list of contributors is provided. The work is also illustrated. This work is valuable for getting the Catholic perspective on different issues. However, since some of the volumes first appeared in the 1960s, it is somewhat dated especially on some of the more recent issues in Roman Catholicism, especially since the official position of the church has changed on a number of issues since Vatican II. It would be more useful for historical perspective than to get the current Catholic position, and should be supplemented by other works.
Successor to Baker's Dictionary of Theology (1961). 1,200 articles, some with bibliographies, from 200 contributors (mostly American and British), representing a variety of evangelical viewpoints. Stress in each entry is on the "theological dimension" of the subject. (Kepple and Meuther)
Terms are drawn primarily from Protestant scholastic theology. Object is to provide an introductory theological vocabulary which will help students to overcome difficulties inherent in current English language works that use Latin and Greek terms. Helpful historical discussions accompany many terms.
"Offered as an aid in the study of theological German. The new edition has an enlarged theological vocabulary of about 20,000 German entries with English equivalents 'for reading the Bible and German theological texts.'--Pref. Includes scripture references to Luther's translation of the Bible." (Balay)
General entries provide an overview of the field, bibliographies and lists of contributors provide opportunity for further reading. Emphasis is upon the various contexts out of which feminist thought arises, hence "Theologies" (plural). The main articles on "feminist theology" and "liberation theology" are meant to provide introductory pathways.
Includes a chronology of Merton’s life and a list of Merton’s writings. The rest of the volume is arranged alphabetically by topic, and covers key issues such as Merton’s views on war, other religions, the church, sexuality, etc. Also covered are the major writings of Merton as well as significant people in his life. There are illustrations scattered throughout the text, mainly photographs of significant people in Merton’s life. A good introduction and reference work on this important Christian thinker. It lacks on index, however, which would improve the work. Articles are signed by the initials of the three authors.
This is a massive multi-volume encyclopedic dictionary of Catholic theology. There are 15 volumes plus indices in supplements. The strengths of the dictionary include substantial articles on modern European (especially French) theology, and medieval theology. The aim of the dictionary is to present the doctrines of Catholic theology, the arguments behind them, and their history. This is an excellent resource for historical theology. The arrangement is alphabetical with signed entries.
Since its first edition in 1967, the New Catholic Encyclopedia, which has been called one of the top 50 reference sources of the millennium, has been a standard. Long prized for its scholarly presentation of persons and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities, this revised edition features contributions from hundreds of international scholars. This new edition contains both new and revised articles, all signed, bringing the entire encyclopedia up to date. Among the 12,000 entries are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and biographies of contemporary religious figures; thousands of photographs, maps and illustrations; and updated bibliographical citations.
6. Other Reference Tools: Handbooks, Companions, etc.
The aim is to introduce anyone who is interested to the main figures relevant to Christian thought from the end of the New Testament period to the present day. Each entry provides names, dates, and a certain amount of biographical information. An appendix provides a listing and description of the popes.
Updates 1958 version. Definition essays on concepts and movements of thought in contemporary Protestantism. 148 fresh articles in the new edition are an attempt to record the situation of theology at the end of the 20th century. Thus, the voices of Roman Catholics, women, and minorities have been included. Up to date bibliographies.
This reference work provides background on some of the most important theologians of the 20th century. It would be of most use to the student of theology who needs a readable introduction to the important issues and themes of 20th century theology and who wants to get a sense of the significance of a particular thinker. The criteria for selection of theologians are set out in the preface: first, the thinker must have written constructively on a broad range of theological issues, and second, the thinker must be widely studied at present, especially in universities and seminaries. The period covered starts from the end of World War I until the end of the century. Each essay is written by a leading expert in the thinker’s works, and the basic pattern followed in most of the essays is as follows: introduction, survey, content (concentrating on the main issues of a theology, or on particular members of movements), the debate about the content, an assessment of the theology’s influence, achievement, and agenda for the future, notes, and a short bibliography. At the end of the volume there is a list of important dates and a glossary of key words and phrases. Chapters cover various groupings of theologians: i.e., British Theologies, Evangelical and Orthodox Theologies, etc. The epilogue is an essay entitled “Christian Theology at the Turn of the Millenium” written by the editor. A list of contributors is provided and indicates the contributor’s institutional affiliation as well as his or her important publications.
This work provides essays explicating the work of important contemporary theological thinkers. The organization of this work is alphabetical by the last name of the thinker/or by the topic covered (i.e., Asian Theologians). One interesting feature is the “Routes for Reading” section that groups theologians into various categories: geographical, ecclesial, theological family. Entries tend to be 10 or more pages in length. Most essays follow the pattern of a brief description of the life and major works of the theologian, followed by a discussion of the thinker’s theology. Most of the essays provide a select bibliography of the works of the thinkers discussed; however, secondary bibliographies of works about the thinker are not always provided. A listing of contributors is provided. There is no index. This is a work that would prove useful to the student in theology who wants to obtain a basic understanding of the current trends and issues in the theology of the mid-late 20th century.