It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale libraries will be closed Nov. 25 – Jan. 5. Online services and access to library materials will continue. See COVID-19 library updates.
This is an accessible reference work aimed at the non-specialist in the field. Arrangement is alphabetical. Definitions are concise and generally clear, with over 1700 terms covered. The focus is both on Christian theology and terms related to biblical studies. Cross-references are indicated by small caps. This is a useful tool for quick, ready-reference.
""Every generation needs its own Dictionary of the Bible" (Introd.) and this work fills that need admirably. 1,000 contributors, mostly North American, have provided 6,200 entries, some as long as 40 pages; most have bibliographies. Entries cover every proper name, major words, each book of the Bible, Apocryphal texts, Dead Sea scrolls, and Nag Hamadi codices. Gives much attention to cultural history, social institutions, and method. In the area of word studies, this work does not attempt to supplant important previous publications such as The Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible. Uses cross-references, but an index would improve access." (Balay)
Also available in the Marvin H. Pope Biblical Studies Seminar Room.
"An important work of Roman Catholic biblical scholarship, providing articles on theologically significant words. A supplementary bibliography created for this translation includes English-language titles. Analytical index of articles and cross-references, index of biblical references, and index of Greek and Hebrew words." (Balay)
Call Number: BS440 I63 Suppl. (Stack Reference & Marvin H. Pope Seminary Room)
"A scholarly encyclopedic dictionary designed for the preacher, scholar, student, teacher, and general reader, referring to both the King James Version and the Revised Standard Version, to the Apocrypha, the Pseudepigrapha, the Dead Sea Scrolls, and other ancient manuscripts. Articles have been contributed by scholars from many countries, are signed, and usually include bibliographies. The illustrations, both color and black-and-white, are good and pertinent, and there is a section of colored maps, as well as outline maps inserted in the text. Important for modern biblical study." (Balay)
This work is published by Intervarsity Press. It follows the format and approach of previous encyclopedias by the same publisher on the New Testament. The arrangement is alphabetical by topic, and most articles are of extensive length (no article is less than 1000 words, and some exceed 10,000 words). Thus, it is does not provide brief definitions and is more of an encyclopedia than a dictionary. It is thus of little help for quick, ready-reference, but provides more of an in depth approach to various topics related to the Pentateuch. According to the preface, “Some articles touch on areas rarely examined. Other articles provide helpful surveys, leading one into an understanding of the current state of discussion. Others take critical assumptions to task, seeking at least to identify the albatross if not to remove it…” The perspective throughout is definitely of an evangelical, conservative approach, but other perspectives are addressed. Within the articles, reasoned arguments for or against the different perspectives on a topic are offered. Each article is signed by the author. Extensive bibliographies are provided at the end of each entry. Cross-references are provided. Scripture and subject indexes are provided, as well as two maps of Palestine and the Ancient Near East during the period of the Pentateuch.
"A work for the "busy pastor or earnest Christian worker who has neither the time nor background for detailed technical study," but who needs, "a tool for the study of the significant words of the Hebrew Bible."--Introd. Essays on the words selected for extensive treatment were contributed by 46 evangelical scholars of various denominations and are signed with the contributors' initials. Words not chosen for essay treatment are given one-line definitions. Arrangement is according to the consonants of the Hebrew alphabet; related words are presented with the root from which they derive. Bibliographies accompany many of the articles. An index employing the numbers from James Strong's Exhaustive concordance of the Bible facilitates access." (Balay)
Multi-volume Bible dictionary. Alphabetical by topic, entries are transliterated from the Hebrew. The focus in this dictionary is both linguistic and theological. Entries provide in-depth discussions of the key Hebrew and Aramaic words in the Old Testament. Contributors are international scholars from diverse religious traditions and thus exhibit a diversity of theological viewpoints. Entries typically treat the head term along with cognates and semantically related lexemes. Included is etymological analysis (which may involve investigation of sources in other ancient Near Eastern languages), a survey of the number and distribution of occurrences in the Old Testament, an overview of characteristic syntactical contexts, delineation of the semantic field, consideration of the theological significance of the data, and a bibliography. Frequently, translation equivalents that are found in the Septuagint are mentioned and, where relevant, usage in the Dead Sea Scrolls is discussed. Here and there, reference is made to rabbinic usage and apocryphal/pseudepigraphal connections. This is an important reference work for scholars working in the original language of the Hebrew scriptures.