It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
Old Testament Abstracts features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
Provides citations to articles published in Roman Catholic periodicals, as well as papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.
This databases covers multiple disciplines, including theology and religious studies. Indexes a wide range of materials, including journal articles. Citations include abstracts but no links to full-text.
An annotated bibliography for Daniel, arranged alphabetically by author, with an introduction to the interpretation of Daniel, a list of journals, a list of dissertations, and author, scripture and subject indices.
"Recommendations are made about the OT text and its translations, about introductions to the OT, its history, and theology. About half of the book (54 pages) is devoted to an evaluation of commentaries on the OT from all periods." (Fitzmyer)
An annotated bibliography for Jeremiah, arranged alphabetically by author, with an introduction to the interpretation of Jeremiah, a list of journals, a list of dissertations, and author, scripture and subject indices.
A bibliography in two parts. The first part contains books and articles that refer to Micah in general, classified by keyword, and the second part contains works that refer to sections of Micah, classified by verse numbers. (Preface)
A guide that lists and evaluates Old Testament reference works and commentaries. Evaluations are made from a scholarly evangelical perspective. The titles are predominantly works published in English. Includes an author index. (Introduction)
This work is published by Intervarsity Press. It follows the format and approach of previous encyclopedias by the same publisher on the New Testament. The arrangement is alphabetical by topic, and most articles are of extensive length (no article is less than 1000 words, and some exceed 10,000 words). Thus, it is does not provide brief definitions and is more of an encyclopedia than a dictionary. It is thus of little help for quick, ready-reference, but provides more of an in depth approach to various topics related to the Pentateuch. According to the preface, “Some articles touch on areas rarely examined. Other articles provide helpful surveys, leading one into an understanding of the current state of discussion. Others take critical assumptions to task, seeking at least to identify the albatross if not to remove it…” The perspective throughout is definitely of an evangelical, conservative approach, but other perspectives are addressed. Within the articles, reasoned arguments for or against the different perspectives on a topic are offered. Each article is signed by the author. Extensive bibliographies are provided at the end of each entry. Cross-references are provided. Scripture and subject indexes are provided, as well as two maps of Palestine and the Ancient Near East during the period of the Pentateuch.
"A work for the "busy pastor or earnest Christian worker who has neither the time nor background for detailed technical study," but who needs, "a tool for the study of the significant words of the Hebrew Bible."--Introd. Essays on the words selected for extensive treatment were contributed by 46 evangelical scholars of various denominations and are signed with the contributors' initials. Words not chosen for essay treatment are given one-line definitions. Arrangement is according to the consonants of the Hebrew alphabet; related words are presented with the root from which they derive. Bibliographies accompany many of the articles. An index employing the numbers from James Strong's Exhaustive concordance of the Bible facilitates access." (Balay)
Multi-volume Bible dictionary. Alphabetical by topic, entries are transliterated from the Hebrew. The focus in this dictionary is both linguistic and theological. Entries provide in-depth discussions of the key Hebrew and Aramaic words in the Old Testament. Contributors are international scholars from diverse religious traditions and thus exhibit a diversity of theological viewpoints. Entries typically treat the head term along with cognates and semantically related lexemes. Included is etymological analysis (which may involve investigation of sources in other ancient Near Eastern languages), a survey of the number and distribution of occurrences in the Old Testament, an overview of characteristic syntactical contexts, delineation of the semantic field, consideration of the theological significance of the data, and a bibliography. Frequently, translation equivalents that are found in the Septuagint are mentioned and, where relevant, usage in the Dead Sea Scrolls is discussed. Here and there, reference is made to rabbinic usage and apocryphal/pseudepigraphal connections. This is an important reference work for scholars working in the original language of the Hebrew scriptures.
An introduction to the basic method used in the study of the Old Testament, meant to be used together with the author's Interpreting the New Testament: a Practical Guide. Each method is presented with sample applications and followed by a brief bibliography of works published in English. (Introduction)
An introductory book on critical methods used in the study of the Old Testament, which aims to describe and analyze, from a critical perspective, the purpose of the different methods, their interrelationships, and their relationships to secular literary criticism. The 1996 edition has two additional chapters. (Introduction)
A step-by-step guide to OT exegesis with an emphasis on the goal of preaching and teaching in the context of the church. Chapter one presents the methods used in exegesis, chapter two applies the steps to biblical texts, chapter three gives a short step-by-step guide for sermon preparation, and chapter four lists and discusses resources, primarily works published in English. (Preface)
The CAL database search page currently offers complete CAL lemma search, search for English glosses, text browse, Targum studies module, basic concordance search, advanced search by multiple text number(s), and advanced search by dialect.