Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Manuscripts and Archives (Repository) Guide to Collections on Sexuality: WGSS 032

Guide to resources in Manuscripts and Archives on sexuality and gender.

What's Here

The Manuscripts and Archives Sexuality Subject Guide is annotated list of personal papers and organization records in Manuscripts and Archives related to gender, sexuality, and lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender lives and culture.

This page lists the collections with digitized content available via the WGSS 032 Spring 2020 Canvas site or accessible from Archives at Yale

Links to Archives at Yale (eg http:archives.yale.edu) will get you to a summary page. You can use Navigate the Collection tree on the right of the screen to get to individual interviews or films.

 

Additional information about each collection is available in the catalog record in ORBIS and/or a finding aid. (Finding aids are more detailed than the annotations in this guide.  They provide context for the materials described, including biographical and historical information, as well as a contents list, usually to the box and folder level and sometimes to the item level.) Click on the highlighted titles in the guide to access the finding aid.

19th Century Collections

Albert Dodd papers by Dodd, Albert, 1818-1844. 

Call Number: MS 1343

Early 20th Century Collections

Anna Strunsky Walling papers by Walling, Anna Strunsky, 1879-1964. 

Call Number: MS 1111

 

Records of the Department of University Health, Division of Student Mental Hygiene, Yale University by Yale University. Dept. of University Health. 
Call Number: RU 109

Late 20th Century Collections

Homophobia collection 

Call Number: MS 1852

The collection includes assorted publications documenting homophobia in the United States primarily from the 1960s to the 1980s.

Digital access copies are available in Canvas.

Bloodroot Collective records by Bloodroot Collective 

Call Number: MS 1955

The Bloodroot Collective is a lesbian-feminist collective that formed in Westport, Connecticut, in 1977 and opened Bloodroot, a vegetarian restaurant and feminist bookstore, in Bridgeport, Connecticut. The records document the Bloodroot Collective, particularly the lives and roles of its two remaining members, Selma Miriam and Noel Furie. The records consist of correspondence, writings and creative works by members and other feminist thinkers, oral histories, restaurant reviews, photographs, legal and financial records of the bookstore and restaurant, event flyers, and topical files.

Digital access copies of some correspondence are available in Canvas.

Douglas Conrad Eastern and Central European LGBT interviews and supporting materials by Conrad, Douglas, 1958- 

Call Number: MS 1907

The collection consists of interviews (inmultiple languages) and footage of events documenting lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) life in Eastern and Central Europe from the 1992 to 2009. The collection also includes a small amount of printed materials from the countries documented.

The videorecordings are available online to the Yale community, See https://archives.yale.edu/repositories/12/archival_objects/2049199 .

 

Love Makes a Family records by Love Makes a Family, Incorporated. 

The Love Makes a Family (LMF) records consist of email correspondence, bylaws, reports, meeting minutes, research data, publications, Web pages, social media account files, topical files, interviews and testimonies, photographs, audiovisual recordings, and newspaper clippings documenting the history, structure, and activities of LMF, Inc. and its related organizations. The records primarily document LMF's successful efforts on behalf of marriage equality for same-sex couples in Connecticut.

The videorecordings are available online to the Yale community, see https://archives.yale.edu/repositories/12/archival_objects/2047028 .

 

Computer files available on request.

 

Candida Scott Piel papers by Piel, Candida Scott. 

Call Number: MS 1831;

The Candida Scott Piel papers, dating from the 1950s to the present, document a socially active gay and lesbian culture centered in New York City. The papers include subject files, printed materials, writings, ephemera, and audiovisual materials. There is particularly substantive material on AIDS and AIDS treatments, gay clubs and "the circuit" culture, the Jewel Box Revue, and events organized by Piel, mainly as fundraisers for organizations such as the American Foundation for AIDS Research.

Audio and video recordings available online to the Yale community.

Audiocassettes primarily contain interviews with former members of the Jewel Box Revue. The interviews provide excellent documentation of this transgender and female impersonation show during the 1940s and 1950s. See https://archives.yale.edu/repositories/12/archival_objects/1296932 .

Videocassettes mainly depict events and parades, with some additional home video footage. See: https://archives.yale.edu/repositories/12/archival_objects/1296957.

Philip M. and Lorna Sarrel papers by Sarrel, Philip M. and Lorna Sarrel.

Call Number: MS 1922

The papers comprise biographical information of Philip M. and Lorna Sarrel; files documenting the establishment of the Young Mothers Program (YMP) at Yale-New Haven Hospital, an outgrowth of the teenage pregnancy clinic; the inclusion of sex education courses in the curricula for a New Haven high school and Yale college and medical students; audiotapes of Sarrel’s lectures; films, mostly commercially produced, depicting aspects of human sexuality for the training of medical personnel and the education of college students; and related writings by Sarrel and others.

Audiotapes of lectures, including course in Human Sexuality available online to the Yale Community. See https://archives.yale.edu/repositories/12/archival_objects/1223570.

Films are available online to the Yale Community. See https://archives.yale.edu/repositories/12/archival_objects/1223631.

Additional online collections

 

Julia Heller Boy Friends Book, June 1932  Heller, Julia, 1917-

https://nwld.alexanderstreet.com/cgi-bin/NWLD/hub.py?type=document_details&browse=full&docid=S3268-D001. From: North American women's letters and diaries [electronic resource].

 

Advice column collection from the Human Sexuality Collection, Cornell, in the Digital Transgender Archives .