It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"The world's largest online, free-access full-image collection of newspapers published by overseas Japanese and their descendants... The collection contains about fifteen newspapers published in Hawaii and North America with a total of nearly 500,000 pages. Most publications contain a mix of Japanese and English."
The paper began in 1903 supporting the small but growing Japanese community in the Little Tokyo area of Las Angeles, California. It was the most widely circulated paper in the region by the 1940’s and included a weekly English section. The paper was forced to cease publication and its publisher was imprisoned by the government during World War II. The archive contains all obtainable published issues from 1914 through 2018.
Composed of U.S. Government War Relocation Authority rosters, this collection contains detailed demographic and personal information about Japanese and Japanese-Americans interned during World War II. The rosters are organized first by camp, then alphabetically by surname.
This collection features 25 periodicals from Japanese-American internment camps. Some are official information bulletins, but a majority are publications produced by internees. These are divided by camp; most of the articles are bilingual or in English, with a small number in only Japanese.