Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale Library

Image Resources: Architecture

Yale University's Arts Library Digital Services guide to digital image resources.

Architecture Image Resources

Resources marked with this symbol    indicate that ithe resource is only accessible either on campus or via VPN (Virtual Private Network) if you are off campus. All active Yale NetIDs are automatically authorized to use the VPN service.  Read more about VPN here.


Yale Visual Resources Collection 

The Yale Visual Resources Collection contains many architectural images.  Our collection includes Archivision, an archive of more than 53,000 images of global art and architecture including a rich representation of contemporary architecture.


ARTstor 

Click here for a pdf of highlights about ARTstor's architecture and architectural history images. In addition to static images, ARTstor contains QTVR Panoramas of World Architecture from Columbia University.
 


Aerial Images, a selection of resources (other than Google Earth)

USGS Earth Explorer | National Collection of Aerial Photography (UK/Europe) | Gateway to Astronaut Photography from Space (NASA)



AIA Podcasts

Not a visual resource, but a great series of podcasts sponsored by the American Institute of Architects.


archINFORM

This database includes information over more than 44,000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database.


ARCHnet

ARCHnet is an international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilizations. This part of their website contains access to thousands of images available for educational use.
 

Arounder

360-degree Quicktime panoramic views of monuments in many European cities.


Art Institute of Chicago | Archval Collections

The Archives' collections are strong in late 19th- and 20th-century American architecture, with particular depth in Midwest architecture. Architects such as Edward BennettDaniel BurnhamBruce GoffBertrand GoldbergLudwig HilberseimerMies van der RoheLouis Sullivan, and Frank Lloyd Wright are represented. As well, the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893 in Chicago is documented through photographs by C.D. ArnoldThe Century of Progress International Exposition of 1933-1934 in Chicago and the World's Fair of 1939 in New York are also each represented in an individual archive. 


Art Institute of Chicago | Historic Architecture & Landscape Image Collection

Digitized collection of mounted photographic prints and lantern slides, provides valuable historic records of American architecture, landscape design, and urban planning.

 

Asian Historical Architecture

A photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage containing over 14,800 photos of 753 sites in twenty countries, with background information and virtual tours.


Casselman Archive of Islamic and Mudejar Architecture in Spain

A University of Wisconsin digital collection of over 4000 images of medieval Spain taken by Eugene Castleman.

Catena: Digital Archive of Historic Gardens and Landscapes (Bard Graduate Center)

About 1,700 images  and historical documentation for landscape design classes.

Cities and Buildings Database

A digital collection from the University of Washington containing over 10,000 images of buildings from around the world and throughout time. 

 

Digital Archive of American and European Architecture (Boston College)

Maintained by Boston College Professor Jeffrey Howe, this survey image collection is available for educational use.


Digital Image Access Project (Columbia University)

This database features a selection of images from the DIAP collection including American and European buildings as well as architectural drawings from Avery's Aviador Collection. In addition, one may view selections from the New American Ghetto Collection (images of the Bronx), Construction Photographs of the Empire State Building, and Italian Architectural Photographs.


Digital Imaging Project (Bluffton University)

A collection of images from the classical Greek period to the Post-Modern consisting of architecture and sculpture arranged by architect or artist, location, or date. There is also a section of women architects' work, with information 60+ buildings by Julia Morgan. Though it's a personal web page, the images are helpful and several will cover a single building or monument.
 

Early Modern Architecture

A website with images that "explores global, interdisciplinary frameworks for the architectural design and theory of Europe and its colonies, 1400-1800." 

 Huntington Library Maynard L. Parker Collection

About 58,000 images from the archive of Maynard L. Parker, an architectural and garden photographer.

 

Intute*

List of more than 200 websites containing image resources for architecture. Intute closed in July 2011. The site has now been archived and we are not adding any further resources to the catalogue or making any changes to existing content.

 

Library of Congress American Memory: American Landscape and Architectural Design 1850-1920

This teaching collection from the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University comprises of the lantern slides from the schools of Architecture, Landscape Architecture and City Planning, which were combined in 1936 to form the Graduate School of Design. Approximately 2,800 images are available.

 

Library of Congess American Memory: Gottscho-Schlesiner Collection

A collection of 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures. Subjects are concentrated chiefly in the northeastern United States, especially the New York City area, and Florida.

 

Library of Congress Historic American Buildings Survey  

Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress.

 

Medieval Architecture (University of Pittsburgh)

Contains images and bibloigraphic information put together by Professor Alison Stones at the University of Pittsburgh.  Also contains links to gateways to searchable image databases for Chartres Cathedral and the Benedictine Abbey Church of Sainte-Marie-Madeleine at Vézelay, projects of University of Pittsburgh's Digital Research Library.


National Register of Historic Places on Flickr | National Register of Historic Places (National Park Service)

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.

  

World Architectural Survey Examples (Bryn Mawr)

Images of world archtectural sites from pre-historic ro modern times collocated by architectural historian Jeffrey Cohen at Bryn Mawr.

  

  

Selected resources contributed by Hannah Bennett, former Assistant Director for Collections and Research at the Haas Family Arts Library.

Features