Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale Library

Image Resources: Classical Studies

Yale University's Arts Library Digital Services guide to digital image resources.

Classical Studies Image Resources

 

Yale University Department of Classics | Image Collection  

The Classics Collection of digital images includes more than 6,000 images of excavations, site views, maps, site plans, elevations, and photos of all kinds of objects representing both high and low ancient material culture in the Classical world. Over the years, contibutions have come from teaching and research collections of the Classics Department; students, as well as faculty of the Departments of Classics, History, and History of Art.


British Museum

The British Museum contains one of the world's largest collections of art and artefacts related to the history of mankind.  The collection is rich in objects from Greek and Roman civilizations, including a significant collection of sculptures from the Parthenon, the 5th century BCE temple located on the Acropolis in Athens.

Latsis Public Benefit Foundation | The Greek Archaeological Museums Cycle

Since 1997, the Latsis Group and Eurobank EFG, under the auspices and coordination of the Latsis Foundation, publish annually a volume devoted to a single archaeological museum in Greece, aiming to create a series whose scholarly prestige and aesthetic approach would contribute to a deeper knowledge and further understanding of the various aspects of the history of Greek civilisation. 

Including: 
Archeological Museum of Pella, Archeological Museum of Marathon, National Archeological Museum, Athens, Archeological Museum of Heraklion, Archeological Museum of Delos, Archeological Museum of Peiraeus, Benaki Museum, Archeological Museum of Thebes, Archeological Museum of Olympia, Archeological Museum of Delphi, Archeological Museum of Thessaloniki, Archeological Museum of Eleusina, New Acropolis Museum

 

Metropolitan Museum of Art | Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection. The Metropolitan Museum's curatorial, conservation, and education staff research and write the Timeline, which is an invaluable reference and research tool for students, educators, scholars, and anyone interested in the study of art history and related subjects.

 

New York Public Library Digital Collections: Wonders: Images of the Ancient World

Over 1,700 images of the civilizations of Egypt, Greece, Rome, and other ancient Mediterranean cultures as conceived and depicted by artists and travelers from the 18th to the early 20th century, as represented in book and periodical illustrations, engravings, lithographs and photographs.

 

Oxford University | Classical Art Research Centre and Beazley Archive

The Beazley Archive is the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery.

 

Oxford University | Ashmolean Museum | Burgon Archive Project

Thomas Burgon (b. 1787 d. 1858) was a merchant and a connoisseur of Greek antiquities. During his lifetime he collected and documented over 300 artifacts. To document his collection he created watercolor paintings of his collections, now in the Ashmolean Museum.

 

Perseus Digital Library Project 

Perseus is a practical experiment in which we explore possibilities and challenges of digital collections in a networked world. Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. We are applying what we have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond.

 

Trajan's Column

The core of the site is a searchable database of over 500 images focusing on various aspects of the design and execution of the column's sculptural decoration. These images (slides and drawings) were generated by and for sculptor Peter Rockwell, over the course of his study of Roman stone-carving practices.

 

CLAROS: The World of Art on the Semantic Web

Built on the art of ancient Greece and Rome, CLAROS is an international research collaboration, using the latest Information and Communication Technologies to enable simultaneous searching of major collections in university research institutes and museums.

Features

QTVR of sites in the Ancient World from the History of World Architecture Web site, Columbia University

 The Perseus Digital Library, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. 

Vases Corinthiens trouvés a Cærè en Étrurie, Funérailles d'A... (1880)

Wonders: Images of the Ancient World