Skip to main content

Visual Resources: Modern Art

The Yale University Visual Resources Collection's guide to digital image resources.

Modern Art Image Resources (19th and 20th centuries)

Resources marked with this symbol    indicate that ithe resource is only accessible either on campus or via VPN (Virtual Private Network) if you are off campus. All active Yale NetIDs are automatically authorized to use the VPN service.  Read more about VPN here.

 

Yale Visual Resources Collection 

The Visual Resources Collection is a digital library of over 265,000 images of global art and architecture. Faculty in the Arts and Humanities at Yale are welcomed to submit requests for new digital content to be added to this collection.  This site allows users to create groups of images, annotate them, add outside content to the groups as well as share them.

 

ARTstor

ARTstor, an initiative of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, is a subscription-based digital image resource with more than 1,000,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. The ARTstor Web site offers a variety of features useful for teaching support. In addition to content provided by ARTstor, the Yale Visual Resources Collection is also accessible through the ARTstor interface. The combined collections total more than 1,300,000 images.


Yale University Art Gallery

Search the Gallery's image database for digital images of their objects in the Contemporary and Modern Art department.



ArtDaily

The First Art Newspaper on the Web providing a good source of high quality images for modern and contempoary art with international coverage.


Artfacts.Net

Creating a network of the arts of the 20th and 21st century, Artfacts.Net is an international online gallery guide for modern, contemporary and young art connecting exhibitions, artists and galleries worldwide.


Centre Pompidou

Search the Pompidou's online collection of over 60,000 works.


Guggenheim

The Guggenheim's online collection contains about 10% of its holdings.

 

Museum of Modern Art

MOMA's online collection contains over 30,000 works.


Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape

Resources for English Romantic literature and the visual arts

 

Tate Modern

The Tate's online collection.  Search by standard means or browse the collection using their innovative Subject Search screen.

 

UbuWeb

UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts.