Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

LGBTQI: Research Guide: Microform Collections

Library guide to assist with research in LGBTQI studies

Microfilm Collections

Yale owns several major microfilm collections relevant to research in LGBTQ studies. You can find these in the Microtext Reading Room in the basement of Sterling Memorial Library. There are readers available for viewing and printing and staff to help you as well.

*Search starred collections online Collections include but are not limited to:

AIDS Research Archives: Observations on Social & Political Change 1980-1990. 136 microfiche - Fiche B3937 Pamphlets, clippings, and articles published in the gay press between the years 1980 to 1990 compiled by the Gay Men's Health Crisis (GMHC).  

*Gay Rights Movement: Series 1: The Mattachine Society of New York Records, 1951-1976 [View Guide] [Collection Information]

*Gay Rights Movement: Series 2: Gay Activists Alliance, 1970-1983 [View Guide] [Collection Information 

*Gay Rights Movement: Series 3: ACT UP: The AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power [View Guide] [Collection Information 

*Gay Rights Movement: Series 4: National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Records, 1973-2000 [View Guide] [Collection InformationFilm B18920 

*Gay Rights Movement: Series 5: Gay Activism in Britain from 1958: The Hall-Carpenter Archives, Part 1 [View Guide] [Collection Information 

*Gay Rights Movement: Series 6: Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance Archives, ca. 1972-1994, Parts 1-3 [View Guide] [Collection Information 

*Gay Rights Movement: Series 6: Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance Archives, ca. 1972-1994, Part 4 [View Guide] [Collection Information 

*Gay Rights Movement: Series 7: Lesbian Herstory Archives, Parts 1-6 [View Guide] [Collection Information 

*Gay Rights Movement: Series 8: Gay and Lesbian Politics and Social Activism: Selected Periodicals, Parts 1-4 [View Guide] [Collection Information] 

*Gay Rights Movement: Series 9: Gay and Lesbian Community, Support and Spirit, Parts 1-3 [View Guide] [Collection Information 

*Gay Rights Movement: Series 10: Lesbian Herstory Archives Newsletter Collection [View Guide] [Collection Information 

*Gay Rights Movement: Series 11: International Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters [View Guide] [Collection Information]

 

Masculinity: Men Defining Men and Gentlemen, 1560-1918. 66 reelsFilm B19182 - PUBLISHER'S GUIDE: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3

 

*Selected Newsletters and Periodicals from the Holdings of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender History Society, Parts 1-3

*Selected Periodicals and Newsletters from the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender History Society

Sex and Gender: Manuscript Records from the Public Service Office, Parts 1 & 2, Empire & Suffrage - Film B18911

Sex and Sexuality, 1640-1940: Literary, Medical and Sociological Perspectives - Film B18917

*These collections are searchable online.