It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
An artificial collection of correspondence, writings, photographs, and miscellanea relating to American Indians, including the Mohegan Indians of Connecticut, 1740-1750. Other items include an Iroquois language dictionary and essays such as "Geronimo and His Band in Exile," by Marion E. Stephens, "The Indian River Village Site, Milford, Connecticut," and a narrative on Joseph Morgan Wilcox.
The Yale Indian Papers Project’s efforts will culminate in a searchable electronic document collection known as the New England Indian Papers Series. The Series will consist of various manuscript materials from Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts and parts of Eastern New York and Long Island. The first set of records to be published will consist of documents relating to Connecticut’s Native people.
This database, assembled from hundreds of primary sources, documents the relationships among peoples and with the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. It includes works by American Indians as well as a wide range of Europeans.
Henry Beebee Carrington (1824-1912) and his grandfather, David Lewis Beebe (1763-1803), are two central figures in the papers. Carrington's role in military campaigns and treaty negotiations with Indians of the American West is also documented. His design of Fort Philip Kearney, the site of a famous massacre, and treaty negotiations with the Flathead Indians of Montana are detailed in pamphlets, scrapbooks and other papers.
Letters, including several from or pertaining to Stephen F. Austin, official correspondence and documents, degrees, expedientes and reports,recording the history and development of Mexico's northeastern frontier from 1707-1847. Most of the collection concerns Texas, but there are also important documents concerning Louisiana and New Mexico.
A collection of United States postage stamps compiled by Meade and Mildred B. Minnigerode on the topic of pioneer life in the United States. Included are stamps illustrating Indians of the Colonial Period, the French and Indian War, and the Western Pioneer Period.
Collection consists of black and white glass lantern slides of Pre-Columbian arts, including architecture, sculpture, ceramics, and illuminated manuscripts from Mexico, Central America, and the Andean region of South America.
Collection consists of mounted black and white and color reproductions of Pre-Columbian arts, including architecture, sculpture, ceramics, and illuminated manuscripts from Mexico, Central America and the Andean region of South America. Content varies from original photographic prints to reproductions from magazines and other published sources. Some sections have accompanying clippings folders.
Collection consists of color and black and white 35 mm slides of Pre-Columbian arts, including architecture, sculpture, textiles and illuminated manuscripts from Mexico, Central America, and the Andean region of South America.
Pre-Columbian Architecture, Ceramics, Metalwork, and Sculpture Photograph Collection 1,055 photographs, black and white unless otherwise specified, mounted and unmounted, in a variety of sizes. Many were gifts from the Latin American Studies Council. Photos are of architecture, ceramics, metalwork, sculpture, and wall paintings from Central and South America. Their purchase dates span the life of the Visual Resources Collection, ca. 1940-1995.
Brown commanded a company of Lexington riflemen in a war agains the Wabash Indians in 1791. Correspondence between Brown and his brother Samuel provides documentation on Indian-White relations during the period of Western settlement after the American Revolution, and includes accounts of Indian wars, raids, and the desperate position of the native population to retain ther lands in the Mid-West and South.
Various papers relating to American history collected by Bernhard Knollenberg (1892-1973), Yale University Librarian and author. The collection includes a letter from Henry Knox to Mr bingham concerning military campaigns in Georgia (1796); a letter from Silas Minsmoor (Indian Agent) to David Henley, War Department Agent, concerning Indian-White relations (1797); and a letter from Thomas Crawford to John Wyse concerning Indian affairs (1843).
Correspondence and legal and financial papers reflecting Pendleton's service in the Revolutionary Army as aide-de-camp to General Nathanael Greene, and his close connection with Alexander Hamilton. The correspondence includes letters from Samuel Finley, Mrs. Nathanael Greene, Alexander von Humboldt and Otho Holland Williams. Legal and financial papers as well as correspondence of Alexander Hamilton are also included since Pendleton was executor of his estate.
The papers consist of the research files of Ulrich Bonnell Phillips, an author and history professor. Included are Phillips's notes and transcripts of Albert James Pickkett (1810-58), author of an early history of Alabama, with accounts of wars and relations with the Creek Indians, and notes on the early history of Georgia. The collected papers include correspondence, account books, business records, farm and plantation records, diaries, photographs, and other papers.
An artificial collection of diaries relating to Connecticut and other states and regions in the United States. Topics including farming, religion, military life, student life, travel, and the weather are documented. Included in Vol. 30 is the copy of a diary of an ensign in the French and Indian Wars, 1759-62 in Crown Ponit, New York. The original is in the library at Cornwall, CT.
The papers consist primarily of sermons preached by Justus Forward between 1754 and 1813. Also included are correspondence, largely on church matters, other church papers, a notebook kept by Forward while at Yale College (1752-1753), and nine diaries (1759-1814) mostly with brief entries. There is one description of the military developments in the French-Indian War for the month of July, 1759. Of particular interest in the correspondence is an exchange with Dr. Martin Phelps.
(1631-1987) In addition to extensive correspondence between Johnson family members, the papers contain material relating to Connecticut and New York politics in the colonial and Revolutionary War periods, and religion, land development, and Indian affairs in the nineteenth century. Additions to the papers include family correspondence, sketchbooks of Katharine Livingston Bayard Johnson, and a diary and account books of Sarah Dwight Woolsey Johnson.
The colletion is composed of papers relating to the British presence in North America during the French and Indian War and consists of correspondence and reports describing military actions, royal decrees, lists of supplies and armaments, and other items of a similar nature. The first part of the collection contains typewritten transcripts of the papers of William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland (1721-1765), copied from originals in the Royal Library at Windsor Castle.
Correspondence, Pond and Norton family deeds, and financial papers of the Pond family of Connecticut together with records pertaining to the town of Wolcott. The papers also contain a partial autobiography of Peter Pond (1740-1807) describing his experiences in the French and Indian War and as a fur trader in the northwest.
The papers document three generations of the Woolsey family. Included are five letters from Melancthon Taylor Woolsey (1720-58) to Benjamin Woolsey concerning the fighting and living conditions in the French and Indian War as Colonel of the 2nd Battalion, 1758.
Correspondence, financial records, and memorabilia of this Stamford, Connecticut family. The principal figure is David Waterbury (1722-1801), who served as a colonel in the French and Indian War and again in the American Revolution. Included in the papers are military records relating to these events and a letter to him from Roger Sherman (1776 Apr 30) about a Continental Commission.
The Webb papers consist of letterbooks, correspondence, journals, notebooks, orderly books, papers, and military records documenting the personal life and military career of Samuel Blachley Webb, who served in the American Revolutionary forces under Israel Putnam and George Washington. Included is an orderly book relating to the French and Indian War. Notable correspondents include: Joseph Barrell, Silas Deane, Nathanael Greene, Alexander Hamilton, Robert Morris, Samuel Otis, Timothy Pickering.
The papers consist of family correspondence of the Whiting family as well as the personal correspondence of Nathan Whiting, military and legal documents and miscellaneous family papers. Whiting was appointed Lieutenant-Colonel of the 2nd Connecticut Regiment in the French and Indian war; in 1756 he was promoted to Colonel and continued in service throughout the war.