It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The World War I (House Collection) is an annotated list of personal papers in Manuscripts and Archives of Edward M. House and his associates related to World War I.
Additional information about each collection is available in the catalog record in ORBIS, the Yale University Library online public catalog, and/or a finding aid. (Finding aids are more detailed than the annotations in this guide. They provide context for the materials described as well as a contents list, usually to the box and folder level and sometimes to the item level.) Click on the highlighted titles to access the finding aid.
The papers consist of correspondence, a diary, memoranda, and printed material largely relating to Gordon Auchincloss's position as assistant counselor in the State Department, 1917, and to his position as secretary to Colonel E. M. House at the armistice negotiations and the Paris Peace Conference, with some material on personal affairs. The diary lists his daily activities between 1914 and 1920, including many summaries of conversations, and with a retrospective entry on his first meeting with Colonel House in 1909. The subject files include memoranda and printed matter on the Peace Conference, American foreign policy and other political matters.
The papers consist of correspondence, political reports, papers relating to the Paris Peace Conference, and printed materials of William H. Buckler, diplomat and archaeologist. The bulk of the papers relate to Buckler's work as a member of the American Commission to Negotiate Peace in Paris, 1918-1919, although there is material relating to his other diplomatic duties as well as his work as an archaeologist, especially the excavations at Sardis (1910-1914) and Anatolia (1922-1930)
The papers include memoranda, intelligence reports, and a large series of weekly State Department reports that summarize current intelligence about the Allied, Neutral, and Central Powers. Bullitt, Yale 1913, served as Special Assistant to the Secretary of State and attaché to the American Commission to Negotiate the Peace at the Paris Peace Conference. In 1919, Bullitt undertook a secret mission with Lincoln Steffens to Russia to investigate conditions there.
Correspondence, notes, and other papers, including a diary, of Walter G. Davis, Assistant Military Attaché at Berne in 1918. After the November armistice he was attached to the American Commission to Negotiate Peace in Paris. He was also a member of the Coolidge Mission to Austria-Hungary until March, 1919.
The papers contain correspondence, printed material, reports, and other papers documenting Clive Day's activities as an advisor to the American Commission to Negotiate Peace, a Yale University professor of political economy, and a member of the Connecticut Unemployment Commission.
Correspondence, cablegrams, reports, notes, and other papers of Thomas W. Farnam, financier and administrator. These papers relate to Farnam's service in Serbia, 1918-1919, as American Red Cross Commissioner in charge of relief and hospitals following World War I.
The papers consist of correspondence, diaries, memoirs, writings, photographs, memorabilia, and other papers documenting Edward M. House's personal life and political career. The diary details his childhood experiences and also notes political observations (1912-1924). Materials relating to the Paris Peace Conference include minutes of meetings of the Supreme Council and memoranda from various countries presenting claims. Writings include essays, reviews, novels, and other works. Correspondence includes letters to and from Woodrow Wilson, Charles Seymour, American and foreign politicians, and newspaper and political journalists. Also includes DVDs of Godfrey Hodgson's lectures and an interveiw regarding his biography of House.
Correspondence, organizational records, reports containing historical and statistical material, maps, and other papers of The Inquiry, a group of experts assembled at the request of President Wilson to collect and collate data in preparation for a peace conference following World War I. Members of The Inquiry included Edward House, Sidney Mezes, Isaiah Bowman, Charles Seymour, David H. Miller, Walter Lippmann, James T. Shotwell, and Clive Day.
The papers consist of correspondence, reports, and other material relating to political and diplomatic affairs in Turkey and the Middle East from 1908 to 1921, particularly in relation to interests of the German Foreign Office in that area. Papers of the naval attaché Hans Humann form the bulk of the material. Included are his correspondence with Ernst Jäckh (1911-1918) and reports from Constantinople (1914-1916), many in the form of telegrams and extracts of official correspondence, to the chiefs of the German admiralty and of the naval administration. Humann, friend and foster brother of Enver Pasha, was in contact with him regarding Turkish national and international issues. Enver Pasha's letters from the Tripolitanian war (1912-1913) and a draft of his unpublished autobiography accompany these papers. Other papers include the Grand Vizier Talât Pasha's unpublished autobiography as well as some correspondence with Ernst Jackh; Baron Oppenheim's designs for the Holy War of the Islamic world from India to Morocco, 1915; information about native Moslems used by the German Intelligence Service; the "Armenian Massacres" of 1915-1917, as reported to the German Ambassador, Baron Wangenheim, in Constantinople, by observers in Asia Minor, and by him to the Foreign Office in Berlin; and a collection of political posters of the Young Turkish revolution of 1908.
Correspondence, writings, speeches, notes and clippings on European political affairs and biographical material of Kiderlen-Wächter, German diplomat and Secretary of State. The most significant and largest portion of his correspondence and notes is that to his mistress, Hedwig Heting Kypke. These papers form a veritable diary of his life and of events in the Foreign Office from 1891 to 1912. Other correspondents include Wilhelm II, Bethmann-Hollweg, von Bulow, Eulenburg-Hertefeld, Marschall von Bieberstein and Alfred Zimmerman.
Correspondence, papers relating to World War I and the Paris Peace Conference, and personal memorabilia of Vance C. McCormick, statesman and politician. These papers relate largely to McCormick's participation in the London Inter-Allied Conference (the "House Mission") and the American Commission to Negotiate Peace in Paris. They were formerly a part of the House Collection.
Correspondence of Sidney Mezes relating to his work with "The Inquiry" and the American Commission to Negotiate Peace in Paris at the end of World War I. Also included are a group of miscellaneous memoranda and notes.
Correspondence and memoranda related to the work of David Miller and Gordon Auchincloss (who were law partners) as special representatives of the State Department. Their task was to gather information about commercial and financial activities based in the United States that might benefit Germany and her allies.
The papers consist of correpondence, letterbooks, documents, diaries, subject files and other materials documenting the personal life and professional career of Frank Lyon Polk. The bulk of the material relates to Polk's Department of State service and includes correspondence with political figures, letterpress copybooks (1915-1917), and diaries (1915-1920). Materials relating to the American Commission to Negotiate Peace and the League of Nations are also included.
The papers consist of correspondence with Edward M. House (1920-1938), personal correspondence, manuscripts and correspondence preparatory to the publication of Seymour's Intimate Papers of Colonel House (1926-1928), newspaper clippings, articles, and memorabilia. Much of the material concerns Seymour's role as delegate to the Paris Peace Conference of 1919.
Correspondence and manuscripts dealing chiefly with Viereck's book about Colonel E. M. House and President Wilson, The Strangest Friendship in History. Also included are notes and manuscripts concerning "The Memoirs of Colonel House," and miscellaneous other papers.
The collection consists of posters published in nations involved in World War I, 1914-1918, the Spanish Civil War, and World War II, 1939-1945. Great Britain, the United States, France, Germany, Italy, Russia, Canada, Australia, Ireland and other nations are represented through posters depicting such diverse topics as recruitment, enlistment, conservation, war loans, civilian service, home relief, foreign relief and propaganda messages. Posters issued by government agencies, social organizations, and private concerns are included.
Correspondence, documents, memorabilia, and printed materials relating to the career of Paul M. Warburg in banking and international finance. Correspondents include Nelson Aldrich, Carter Glass, Col. Edward M. House and Woodrow Wilson.
Correspondence, research notes, clippings, and a book-length manuscript on Woodrow Wilson written by Watt, a lawyer and Wilson enthusiast. The correspondence consists mainly of Watt's requests for information about Wilson and an attempt to ascertain whether Theodore Roosevelt actually fought in the battle on San Juan Hill. Although much of the correspondence is perfunctory, there is a letter from Winston Churchill on World War I, another from Josephus Daniels on Wilson, and several replies from "Rough Riders" attesting to Roosevelt's participation in the battle.
Correspondence, writings, notes, memoranda, and printed matter of Arthur Willert, British journalist and diplomat. His correspondence is largely political, particularly during his tenure as chief correspondent of the London Times in the United States (1910-1920) and as representative of the Ministry of Information (1917-1918). As a member of United Kingdom delegations to various international conferences (1921-1934) his memoranda and other writings offer a view of European political affairs. From 1939-1945 he was Head of the Ministry of Information Office for the Southern Region. In addition to his newspaper articles, he wrote for magazines, lectured in the United States (1936-1939) and wrote four books on international politics. In the papers are printed copies and drafts of articles, drafts of two books and a draft for an unidentified book. The correspondence of Florence S. Willert, his wife, includes forty-five letters from Eleanor Roosevelt. His correspondents include D. D. Braham, Herbert Croly, Geoffrey Dawson, Lord Northcliffe, H. W. Steed. Sir Campbell Stuart, Robert Wilberforce, Evelyn Wrench.
The collection consists of correspondence, printed material, photographs, speeches and messages, writings, memorabilia, and writings about Woodrow Wilson. The correspondence is primarily between Wilson and Winthrop More Daniels, (1878-) Princeton University faculty member 1892-1911, and Interstate Commerce Commission, 1914-1923.
Papers pertaining to the period 1917-1919 and specifically to diplomatic relations between Britain and the U.S. during that period. Includes correspondence between Wiseman and Edward M. House; official telegrams of the British Foreign Office and of U.S. officials; British and American official and private memoranda on war matters and on problems of the Peace Conference; and reports and correspondence on Russia and on the Zionist movement. Important correspondents include: Gordon Auchincloss, Arthur James Balfour, Winston Churchill, Thomas G. Masaryk, Ignace Jan Paderewski, the Marquis of Reading, Cecil Spring-Rice and William Tyrrell.
An artificial collection of printed material, photographs, songs, reports, correspondence, diaries, and miscellanea of United States men, many with a Yale University connection, relating to World War I, 1914-1919.
Correspondence, intelligence reports, and other papers of William Yale, author, diplomat and professor. The papers relate primarily to problems in the Near East during and immediately after World War I. Included are reports and agreements concerning Palestine and Syria and various reports by special commissions on Turkey, Arabia, and Zionism. There is also material relating to the Paris Peace Conference.