Skip to main content

Comparative Literature: Newspaper sources

Interesting newspapers

To find specialized newspapers in foreign languages, consult the following LibGuides (developed by me):

 

You can read American and international news at the Periodicals Reading Room at Sterling Memorial Library. 

Copyright-free picture for private, academic or research purposes

_____________________________________________________________________________

 

Here are some selected links to websites that aggregate various newspapers:

 

WESSWEB: Selected Western European News and Newspapers Websites 

 

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers: an international, and extensive, list of digital projects

Portals and websites to newspapers

Portals containing links to major newspapers worldwide: 

ABYZ Newslinks includes links to internet newsmedia (newspapers and magazines), broadcast media (tv and radio) and press agencies.

Onlinenewspapers.com
: extensive listings of links to newspaper sites.

EuroNews News stories, interviews and features with video (via RealPlayer) for each story.

UN News Centre 

Worldpress.org: A "nonpartisan magazine" composed of reprinted articles and original material. Main page with top news stories. Site also has links to think-tank and NGO sites, country profiles and statistics, official documents (full-text of position papers, resolutions, declassified reports et al.), education resources. Searchable site. Regional index to newspapers and magazines.

Yale Newspaper databases

Library PressDisplay - Online access to over 200 newspapers from more than 55 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. The library offers access to Library Press Display on four dedicated terminals in the Franke Periodical Reading Room on the first floor of Sterling Memorial Library. The library’s subscription allows for a limited number of Yale users from outside the library, available on a first come, first serve basis.

LL

Factiva - The database makes available articles in full text searchable by topic or date range. It is a database of over 8,000 business and news publications, most in full text. Sources are in 22 languages, date back as far as 1969, and include trade journals, newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, and others), media programs, and company and stock reports. In addition to information on  public and private companies, Factiva includes news sources worldwide (newspapers, news magazines, wire services, etc. Searchable by title, industry, geographic locations, type, and language. (Covers 1969+, with coverage varying by publication).

 

LexisNexis Academic Provides full text access to a wide range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts.  It provides access to publications and information sources in a variety of fields, including: newspapers, newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, and broadcast transcripts. International resources in French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch and German.

 

World News Connection (Dialog).  Searchable database of full-text English translations of non-U.S. media sources provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Latest headlines section. Title listing.

________________________

 

Additional sources:

 

America's Historical Newspapers - America's Newspapers is a large collection of titles arranged by state and region.

 

Ethnic NewsWatch - Contains the full text of more than 450,000 articles, editorials, and reviews published in nearly 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States.

 

IBZ Online - Lists more than two million articles in a wide variety of German and non-German journals, annuals, learned society yearbooks, conference proceedings, newspapers, etc. in all fields of knowledge and all languages, from a German point of view.

 

Times Digital Archive

 

Gale Literary Index

Online Newspaper archives

 Times of London - Historical Newspapers Online
Contains Palmer's Index to the Times, covering 1790 to 1905 in the Times (London), The Official Index to the Times (London) (1906 to 1980) and The Historical Index to the New York Times which covers the New York Times from 1851 to September 1922. 

New York Times Historical
All issues of the New York Times, 1851-2001, in full text, full-image forms, including news, illustrations, editorial matter, and advertising. 

Times Digital Archive
The Times (London, England), in full-text and full-image, including news, features, editorials, commentary, advertising, illustrations. Covers 1785-1985. 

Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive, 1902-1990
The Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive includes complete page images of the Times Literary Supplement (TLS), a leading book review periodical, from its inception in 1902 to 1990. Searchable by: book author, review author, book title, subject, date, issue; full text is not searchable. (Subject search terms are drawn largely from the printed TLS cumulative indexes. Prior to 1974, the book reviews were published anonymously. This electronic version supplies contributor names).