Skip to main content

Comparative Literature: Articles

Reminder!

Looking for articles on a certain topic?

 

Use the Library Research Databases - Index!

What is a database?

Databases are

  • Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, or other information sources, such as books, videos, and maps.
  • Some focus on a particular type of source, for example newspaper articles.

Important!

A research database:

  • can be subject-specific (e.g. literary coverage)  or multidisciplinary (has broad coverage).
  • may include citations, full text, or a mixture (full text and bibliographic abstracts) from hundreds or thousands of periodicals.
  • can be organized in different ways, so... you should always adapt your search techniques to each database (HELP information is always available and can be very useful).

Please note that in many cases you will only be able to access the resources in the right-hand column though the Yale network by providing your NetID and password.

Search for articles!

Core Multidisciplinary Bibliographic Databases at Yale

Please start with these essential bibliographic databases if you want  to find scholarly articles on your topic in academic journals.  They are high-quality, subscription-only databases provided by the Yale University Library.


Remember: a bibliographic database will only give you "bibliographic information" and not access to the full text.

Core Multidisciplinary Full Text Databases at Yale

To access the full text of a scholarly article, you should explore these core multidisciplinary full text databases:

Specialized core bibliographic and full text databases at Yale

To find specialized bibliographic and full text databases in foreign languages and literatures, consult the following LibGuides (developed by me):

 

Additional resources (developed by my colleagues/librarians at Yale):

  • Philosophy

Additional resources

Here you can find additional specialized reference resources (not covered in the Subject Guides above):

 

Anthropological Literature

Anthropological Literature (AL) indexes articles in periodicals, monograph series, and edited works in archaeology, biological and physical anthropology, cultural and social anthropology and linguistics, and selectively in such related fields as: art, botany, demography, economics, ethnohistory, folklore, genetics, geography, geology, history, music, mythology, political science, psychology, religion, sociology.

 

CSA Multi-search

EconLit, ERIC, IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Index Islamicus, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS Archive.  Federated searching on the CSA Illumina platform. Provides access to EconLit, ERIC, IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Index Islamicus, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS Archive, PAIS International, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

 

 Databases in poetry at Yale

 

Language and Linguistics Compass

Unique in its range, Language and Linguistics Compass is an online-only journal publishing original, peer-reviewed surveys of current research from across the entire discipline. Language and Linguistics Compass publishes state-of-the-art reviews, supported by a comprehensive bibliography and accessible to an international readership. Language and Linguistics Compass is aimed at senior undergraduates, postgraduates and academics, and will provide a unique reference tool for researching essays, preparing lectures, writing a research proposal, or just keeping up with new developments in a specific area of interest.

 

Linguistics & language behavior abstracts

The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language.

 

Philosophy Compass

Philosophy compass publishes peer-reviewed surveys of research and current thinking from across the entire discipline including surveys of current research discussing the major topics, issues, viewpoints, and controversies within each area of the discipline, connections across sub-disciplines of philosophical scholarship, and bibliographies for each article, providing an entry point into specialist literature.

 

Philosophy Online

Philosophy Online Serials, searchable access to a database containing the full-text of current, recent, and back issues of philosophy journals. Offers access to philosophy journals published by societies, departments, commercial publishers, and university presses.

 

Religion & Philosophy Collection

This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.