Skip to main content

Comparative Literature: Journals

What is a journal?

Journals consist mainly of articles written by scholars and researchers, reporting in detail on their original research, and "peer reviewed" by other experts before they’re published. Most are published by professional or academic organizations.

Journal in Comparative Literature

Comparative Literature Studies

 

Comparative Literature Studies publishes comparative articles in literature and culture, critical theory, and cultural and literary relations within and beyond the Western tradition. It brings you the work of eminent critics, scholars, theorists, and literary historians, whose essays range across the rich traditions of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas. One of its regular issues every two years concerns East-West literary and cultural relations and is edited in conjunction with members of the College of International Relations at Nihon University. Each issue includes reviews of significant books by prominent comparatists.

 

Foreign language journals

  • Antologia (frammentaria) della Letteratura Italiana
  • arcadia: Internationale Zeitschrift für Literaturwissenschaft / International Journal of Literary Studies
  • Colloquium Helveticum: Cahiers suisses de littérature générale et comparée
  • Dedalus: Revista Portuguesa de Literatura Comparada
  • DBNL (Digitale Bibliotheek voor de Nederlandse Letteren)
    "The Digital Library of Dutch Literature is a collection of primary and secondary information on Dutch language and literature in its historical, societal and cultural context."
  • Germano-slavica
  • Neohelicon: acta comparationis litterarum universarum
  • Orbis Litterarum: An International Review of Literary Studies
  • Semicerchio: Rivista di poesia comparata
  • Surfaces: Electronic Journal / Revue électronique

Bilingual/Multilingual journals

Bilingual/Multilingual Journals

  • Applied Semiotics/Sémiotique Appliquée: (English and French) a bilingual academic journal devoted to literary semiotic research.(U. of Toronto)
  • Glossen:  (English and German) Published on the Web twice a year; the "internationale Zeitschrift zur Literatur, Film, und Kunst nach 1945."
  • MLN: Modern Language Notes: Published five times a year, each time with one of five topics: Comparative Literature, Italian, German, Hispanic, or French

Other helpful sites

How to find journals in literature

Identifying the best academic journals in literature is not an easy task. Here are a few quick tips on how to proceed:

 

1. Go the Yale Library main page and follow the path to Online Journals & Newspapers. Then click on Subjects, select Arts & Humanities and, finally, click on Literature or Language & Linguistics (if you want to find journals in literature). Unfortunately, there is no way to further sort the findings by field (cf. comparative literature) or by language (cf. journal in French, Italian, English, Spanish, etc.).

 

2. Another possibility is to consult the MLA Directory of Periodicals or the Urlich's global serials directory database.

 

3. In WorldCat, select Advanced Search and enter author's name (last, first) as a Subject term and Limit type to: Serial Publications.  Example: Search for: Montaigne as Subject and Limit type to: serial publications.

 

4. Check related Guide to Comparative Literature such as this one, or a Website (e.g. ENTR'REVUES) - for e.g., if you are looking for resources in French.

 

5. Search the following Web resources:

  • Google Scholar allows searches for scholarly literature across a variety of disciplines and providers including academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar is freely searchable and sometimes offers access to the full text.
  • Peeters Online Journals is an online data base for academic resources. It provides world-wide access to a variety of journals in several languages. Peeters Online Journals gives you the opportunity to retrieve the articles you were looking for in an easy and accurate way.

       

      6.  Do the following search in Orbis:

      Example:

         

        7. To search for journals on a specific author in Orbis, use Advanced Search. Search in: Subject - for an author's name (last, first); and search in Subject - for periodicals.

         

        Example:

        search for Voltaire; search in Subject

        search for periodicals; serach in Subject

        Important journals in your field

        Here are some important journals in comparative literature:

        • New Literary History: This journal outlines "the reasons for literary change, the definitions of periods, and the evolution of styles, conventions and genres." (Project Muse)
        • Philosophy and Literature: A journal which explores "the dialogue between literary and theoretical studies and philosophy." (Project Muse)

        Special interest/period-related journals

        Here you can find some Special interest/period-related journals

        • Journal of the History of Ideas : "examines the evolution of ideas and their influence on historical developments....covers several fields of historical study including the history of philosophy, literature, the natural and social sciences, religion, the arts, and culture in general.
        • The Lion and the Unicorn: "a theme- and genre-centered journal of international scope committed to a serious, ongoing discussion of literature for children."
        • Literature and Medicine: "showcases the creative and critical work of renowned physician-writers, leading literary scholars, and medical humanists."
        • Modernism / Modernity: Concentrates on "the period extending roughly from 1860 to the present...focuses systematically on the methodological, archival, and theoretical exigencies particular to modernist studies. It encourages an interdisciplinary approach linking music, architecture, the visual arts, literature, and social and intellectual history."
        • Modern Fiction Studies: "Devoted to criticism and scholarship of fiction of the twentieth century," this journal contains "essays in cultural criticism," as well as "articles on prominent works of modern and contemporary literature" and book reviews.
        • Speculum: A journal dedicated to Medieval Studies. "The primary geographic focus is on Western Europe, but Byzantine, Hebrew, Arabic, and Slavic Studies are also included."