Skip to main content

Comparative Literature: Virtual Libraries

One book a day keeps boredom & ignorance away!

Copyright-free picture for private, academic or research purposes

My favorite virtual library in French!

 Highly recommended for all those who want to read in French: 

Electronic text centers

  • Electronic Text Center at UVirginia combines an on-line archive of thousands of SGML-encoded electronic texts (some of which are publicly available) with a library-based Center housing hardware and software suitable for the creation and analysis of text

Comparative Literature & English recommendations

If you want to read in English, search the following databases and websites:

Bible In English
Twenty-one different versions of the English Bible

Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
1,500 works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries.
 

Ebrary

Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Digital images of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science.

Elenchus Bibliographicus

EMBASE: Excerpa Medica

Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital)

Emusicquest: The Music-In-Print Series

Enciclopèdia Catalan

Encyclopaedia Britannica 

Encyclopaedia Iranica

Encyclopaedia Islamica

Encyclopaedia Judaica

Encyclopaedia of Islam-2nd Edition

Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE 

Encyclopaedia of Qur'an-Qur'an Concordance

Encyclopaedia of Women and Islamic Culture

Encyclopaedia Universalis

Encyclopedia of American Religions

Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics

Encyclopedia of Global Studies (Sage)

Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World

Encyclopedia of Judaism 

Encyclopedia of Religions 

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political, Social, and Military History

Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History

Encyclopédie d'Yverdon

Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire Raisonnédes Sciences, des Arts et des Métiers

Energy Citations Database (OSTI)

English Language and Literature 

Entrez

EnviroNetBase

Environment Complete (EBSCO)

Environmental History Bibliography

ERIC (CSA) (ProQuest XML)

ERIC (USDE)

Érudit

Essay and General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson)

Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection 1799-1971 (Readex) 

Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnographic Video Online I-II

Ethnologue

EthVest (ICCR)

Eureka (OCLC Firstcearch)

Europa Sacra Online

Europa World 

European History

Eurostat 

Everyday Life and Women in America (Adam Matthew Digital)

Exam Master Online

Faber Poetry LIbrary (PQ)

Factiva

Facts on File (FOF): World News Digest

Faculty of 1000

FAOSTAT

Faber Gravestone Collection

FAZ-Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

FESPACO

FIAF Documentation Collections (PQ)

FIAF Index to Film Periodicals (PQ)

FIAF Treasures from Film Archives (PQ)

Film Index International (PQ)

Film Indexes Online

Film Literature Index

Film Studies

Francis covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities (63%), social sciences (33%), and economics (4%). FRANCIS is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.

FRANTEXT is the main ARTFL Database, comprising more than 3,500 French language texts spanning from the 12th through the 20th centuries, 215 million words and 675,000 unique word forms.

Gale LIterary Index 

Gale's Literary Index to the literature products published by Gale (see below) combines and cross-references to author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 202,000 titles into one source. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Gallica Classique More than 1,000 volumes from the canon of French Literature, from the middle ages to the beginning of the 20th century.

GeoRef (Ovid) The GeoRef database from the American Geological Institute (AGI) provides access to the geoscience literature of the world.

German Language and Literature:

Germanistik Online Datenbank 

Germanistik is the central international journal on the study of German Language and Literature, including peripheral fields. Now, Germanistik is also available as an accumulated online database. Thus, 50 years of German philology - the history of the discipline both systematized and critically reviewed in more than 60,000 abstracts - are available online and fully searchable.

Grand Corpus des littératures française et francophone, du Moyen Âge au 20e siècle The Great Corpus of French and Francophone literature, from the Middle Ages to the 20th century offers the 4 online corpus of literature published by Classiques Garnier Numérique:
- the Corpus of medieval literature from the origins to the end of the 15th century
- the Corpus of narrative 

Hong Kong Literature Database  is the first database on Hong Kong literature. The Database is powered by various searching functions. Full-text is available in a major part of the database.” It is developed by Chinese University of Hong Kong Library.

IBZ Online (De Gruyter) The IBZ is an "international bibliography of periodical literature covering all fields of knowledge." It indexes periodical articles in all subject areas from around the world in German, French and English. Coverage of the printed volumes, including earlier titles, goes back to 1896.

ICPSR Bibliography of Data-related Literature This searchable database contains over 20,000 citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium of Political and Social Research) archive.

IIBP - International Index to Black Periodicals (PQ) IIBP indexes articles in 150 international scholarly and popular Black studies periodicals. It covers humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology.

Index Islamicus, produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library, indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Records included in the database cover almost a century of publications, with some going back to 1906.

Index of references dealing with Talmudic literature provides bibliographical references to discussions on rabbinic literature and related fields and has been updated to include over 1000 works.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit partnership dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development and distribution of online resources. 

Kindlers Literatur Lexikon Online version of the comprehensive German language encyclopedia of world literature.

KLG online Standard database for literature published in German after 1945; biographical information on more than 600 contemporary authors writing in German, including synoptical overviews of their works. 

Kokubungaku Ronbun Mokuroku 国文学論文目録データベース comprehensive database for research on Japanese literature published from the 1920s to the present. It includes citations of any works on Japanese literature in books, journal articles, bulletins and annuals.

Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature (WESS)
European language text collections on the Internet; most, but not all, are freely accessible.

Language and Literatuer Online

Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. It contains over 133,465 pages.

Lectrix :Ancient classics in a new light Cambridge Greek & Latin Classics full text monographic titles with commentaries about works as literature and concentrate less exclusively on textual and syntactical matters.

LGBT Life LGBT Life provides citations and some full text articles on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. It covers core scholarly publications, as well as many alternative publications and grey literature.

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) Library Literature & Information Science Full Text provides a clear focus on library studies and how technology and the development of the Internet have changed the library experience and research in general.

Library of Latin Texts Formerly known as CLCLT, this database for Latin texts, including CETEDOC, contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period.

Literature Compass Literature Compass publishes original survey articles within 9 online journals, combined with a range of reference resources on these topics: American, Eighteenth Century, Medieval Renaissance, Romanticism, Seventeenth Century Shakespeare, The Victorians, and Twentieth Century.

Literature Online with MLA A fully searchable library of more than 349,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources. 

Littérature de l'Afrique noire This scholarly enterprise gathers French-speaking literature from sub-Saharan Africa: oral and written literatures from the origins to Independence. 

Littérature de l'Océan Indien  This Corpus gives access, as completely as possible, to the whole of Francophone written and oral literature from the Indian Ocean, from the origins (18th century) to Independence (1960, or death of authors).

Lyell Collection The Lyell Collection , created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth science literature available. 

Maagarim Historical dictionary including text from Dead Sea scrolls, Rabbinical literature, piyutim, and various other sources documenting and illustrating Hebrew language usage between 100 and 1050 A.D. 

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (MECAS) Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies is an index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Over 12,000 records of recently published & "grey" literature are added annually.

MLA International Bibliography The MLA Bibliography indexes materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, excluding book reviews. Access to citations from journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies are included. 

Motif-Index of Folk-Literature    This database is an electronic edition of the Motif-Index of Folk-Literature, revised and enlarged by Stith Thompson, (Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1955).

National Institute of Japanese Literature The databases from the National Institute of Japanese Literature (Kokubungaku kenkyu shiryōkan) provide many valuable resources for pre-modern Japanese scholars. For example, online versions of the Kokusho sōmokuroku and Kotenseki sōgō mokuroku are available.

Near East Collection at Yale University Library 

New Left Review Online Archive New Left Review analyses world politics, the global economy, state powers and protest movements; contemporary social theory, history and philosophy; cinema, literature, heterodox art and aesthetics.

Nihon Kotenseki Sogo Mokuroku (日本古典籍総合目録) This is an online version of the Kokusho somokuroku provided by the National Institute of Japanese Literature (Kokubungaku kenkyu shiryokan). The Kokusho kihon detabesu is based on both the Kokusho somokuroku and the Kotenseki sogo mokuroku. 

Nineteenth Century Index 

The Nineteenth Century Index – the most comprehensive and dynamic source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives.

The Nineteenth Century Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley IndexPoole's IndexPeriodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811–1849 to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 22.7 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. The Nineteenth Century Index provides integrated access to 13 bibliographic indexes, including more than three million records from British Periodicals Collections I and II, together with the expanded online edition of the Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism (DNCJ).

Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest) A major electronic archive of over 700 digitized, full-image journal articles, Periodicals Archive Online (formerly PCI Full Text™) offers unprecedented access to international, scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 2000.

PerioPath: Index to Taiwan Periodical Literature System Developed by National Central Library in Taiwan, PerioPath: Index to Taiwan Periodical Literature System臺灣期刊論文索引系統allows users to search for article citations of 3000+ Chinese and Western-language periodicals and journals published in Taiwan. 

Philosopher's Index Ebsco Interface of the bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Philosopher’s Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals. 

Opera del Vocabolario Italiano The database contains 1581 vernacular texts (19.1+ million words, 447,675 unique forms, 165 MB of textual data) the majority of which are dated prior to 1375, the year of Boccaccio's death. The verse and prose works include early masters of Italian literature like Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio. 

Oxford Classical Dictionary For almost half a century The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been a distinguished reference work on the Greco-Roman world. It covers literature, art, philosophy, law, biography, mythology, science, geography, daily life, and broad cultural and historical trends.

Oxford Scholarship Online  Oxford Scholarship Online is a vast and rapidly expanding cross-searchable library which now offers quick and easy access to the full text of 4,074 Oxford books in Biology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, and Music. 

Online Books Page (University of Pennsylvania)
Mostly works in English, but some interesting multilingual titles such as Struwwelpeter (German, French and English). Browse by subject, author, or title. 

Past Masters

Perseus Project
Sources and studies on Ancient Greece & Rome including primary texts such as Homer's Iliad and Odyssey, Apollodorus, the Library, and Aeschylus. Also includes non-classical texts.

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) The index that revolutionized the world of research, Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature, has been reinvented as a more powerful, convenient, affordable, and flexible resource than ever. Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega is a comprehensive tool for educators, students, or any researcher seeking comprehensive current events coverage, curriculum support, or access to quality periodicals.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)  Over the past 100 years, Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature has become the ultimate index of subjects in the popular press, has earned the trust of researchers at all levels, and has been hailed by Library Journal as one of the “50 Best Reference Sources for the Millennium.”

Religious & Theological Abstracts Religious and Theological Abstracts provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology. It indexes a wide variety of periodical literature,including Christian, Jewish, and other world religions, and provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.

Repere 572 000 références d'articles de périodiques de langue française (1980- )  avec le texte intégral de 21 700 articles et les adresses de 93 400 articles en texte intégral sur Internet

South and Southeast Asian literature The collection comprises literature written originally in English by writers who either were born in or identify themselves culturally with India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, and Fiji. Because the South and Southeast Asian Diasporas are so widely cast, the collection also includes the work of writers living or working in Africa, the United Kingdom, North America, and the Caribbean. The collection focuses on literature written during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras; however, it also includes earlier work that is essential to scholarship in this area.   

Spanish and Portuguese Language and Literature:

  • Bibliografía de la Literatura Española desde 1980-Present La base de datos Bibliografía de la Literatura Española desde 1980es la más completa y única bibliografía sobre la Literatura Española actual. Pone a su disposición referencias bibliográficas de obras, ediciones, traducciones de originales y estudios sobre los mismos, aparecidos a partir de 1980 en libros o en publicaciones periódicas, homenajes, actas de congresos, misceláneas, etc.; editadas en España o en el extranjero. 
    Se da noticia de cuanto se publica sobre Literatura Española y sus autores desde la Edad Media a la actualidad. Comprende a los escritores españoles, hispanoamericanos y filipinos anteriores a la independencia de sus respectivos países. 
    Bibliography for scholars of Spanish literature, and of all related documentation published in any language between 1980 and the present day. It covers monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congresses proceedings and other miscellaneous material.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae, at the University of California, Irvine, has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in 1453 CE. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. 
The TLG Canon of Authors and Works is a bibliographic guide to the authors and works included in the TLG® Digital Library. The Canon represents many years of research conducted by TLG staff members. A printed version of the Canon is available (Luci Berkowitz and Karl A. Squitier, Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Canon of Greek Authors and Works, third edition, Oxford University Press, 1990); an electronic file is included in all TLG CD ROMs. The web Canon database is regularly updated to include new entries added to the TLG Digital Library. Before you begin, you may select a Greek font for your session. A polytonic Greek font must be installed on your computer in order to view some work titles that appear in Greek. To save your searches and set your default preferences, you need to establish a personal account.

Thesaurus linguae Latinae The new digital online versions of theThesaurus linguae Latinae (TLL)and theBibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL)replace the former CD-Rom versions of BTL 4 and TLL 5. They offer both an extension of the data, and a fundamentally remodelled user interface, which – for the first time – allows to search both databases (if you have subscribed to the combined product of BTL + TLL online). The user interface is largely self-explanatory. The help function offers support with special queries of the application. Additionally, an extensive introduction to theThesaurus linguae Latinaeis offered in itsPraemonenda, to be found at the beginning of its table of contents.

Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center Digital Library Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center Digital Library offers approximately 12,000 volumes of scanned Tibetan literature in Tibetan language, especially Buddhist works. Images are in TIFF or PDF format. Transliteration and keyword searching is in Wylie. Texts are also browsable by tradition or category; or they may be searched via the Knowledge Base. Some works also have searchable detailed outlines.

 Twentieth Century Advice Literature  This database provides complete access to handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books describing American attitudes towards family dynamics, gender roles, sexual relationships, and race relations in the twentieth century.

Twentieth-Century African American Poetry Full text collection of poetry written by African-American poets of the 20th century including many contemporary African-American writers of the 1980s and 1990s, who have gained recognition through national poetry awards or inclusion within print anthologies.

Twentieth-Century American Poetry This collection includes the full text of poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.

Twentieth-Century American Poetry - Second Edition Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Second Edition is an essential collection of poetry which allows readers an unparalleled survey of the movements, schools and distinctive voices of modern and contemporary American poetry. It combines two existing Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collections, Twentieth-Century American Poetry and Twentieth-Century African American Poetry, with over 500 volumes of newly-licensed material from established and emergent poets.

Twentieth Century Drama
Plays in English from around the world from the 1890s to 2003.

Twentieth Century North American Drama (ASP)  Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 319 plays by 53 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Voltaire électronique Voltaire électronique is based upon the Voltaire Foundation Oxford edition of the Complete works of Voltaire. It includes all of Voltaire's literary works. Texts which have not yet been published in the Complete works are drawn either from the original sources or from the ninteenth-century Moland edition of Voltaire's works. The database will be updated regularly with further texts from the Oxford edition as they become available.

W. B. Yeats Collection, 1885-1995 The W.B. Yeats Collection contains the major work of W.B. Yeats in all genres, including poetry, plays, criticism and fiction, collected in 22 volumes.

Women Writers Online
Electronic texts of the Brown University Women Writers Project, covering a period from 1400 to 1850. This collection includes the texts which appear in the Renaissance Women Online site.

WorldCat  WorldCat is the Online Computer Library Center's (OCLC) online "union catalog"; that is, its database of over 1 billion records of books and other materials held in more than 10,000 academic, public, special and national libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of Yale, in almost any area of study, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections. WorldCat provides catalog records for books, maps, sound recordings, musical scores, films, archives, and computer files held in research, corporate, and public libraries, as well as museums, archives and historical societies. All searches may be easily printed, downloaded or e-mailed directly to you. 
NEW ! Click on the Yale links icon and then on the link for submitting an Interlibrary Loan request to obtain items that Yale does not own.

WorldCat.org WorldCat.org is a free database that allows concurrent searching of 10,000 worldwide libraries to identify and locate books, music, videos and journal articles, a feature not included in the regular WorldCat database. 

Wright American Fiction This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included (2,463 unedited, 424 fully edited and encoded) by 1,387 authors.

Zeitschriften der Aufklaerung  Digitized Collection of all major cultural and literary journals of the Enlightenment period (and thereafter) in German-speaking countries. The database can be searched on the level of individual articles; full-text searching is not available (yet). 

European languages and literatures

To find virtual libraries in foreign languages and literatures, consult the following LibGuides (developed by me):