Skip to main content

Comparative Literature: Encyclopedias

Don't miss it!

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is an indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. It includes almost 300 alphabetically arranged entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods

__________________________________

 

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online is the online version of the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. It features over 2000 original articles from over 1300 leading international experts across the discipline of philosophy. The articles cover such topics as Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.

Other Versions:
DIVINITY, Trowbridge Reading Room (Non-Circulating ), B51 R68 1998
SML, Starr Main Reference Rm (Non-Circulating), B51 R68X 1998 (LC)
SML, Philosophy Study, Room 609-10 (Non-Circulating), B51 R68X 1998 (LC)

______________________________________

 

Credo Reference Encyclopedia

an excellent general English language Encyclopedia

General online encylopedias at Yale

Interesting encyclopedias on the web

New Advent Catholic Encyclopedia - An online version based on the 1913 print edition of the Catholic Encyclopedia.

 

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy  This site provides “open access to a comprehensive online philosophy reference work that is authoritative, peer-reviewed, and continually updated.” Searchable site with a browsable abridged table of contents.

 

L'Encyclopédie Médiévale Information on authors and works; online texts, chronology, glossary, bibliography. Commercial site (enables online ordering of some books cited).

Online literary encyclopedias at Yale

Continuum encyclopedia of American literature / Steven R. Serafin, general editor ; Alfred Bendixen, associate editor. New York: Continuum, 2005

 

Hutchinson encyclopedia of literature. Abingdon, England : Helicon, 2006.

 

The Oxford encyclopedia of the Reformation / Hans J. Hillerbrand, editor in chief.  New York : Oxford University Press, 1996. Print version: SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). BR302.8 O93X 1996 (LC)+ Oversize

 

Cambridge Histories Online

The Cambridge Histories Online offers searchable full-text of over 250 well-known, used and trusted volumes in over fifteen subject areas including history, history of science, history of the book, language and literature, literary studies, music, philosophy, political and social theory, area studies, religious studies, theatre studies and performing arts, and warfare.

 

Cambridge Collections Online

The Complete Companions Collection includes reference titles published by Cambridge University Press in the fields of literature, classics, philosophy, religion and cultural studies. The database is updated with 20-30 new titles every year as soon as they become available, so the collection will grow in size and change in composition.

Literary encyclopedias in print at Yale

Cyclopedia of literary characters. Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, c1998. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) PN44 M35 1998 + Oversize

 

Cyclopedia of world authors / edited by Frank N. Magill. Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, 1997. LSF- click "Place Requests" for delivery to any Yale library. PN41 M34 1997

 

Encyclopaedia Acéphalica: Comprising the Critical dictionary & related texts / edited by Georges Bataille. And the Encyclopaedia Da Costa / edited by Robert Lebel & Isabelle Waldberg. London : Atlas Press, 1995. SML, Stacks, LC Classification PQ307 S95 E56X 1995+ Oversize

 

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment /edited by Michel Delon; adviser to the English-language edition, Philip Stewart; translation editor, Gwen Wells. Chicago; London Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). CB411 .D53813 2001 (LC)+ Oversize.

 

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment / Peter Hanns Reill, consulting editor ; Ellen Judy Wilson, principal author. New York : Facts On File, Inc., 2004. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). B802 E53X 2005 (LC)+ Oversize

 

Encyclopedia of folklore and literature / editors, Mary Ellen Brown, Bruce A. Rosenberg ; editorial assistants, Peter Hale, Kathy Sitarski. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1998. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) PN41 E48 1998

 

Encyclopedia of the novel / editor, Paul Schellinger ; assistant editors, Christopher Hudson, Marijke Rijsberman. Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, c1998. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) PN41 E487 1998+ Oversize


Key concepts in contemporary literature / Steve Padley. Basingstoke [England] ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2006. Bass Library, Stacks PN41 .P25X 2006

 

Merriam-Webster's encyclopedia of literature. Springfield, Mass. : Merriam-Webster, c1995. LSF- click "Place Requests" for delivery to any Yale library. PN41 M42X 1995 (LC)+ Oversize. Also available as an online resource.

Language & literature encyclopedias

To find specialized encyclopedias in foreign languages and literatures, consult the following LibGuides (developed by me):