Skip to main content

Comparative Literature: Dictionaries

Literary dictionaries in print at Yale

A-Z guide to modern literary & cultural theorists / edited by Stuart Sim. London : Harvester Wheatsheaf, 1995. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) PN74 A2X 1995

 

Columbia dictionary of modern literary and cultural criticism / Joseph Childers and Gary Hentzi, general editors. New York: Columbia University Press, c1995. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) BH39 C654 1995 (LC). Also available as an online resource.

 

A dictionary of critical theory / Leonard Orr. New York : Greenwood Press, c1991. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) PN98 S6 O77X 1991

 

Dictionary of critical theory / Leonard Orr. New York : Greenwood Press, c1991. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) PN98 S6 O77X 1991

 

Dictionary of cultural theorists / edited by Ellis Cashmore and Chris Rojek ; foreword by Douglas Kellner. London ; New York : Arnold ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1999. DIVINITY, Trowbridge Reference Room (Non-Circulating) HM101 D534 1999 (LC)


Dictionnaire de critique littéraire / Joëlle Gardes-Tamine, Marie-Claude Hubert. Paris : A. Colin, c1996. SML, Stacks, LC Classification PN44.5 T354 1996.

 

Dictionnaire des genres et notions littéraires / [préface de François Nourissier]. Paris : Encyclopædia universalis : Albin Michel, c2001. SML, Stacks, LC Classification. PN41 .D525 2001

 

Dictionnaire de poétique et de rhétorique / Henri Morier. 5. éd. rev. et augm. Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 1998. SML, Stacks, LC Classification. PQ41 M67

 

Le dictionnaire du littéraire / publié sous la direction de Paul Aron, Denis Saint-Jacques, Alain Viala ; avec la collaboration de Marie-André Beaudet ... [et al.]. Paris : Presses universitaires de France, 2002. SML, Stacks, LC Classification PN41 .D475 2002

 

Multicultural dictionary of literary terms / by Gary Carey and Mary Ellen Snodgrass. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., 1999. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) PN41 C28X 1999

Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary: a compendium to more than 500 literary, critical, and theatrical movements, schools, and groups from more than 80 nations, covering the novelists, poets, short-story writers, dramatists, essayists, theorists, and works, genres, techniques, and terms associated with each movement / Helene Henderson and Jay P. Pederson, editors. Detroit, Mich.: Omnigraphics, 2000. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). PN597 T94X 2000

Online literary dictionaries at Yale

Take note!

Dictionary of cultural and critical theory / Michael Payne, editor ; Meenakshi Ponnuswami, associate editor ; Jennifer Payne, assistant editor,

[Oxford] : Blackwell, [c1996]. 

Location: SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating)
Call Number: HM101 D527X 1996 (LC)

Important!

Credo reference dictionaries


Oxford English dictionary

 Use it to find synonyms, various forms, related  & alternate words, etc.

Language & literature dictionaries

To find specialized dictionaries in foreign languages and literatures, consult the following LibGuides (developed by me):