Skip to main content

Comparative Literature: Bibliographies

A bibliography is ...

A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, websites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic.

 

Bibliographies are sometimes called "references" or "works cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

A national bibliography is...

A national bibliography is an ongoing list of the books and other materials published or distributed in a specific country, especially works written about the country and its inhabitants or in its national language, for example, Canadiana and the British National Bibliography (BNB), which since 1950 has provided a weekly list of new titles published in Great Britain.

 

The focus of national bibliography has traditionally been print materials (books, serials, pamphlets, maps, printed music, government documents, etc.), but nonprint media including works created in digital formats are also listed in some countries.

 

How to find bibliographies in Orbis?

There are several ways to find bibliographic resources at Yale.  One of the most effective is by doing the following (or similar)  "subject" searches in order to find a list of bibliographies in Orbis:

      General bibliographies in Comparative Literature

      Here you can find a few examples of general sources related to the bibliograhy in comparative literature.

       

      Annotated bibliography of English, American, and comparative literature for Chinese scholars / Chi Ch'iu-lang and John J. Deeney, chief editors ; Yen Lang-yuan, Raymond Murray, and Yeh Wei-min, assistant editors. Taipei Western Literature Research Institute, Tamkang College of Arts and Sciences, 1975. LSF- click "Place Requests" for delivery to any Yale library. Z6514 C7 A55 (LC)

       

      Bibliography of comparative literature, by Fernand Baldensperger and Werner P. Friederich. Chapel Hill, 1950. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) Z6514 C7 B35 (LC)

       

      Littérature comparée. Essai bibliographique. Introduction par Joseph Texte. Strasbourg, K.J. Trübner, 1904. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) Z6514 C7 B47 1904 (LC)

      Specialized bibliographies in foreign literatures

      To find specialized bibliographies in foreign languages and literatures (especially national bibliographies), consult the following LibGuides (developed by me):

         

        Or do a "subject search" in Orbis with the following or similar keywords:

          • Etc.

            Bibliography of literary periodicals

            Here you can find bibliographies of literary periodicals:

             

            143 revues d'histoire & critique littéraires, de linguistique & de bibliographie. Paris : Ent'revues, 2000. SML, Stacks, LC Classification. Z6513 A14 2000 (LC)

             

            CLMP directory of literary magazines and presses / Council of Literary Magazines and Presses. San Francisco, CA : Manic D Press, c2003-c2004. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, Z6513 C37 (LC)

             

            Directory of literary magazines / prepared by The Coordinating Council of Literary Magazines. New York : The Council, c1984- SML, Stacks, LC Classification Z6513 C37 (LC)

             

            Literary press and magazine directory / Council of Literary Magazines and Presses. Brooklyn, NY : Soft Skull Press, c2005- SML, Stacks, LC Classification Z6513 .C37 (LC)

             

            Prensa literaria argentina, 1890-1974 / Wáshington Luis Pereyra. Buenos Aires : Librería Colonial, 1993-<2008.   SML, Stacks, LC Classification Z1615 P47X 1993 (LC)+ Oversize