Skip to main content

Linguistics: Articles

Reminder!

 

What is a database?

Databases are

  • Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, or other information sources, such as books, videos, and maps.
  • Some focus on a particular type of source, for example newspaper articles.

Important!

A research database:

  • can be subject-specific (e.g. literary coverage)  or multidisciplinary (has broad coverage).
  • may include citations, full text, or a mixture (full text and bibliographic abstracts) from hundreds or thousands of periodicals.
  • can be organized in different ways, so... you should always adapt your search techniques to each database (HELP information is always available and can be very useful).

Please note that in many cases you will only be able to access the resources in the right-hand column though the Yale network by providing your NetID and password.

Search for articles!

3 things to remember!

When using article databases, remember there are always three stages in your workflow (the "three Ds"):

 

1) Discovery: Do (and redo!) your searching, using varying terms and combining using the Boolean operators "and, or, not" to get good results. Your first search is not your best search, but rather an opportunity to learn how to immediately do a better search.

 

2) Delivery: For items that you like, select the link to the fulltext if available, or click on the  button: "Find it at Yale" to see if we own the item. If you want to keep this item, either save it to your own computer, email it to yourself, or print it.

 

3) Database it: Keep the "meta-information" about all that good resources you found for your records and to make your bibliographies. You will find yourself returning to resources so having a system in place will save you time and aggravation later. The Yale Library offer a number of tools to our users to help with this, in particular a tool called EndNote, which you can learn here

Core multidisciplinary bibliographic databases at Yale

Please start with these essential bibliographic databases if you want  to find scholarly articles on your topic in academic journals.  They are high-quality, subscription-only databases provided by the Yale University Library.

 

Remember: a bibliographic database will only give you "bibliographic information" and not access to the full text.

______________________________________________________________

 

The most important databases in the field:

CSA Multi-search

EconLit, ERIC, IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Index Islamicus, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS Archive.  Federated searching on the CSA Illumina platform. Provides access to EconLit, ERIC, IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Index Islamicus, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS Archive, PAIS International, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

Linguistics & language behavior abstracts

The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language.

PsycINFO - EBSCO

International coverage of the professional and academic literature in psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals and dissertations in more than 30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references are added annually. Popular literature is excluded.

Additional resources you should know about:

Core multidisciplinary full-text databases at Yale

To access the full text of a scholarly article, you should explore these core multidisciplinary full text databases:

The most important databases in the field:

Social Science Citation Index

The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.

Additional resources that you should know about:

Specialized core bibliographic and full text databases at Yale

To find specialized bibliographic and full text databases in foreign languages and literatures, consult the following LibGuides (developed by me):

 

Additional resources (developed by my colleagues/librarians at Yale):

  • Philosophy