Skip to main content

Linguistics: Reference databases

Important reference resources

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics (Oxford Paperback Reference) [Paperback]

P. H. Matthews 

(Author) Oxford University Press, USA; 2 edition (October 15, 2007)

 

_______________________________________

Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics

(The Language Library) [Paperback]

David Crystal  (Author) Wiley-Blackwell; 6th edition (June 23, 2008)

Reference databases

These databases allow you to search several general reference sources at once:

Oxford Reference Online

The Premium Collection brings together over 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works published by Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. Containing over 2 million dictionary definitions, facts, figures, people, places, dates, and quotations, Oxford Reference Online: The Premium Collection is unique in offering integrated, consistent content from general reference, language, humanities, social sciences, medical, scientific, and professional one-volume works. It is also possible to search each title in the collection individually.

Credo Reference

Through Credo Reference (formerly xrefer) researchers can gain access to any of a possible 3,140,951 entries, from 275 titles and 57 publishers covering subjects as diverse as medicine, art, Shakespeare, and technology. It includes a proprietary cross-reference technology that integrates database content across topics, titles, and publishers to provide contextual results. It also features information visualization capabilities through the Research Mapper, a visual map that displays how search terms in Credo Reference are interconnected. Credo Reference also includes 60,000 high-quality searchable images (photographs, fine art, scientific diagrams, line drawings, and more) and 90,000 audio pronunciation files.

Wiley Reference Works

Wiley InterScience's expanding collection of Reference Works deliver unimpeded access to multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries within every category of scientific, technical and medical endeavor.

Reference Universe

A collective index to several million articles in thousands of specialized print and electronic encyclopedias in all subjects. It indexes article titles and back-of-the-book indexes, with links (1) directly to online editions of the sources (if subscribed to or purchased by Yale); (2) to Orbis to indicate which of the titles are owned in a print edition by Yale; and (3) to reviews of the works indexed. Online e-reference collections indexed include Annual Reviews, ABC-CLIO e-books, AccessScience, Credo Reference, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Online, Netlibrary, and Oxford Reference Online and others.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.  Source List: A list of publications is available from the native interface.  Subjects: Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science.

Additional assistance

If you are having trouble locating reference sources, please feel free to ask for assistance.  We can help you locate the best sources for your research needs.

Online repositories: