Skip to main content

Linguistics: Encyclopedias

Don't miss these titles!

International encyclopedia of linguistics [electronic resource]. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2003.

 

The MIT Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science edited by Robert A. Wilson and Frank C. Keil. Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c1999. BF311 M556 1999 (LC)+ Oversize

 

Routledge linguistics encyclopedia / edited by Kirsten Malmkjaer. London ; New York : Routledge, 2010. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), P29 .R67X 2010 (LC).

Interesting encyclopedias on the web

New Advent Catholic Encyclopedia - An online version based on the 1913 print edition of the Catholic Encyclopedia.

 

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy  This site provides “open access to a comprehensive online philosophy reference work that is authoritative, peer-reviewed, and continually updated.” Searchable site with a browsable abridged table of contents.

 

L'Encyclopédie Médiévale Information on authors and works; online texts, chronology, glossary, bibliography. Commercial site (enables online ordering of some books cited).

Linguistics encyclopedias at Yale

Cambridge encyclopedia of language / David Crystal. Cambridge, UK : Cambridge University Press, 1997. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), P29 C64 1997 (LC)+ Oversize.

 

Cambridge encyclopedia of the world's ancient languages / edited by Roger D. Woodard. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2004. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), P140 .C355 2004 (LC).

 

Diccionario enciclopédico ilustrado de términos lingüísticos / José Neira Rodas. Quito : Corporación Editora Nacional, 2007. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, P29 .N42X 2007 (LC).

 

Encycopledia [i.e. encyclopedic] dictionary of applied linguistics [electronic resource] / edited by: Keith Johnson And Helen Johnson. [Oxford, UK; Malden, Mass.] : Blackwell Publishers, [2008?].

 

Encyclopedia of Arabic language and linguistics / General editor, Kees Versteegh. Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2005-2009S. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), PJ6031 .E53X 2006 Oversize.

 

Encyclopedia of communication theory / Stephen W. Littlejohn, Karen A. Foss, editors. Los Angeles : SAGE, c2009. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), P87.5 .E496X 2009 (LC) Oversize.

 

Encyclopedia of language and linguistics / R.E. Asher, editor-in-chief ; J.M.Y. Simpson, coordinating editor. Oxford ; New York : Pergamon Press, 1994. LSF- click "Place Requests" for delivery to any Yale library, P29 E48X 1994 (LC)+ Oversize.

 

Encyclopedia of language & linguistics / editor-in-chief, Keith Brown ; co-ordinating editors, Anne H. Anderson ... [et al.]. Oxford, UK ; New York : Elsevier, c2006. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), P29 .E48X 2006 (LC)+ Oversize.

 

Encyclopedia of linguistics / Philipp Strazny, editor. New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), P29 E483 2005 (LC)+ Oversize.

 

International encyclopedia of linguistics / William Bright, editor-in-chief. New York : Oxford University Press, 1992. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, P29 I58 1992 (LC)+ Oversize.

 

International encyclopedia of linguistics / William J. Frawley, editor in chief. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2003. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), P29 .I58 2003 (LC)+ Oversize.

 

Key ideas in linguistics and the philosophy of language [electronic resource] / edited by Siobhan Chapman and Christopher Routledge. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, c2009.

 

Nihongogaku kenkyū jiten / hensha Hida Yoshifumi ... [et al.] = The research encyclopedia of Japanese linguistics / editors Yoshifumi Hida ... [et al.]. Tōkyō : Meiji Shoin, Heisei 19 [2007] SML East Asia Library Reference, Rm 219 (Non-Circulating), PL511 .N54 2007.

 

________________________________________________

 

To find more resources, consult the following subject heading:

Linguistics --Encyclopedias.

 

Language & literature encyclopedias

To find specialized encyclopedias in foreign languages and literatures, consult the following LibGuides (developed by me):