Skip to main content

Linguistics: Dictionaries

Linguistics dictionaries at Yale

Concise Oxford dictionary of linguistics / P.H. Matthews. New York : Oxford University Press, 1997. LSF- click "Place Requests" for delivery to any Yale library, P29 M34X 1997 (LC).  

 

Dictionary of linguistics and phonetics / David Crystal. Oxford, UK ; Cambridge, Mass., USA : Blackwell, 1997. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, P29 C78 1997 (LC).

 

Dictionary of linguistics and phonetics [electronic resource] / David Crystal. Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell Pub., 2008. Print version available in SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), P29 .C65X 2008 (LC).

 

Dictionary of logic as applied in the study of language : concepts, methods, theories / edited by Witold Marciszewski. The Hague ; Boston : M. Nijhoff Publishers ; Hingham, MA : Distributors for the U.S. and Canada, Kluwer Boston, 1981. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), BC9 D48 (LC).

 

Dictionary of theoretical linguistics : English-Arabic with an Arabic English glossary / by Muhammad Ai Al Khuli. Beirut : Libraririe du Liban, 1982. LSF- click "Place Requests" for delivery to any Yale library, P29 A44 1982.

 

Encyclopedic dictionary of language and languages / David Crystal. Oxford, UK ; Cambridge, Mass. USA : Blackwell Publishers, 1992. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, P29 C68X 1992 (LC).

 

Key concepts in language and linguistics / R.L. Trask. London ; New York : Routledge, 1998. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, P29 T687X 1998 (LC).

 

Key concepts in language and linguistics / Geoffrey Finch. Basingstoke : Palgrave Macmillan, 2005. Bass Library, Stacks, P121 .F486 2005 (LC).

 

Penguin dictionary of language / David Crystal. London : Penguin, 1999. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), P29 C68X 1999 (LC).

 

Routledge dictionary of language and linguistics / Hadumod Bussmann ; translated and edited by Gregory Trauth and Kerstin Kazzazi. London ; New York : Routledge, 1996. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), P29 B874 1996 (LC).

____________________________________________________

 

To find more resources, consult following or similar subject headings:

Indexes and general dictionaries on the web

  • COMLEX Syntax, a monolingual English Dictionary consisting of 38,000 head words intended for use in natural language processing

      Take note!

      Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online

      The Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online (IEDO) reconstructs the lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European. It is a rich and voluminous online reference source for historical and general linguists. Dictionaries can be cross-searched, with an advance search for each individual dictionary enabling the user to perform more complex research queries. Each entry is accompanied by grammatical info, meaning(s), etymological commentary, reconstructions, cognates and often extensive bibliographical information.

       

      Dictionary of languages : the definitive reference to more than 400 languages / Andrew Dalby. New York: Columbia University Press, 1998. LSF (place request for delivery to any Yale library), P29 D35 1998 (LC). 2006 edition available as online book.

      Important!

      Credo reference dictionaries

      Oxford English dictionary  -  Use it to find synonyms, various forms, related  & alternate words, etc.

      Language & literature dictionaries

      To find specialized dictionaries in foreign languages and literatures, consult the following LibGuides (developed by others):

      Language dictionaries

      Collections

      • CHILDES, Child Language Data Exchange System