Skip to main content

Linguistics: Bibliographies

Linguistic Bibliography Online

The Linguistic Bibliography Online is an essential linguistic reference tool that is unique in its field. It provides nearly 270.000 bibliographical references to scholarly publications in linguistics and is by far the most comprehensive bibliography in the field.


The Linguistic Bibliography Online covers all disciplines of theoretical linguistics, both general and language specific, from all geographical areas, including less-known and extinct languages, with particular attention to the many endangered languages of the world. Up-to-date information is guaranteed by the collaboration of some forty contributing specialists from all over the world. With annually over 20.000 records added, the Linguistic Bibliography remains the standard reference work for every scholar of linguistics.
The online edition contains all entries of the printed volumes as of 1993 and new records are added on a monthly basis. Annual volumes of the Linguistic Bibliography will continue to be published in print by Brill.

A bibliography is ...

... a list of sources (books, journals, websites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic.

 

Bibliographies are sometimes called "references" or "works cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

A national bibliography is...

... an ongoing list of the books and other materials published or distributed in a specific country, especially works written about the country and its inhabitants or in its national language, for example, Canadiana and the British National Bibliography (BNB), which since 1950 has provided a weekly list of new titles published in Great Britain.

 

The focus of national bibliography has traditionally been print materials (books, serials, pamphlets, maps, printed music, government documents, etc.), but nonprint media including works created in digital formats are also listed in some countries.

Specialized bibliographies in foreign literatures

To find specialized bibliographies in foreign languages and literatures (especially national bibliographies), consult the following LibGuides (developed by me):

 

Or do a "subject search" in Orbis with the following or similar keywords:

How to find bibliographies in Orbis?

There are several ways to find bibliographic resources at Yale.  One of the most effective is by doing the following (or similar)  "subject" searches in order to find a list of bibliographies in Orbis:

Bibliographies in linguistics at Yale

Here you can find a few examples of general sources related to the bibliograhy in Linguistics.

 

In English

 

Bibliography of modern Romani linguistics : including a guide to Romani lingustics / compiled by Peter Bakker, Yaron Matras. Amsterdam ; Philadelphia: John Benjamins Pub., 2003. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, Z7001 .B56X 2003 (LC).

 

Bibliography of the Summer Institute of Linguistics, Philippines, 1953-1988 / edited by C. Richard Gieser ; with a forward by Andrew B. Gonzalez. Manila, Philippines : The Institute, 1989. LSF- click "Place Requests" for delivery to any Yale library, In Process.

 

Experimental and applied linguistics in Canada = Linguistique expérimentale et appliquée au Canada / [edited by] Pierre R. Léon ; B. Brainerd ... [et al.]. Montréal : Didier, c1979. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, P81 C3 E9 (LC).

 

First glot international state-of-the-article book : the latest in linguistics / edited by Lisa Cheng, Rint Sybesma. Berlin ; New York : Mouton de Gruyter, 2000. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, P121 F55X 2000 (LC).

 

Fourth year report to the System Development Foundation, Situated language research program / submitted by Jon Barwise ... [et al.] ; with the assistance of Thomas Wasow, Elizabeth Macken, Susan Stucky ; Elizabeth Macken, editor. Stanford, CA : Center for the Study of Language and Information, [1987]. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, P57 C4 F6X 1987 (LC).

 

Linguistics and English linguistics / compiled by Harold B. Allen. Arlington Heights, Ill. : AHM Pub. Corp., 1977, c1966. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), Z7001 A4 1977 (LC).

 

Linguistics, language and law : a topical bibliography / by Judith N. Levi. Evanston, Ill. : Dept. of Linguistics, Northwestern University, 1982. LSF- click "Place Requests" for delivery to any Yale library, Z7001 L49 (LC)+ Oversize.

 

 

__________________________________________________

 

In foreign languages

 

 

Bibliografía básica y selectiva de lingüística románica / Dan Munteanu Colán, Rafael Rodríguez Marín. Alcalá de Henares, Madrid : Universidad de Alcalá ; [Las Palmas de Gran Canaria] : Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Servicio de Publicaciones, c2003. Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), PC43 M86 2003.

 

Bibliografía de lingüística general y española, 1964-1990 / Valerio Báez San José ... [et al.]. [Madrid] : Servicio de Publicaciones, Universidad de Alcalá, c1995-<1999> SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), Z7001 B52X 1995 (LC).

 

Bibliografija radova akademika Milke Ivić : u čast osamdeset godina života / Milena Babić. Belgrad : Srpska akademija nauka i umetnosti, 2005. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, P85.I85 B33 2005 (LC).

 

Taschenbuch Linguistik : ein Studienbegleiter für Germanisten / von Wilfried Kürschner. Berlin : Ernst Schmidt, c1994. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, PF3065 K87 1994.

 

Vi︠a︡cheslav Vsevolodovich Ivanov / sostaviteli L.G. Nevskai︠a︡ ... [et al.] ; avtor vstupitelʹnoĭ statʹi S.A. Krylov. Moskva : Nauka, 2007. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, P85.I83 V53 2007 (LC).


Zhong wai she hui ke xue ming zhu qian zhong ping yao. Yu yan xue / ben she she ke bian ji shi zu bian ; ben ce gu wen Wang Jun ; ben ce bian zhu Hong Fan, Zhi Tian. Beijing : Hua xia chu ban she, 1992. LSF- click "Place Requests" for delivery to any Yale library, Z7001 C5 1992 (LC).

 

Z materiałów do słownika bibliograficznego języka rosyjskiego : terminologia lingwistyczna, wybrane terminy wiedzy o kulturze i literaturze, neologizmy, hapaks legomena / Jan Wawrzyńczyk, Eliza Małek. Warszawa : Instytut Lingwistyki Stosowanej Uniwersytetu Warszawskiego, 2004. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, PG2625 .W397 2004 Oversize.