It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Barrington Atlas Map-By-Map Directory (Two-Volumes) by Richard J. A. Talbert (Editor)In 102 full-color maps spread over 175 pages, the Barrington Atlas re-creates the entire world of the Greeks and Romans from the British Isles to the Indian subcontinent and deep into North Africa. It spans the territory of more than 75 modern countries. Its large format (13 1/4 x 18 in. or 33.7 x 46.4 cm) has been custom-designed by the leading cartographic supplier, MapQuest.com, Inc., and is unrivaled for range, clarity, and detail. Over 70 experts, aided by an equal number of consultants, have worked from satellite-generated aeronautical charts to return the modern landscape to its ancient appearance, and to mark ancient names and features in accordance with the most up-to-date historical scholarship and archaeological discoveries. Chronologically, the Barrington Atlas spans archaic Greece to the Late Roman Empire, and no more than two standard scales (1:500,000 and 1:1,000,000) are used to represent most regions. Since the 1870s, all attempts to map the classical world comprehensively have failed. The Barrington Atlas has finally achieved that elusive and challenging goal. It began in 1988 at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, under the direction of the distinguished ancient historian Richard Talbert, and has been developed with approximately $4.5 million in funding support. The resulting Barrington Atlas is a reference work of permanent value. It has an exceptionally broad appeal to everyone worldwide with an interest in the ancient Greeks and Romans, the lands they penetrated, and the peoples and cultures they encountered in Europe, North Africa, and Western Asia. Scholars and libraries should find it essential. It is also for students, travelers, lovers of fine cartography, and anyone eager to retrace Alexander's eastward marches, cross the Alps with Hannibal, traverse the Eastern Mediterranean with St. Paul, or ponder the roads, aqueducts, and defense works of the Roman Empire. For the new millennium the Barrington Atlas brings the ancient past back to life in an unforgettably vivid and inspiring way. Map-by-Map Directory A Map-by-Map Directory to the Barrington Atlas is available online (http://assets.press.princeton.edu/B_ATLAS/B_ATLAS.PDF) and in a separate two-volume print edition of close to 1,500 pages. The Directory is designed to provide information about every place or feature in the Barrington Atlas. The section for each map comprises: a concise text drawing attention to special difficulties in mapping a region, such as extensive landscape change since antiquity, or uneven modern exploration. a listing of every name and feature on the map, with basic data about the period of occupation, the modern equivalents of ancient placenames, the modern country within which they are located, and brief references to relevant ancient testimony or modern studies. a bibliography of works cited. The Map-by-Map Directory is an essential accompaniment to the Barrington Atlas. As a uniquely rich, comprehensive, up-to-date distillation of evidence and scholarship, it has no match elsewhere and opens the way to an immense variety of further research initiatives.
The Biblical World by Jean-Pierre Isbouts; Bruce Chilton (Foreword by)Casting the tumultuous history of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam against the rich canvas of the Near East, The Biblical World reveals how three great religions emerged from the same cradle. Author Jean-Pierre Isbouts employs a non-denominational perspective and a wide range of sources-from ancient hieroglyphic texts to the latest scientific findings-to place Bible stories in the framework of history. Chronologically arranged chapters detail battles, conquests, tribal migrations, natural calamities, and more, supporting the stories with intriguing archaeological evidence. To locate sites and events, National Geographic cartographers have created fifty all-new maps of stunning quality. Hundreds of photographs and artifacts add visual excitement. Quick-read timelines link events across cultures while illustrated sidebars focus on what life was like during each era: family roles, farming, trade, dress, childbirth, burial customs, and other aspects of daily existence. The story traces the evolution of Judaism from Abraham to the Unified Kingdom of Israel... chronicles the emergence of Christianity in the context of Greco-Roman civilization... and identifies the unique circumstances that prepared for the rise of Islam. The multi-dimensional approach weighs similarities and differences among the three faiths and follows developments in nearby lands. With a foreword from bestselling author Bruce Chilton and text reviewed by distinguished advisers, The Biblical World offers a carefully researched, balanced view of history and religious tradition. For its scope, beauty, and relevance in today's world, this unparalleled atlas is destined to become a classic.
The Carta Bible Atlas by Yohanan Aharoni271 two-color maps and text depicting religious, political, military, and economic events of the Old Testament, Second Temple, Intertestamental, New Testament, and Early Church periods in Bible history. Illuminating maps and text are illustrations of statues and likenesses, tools and weapons, coins and artifacts. In addition, there are valuable appendices, a detailed comparative chronology of early civilizations, a key to the maps according to the books of the Bible, and a new index to persons, making this work the most comprehensive Bible atlas available. Book jacket.
Call Number: G2230 .A2 2002 Oversize (Marvin H. Pope Biblical Studies Seminar Room)
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Holman QuickSource Bible Atlas with Charts and Biblical Reconstructions by Paul WrightHolman QuickSource Bible Atlas with Charts and Biblical Reconstructions packs an amazing amount of information about the Bible into a book that's easy-to-carry and easy-to-use. The book opens with an introduction to the physical context in which the events of the Bible took place, the varied climates within this narrow geographical area, the natural and manmade routes that made Palestine the crossroads of the world, and the agricultural/religious calendar that was so integral to life in Israel. The second part of the book is arranged chronologically providing 100+ maps that illuminate the geographical context of major Biblical events.
The Holy Land Satellite Atlas by photography and satellite cartography Richard CleaveThis is a 2 volume atlas consisting mainly of detailed maps showing topography using photographs and satellite cartography. The goal of this work is “to enable interested students to acquire a long-lasting visual familiarity with all the major Biblical sites and geographical features in the Holy Land, to provide a proper understanding of the overall context, for us in other related Bible courses.” The maps were created using both satellite imagery, which shows the terrain but not the elevation, and layer-tint imagery, in which color represents altitude but not terrain. Satellite imagery maps emphasize the present configuration of the area; layer-tint allows the map to show ancient elements unobscured by modern elements. Two periods are covered: Period A, covering “Beginnings to Ezra-Nehemiah” and Period B, covering “Ezra-Nehemiah to Justinian”. Period A maps are depicted using the layer-tint method, and Period B maps use satellite imagery alone. Both volumes have numerous photographic illustrations, although Volume 2 has more photographs by the author of the landscape. There is also a fair amount of text describing the historical background of the locations pointed to on the maps. It’s hard to assess the adequacy of this resource, not having any expertise in cartology or in maps of the Bible. But it appears to be a useful and interesting resource for Biblical studies.
Call Number: G2236.S1 C5 1994 Folio (Marvin H. Pope Biblical Studies Seminar Room)
Oxford Bible Atlas by Adrian CurtisThis is an historical atlas that is based both on the Biblical text and on the findings of modern archaeological knowledge. Maps are accompanied by texts that explicate the biblical context of the map. This is a fairly small atlas: there are 29 maps in all, and all but 4 are in full color. They are fully gridded with fairly readable print that is quite small. Uncertain locations are marked with a question mark. In addition to sections on the geography of Palestine and biblical lands, there is a basic history of Bible times which is keyed to the biblical text. There is also an introductory essay on “Israel and the Nations” and concluding essay on “Archaeology and the Bible”. A list of sources for the illustrations is provided. The illustrations are all in black and white. Gazetteer indicates the map location and also the reference in biblical text. This is a helpful resource for the student of Biblical studies.
The Sacred Bridge : Carta's Atlas of the Biblical World by Anson F. Rainey; Steven NotleyTo meet the need for clear and accurate information, Professors Anson F. Rainey and R. Steven Notley have now come forward with an atlas that traces the course of Near Eastern history from the Chalcolithic Age (c. 3500 BCE) to the defeat of Bar Kochba's fighters and their retreat to the caves east of En-gedi. The product of close cooperation between two distinguished scholars of world renown and the knowledgeable and experienced staff of Carta, Jerusalem, this Atlas provides 300 state-of-the-art maps to show as far as possible in terms of modern knowledge the changes and historical processes that affected the lands of the Bible. Included are all historical and biblical episodes that can be depicted cartographically--migrations and settlements, battles and conquests, the location and detailed movement of individual historical and biblical characters. In addition, The Sacred Bridge--Carta's Atlas of the Biblical World draws on information from all known ancient sources-Egyptian, Assyrian, Greek, Roman and others--to reveal trade routes, economic determinants, and the development of international relations. Maps, many of them never before attempted, are presented chronologically, with extensive interpretive texts alongside. Finds, tools, artifacts, inscriptions and other documents from each period also appear in conjunction with the maps. The ultimate usefulness of any complex reference work depends on its index and its bibliography, and The Sacred Bridge--Carta's Atlas of the Biblical World provides everything that could be asked for in the way of organized assistance to the reader. Each person or site can be located. An invaluable chronological table correlates historical activity in the East (Mesopotamia and Anatolia), the southern Levant, Egypt, and the Greco-Roman West from 2800 BCE to the second century CE. The superb reference sections contain every article, book or document consulted. The extensive index contains every place name that has been mapped and, in addition, names that still defy exact location but can be shown in relation to specific biblical episodes. New Testament geography, especially that of the Gospels, is interpreted in the light of the new understanding resulting from such discoveries as the Dead Sea Scrolls (e.g., the wider use of Hebrew as a social and religious vehicle than heretofore acknowledged). These refreshing insights serve to define geographical terms used in the New Testament and trace their origin. Documents are presented in their original languages and transcribed or translated into English. A special feature of this atlas is the insertion of these texts and their meaning within the narrative proper.
Zondervan Atlas of the Bible by Carl G. RasmussenExplore the lands of the Bible and the history of scripture with unprecedented clarity. This major revision of the Gold Medallion Award-winning Zondervan NIV Atlas of the Bible is a visual feast that will help you experience the geography and history of Scripture with unprecedented clarity. The first section of the Atlas introduces the "playing board" of biblical history. The next section, arranged historically, begins with Eden and traces the historical progression of the Old and New Testaments. It concludes with chapters on the history of Jerusalem, the disciplines of historical geography, and the most complete and accurate listing and discussion of place-names found in any atlas. Unique features include: Stunning multidimensional and three-dimensional maps Over 100 new relevant-to-topic images Revised engaging text Innovative chronological charts and graphics A complete geographical dictionary and index available for in-depth studies The Zondervan Atlas of the Bible is destined to become a favorite guide to biblical geography for students of the Bible. This accessible and complete resource will assist you as you enter into the world of the Bible as never before.
The Atlas of Religion by Martin Palmer; Joanne O'BrienThe world's religions have emerged as one of the greatest geopolitical forces now shaping our lives. Now available in an updated edition, this authoritative atlas is an essential resource for understanding the powerful role of religion around the globe. In an accessible text packed with information, it maps the current nature, extent, and influence of each of the major religions and shows, country by country, how religions are spread through broadcasting, missionary work, schooling, and banking; how they relate to government, laws, and world hunger; and the role they play in wars. It traces the emergence of new religious movements, the survival of traditional beliefs, and the presence of atheism and agnosticism. The Atlas of Religion also locates the origin, the heartland, and the sacred places of each of the major religions and provides essential background with a valuable table showing the fundamental beliefs of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism, and Taoism. Copub: Myriad Editions Limited
Call Number: G1046.E4 O2X 2007
Publication Date: 2007-05-07
Atlas of Religion in China: Social and Geographical Contexts by Fenggang YangThe speed and the scale with which traditional religions in China have been revived and new spiritual movements have emerged in recent decades make it difficult for scholars to stay up-to-date on the religious transformations within Chinese society. This unique atlas presents a bird's-eye view of the religious landscape in China today. In more than 150 full-color maps and six different case studies, it maps the officially registered venues of China's major religions - Buddhism, Christianity (Protestant and Catholic), Daoism, and Islam - at the national, provincial, and county levels. The atlas also outlines the contours of Confucianism, folk religion, and the Mao cult. Further, it describes the main organizations, beliefs, and rituals of China's main religions, as well as the social and demographic characteristics of their respective believers. Putting multiple religions side by side in their contexts, this atlas deploys the latest qualitative, quantitative and spatial data acquired from censuses, surveys, and fieldwork to offer a definitive overview of religion in contemporary China. An essential resource for all scholars and students of religion and society in China.
Call Number: BL1803 .Y335 2018 Atlas stand (Trowbridge Reference Room)
Publication Date: 2018-10-26
Atlas of the World's Religions by edited by Ninian Smart and Frederick W. [i.e. M.] DennyThis superbly illustrated reference work remains the only comprehensive visual guide to the worlds religious traditions. With text by leading experts and lavish photography, thematic maps, tables, and charts, the Atlas of the Worlds Religions, second edition ranges from the travels of theBuddha to the geographical distribution of modern indigenous faiths, providing a full and informative picture of world religion, both past and present.Through almost 200 full-color maps, organized in a beautifully designed series of double-page spreads, this marvelous atlas shows the historical development and present state of all the world's major religions, with color illustrations that show temples, sites, ceremonies and works of artconnected with religious life. The updated and expanded second edition provides a comprehensive overview of the major events over time that influenced the geographical development of the worlds religions, and it provides a global and regional assessment of religion in the modern world. There areeight entirely new double-page spreads that illuminate such topics as the spread of the Latter-day Saints throughout the world, Pentecostal Christianities today (perhaps numbering more than 500 million adherents, or nearly one-fourth of the global Christian population), contemporary diasporiccommunities, South American religions, and much more. The second edition will also include extensive updates to many page spreads, 20,000 new words of text, fresh maps and illustrations, a revised introduction by the new editor, Frederick Denny, an expanded glossary and index, and a list ofadditional resources, all of which further enhance the value of the book.Both a treasury of information and an exhilarating visual feast, Atlas of the Worlds Religions, Second Edition is an essential reference work for anyone interested in faith around the globe.
Atlas of Global Christianity 1910-2010 by Todd Johnson (Editor); Kenneth Ross (Editor)The Atlas of Global Christianity is a thorough visual reference of the changing status of global Christianity over the 100 years since the epoch-making 'Edinburgh 1910' World Missionary Conference. It is the first scholarly atlas to depict the 20th century shift of Christianity from the Global North to the Global South. Contextual information on world issues and world religions is included. The atlas is ecumenical in that it covers every Christian tradition including Anglicans, Independents, Marginals, Orthodox, Protestants, and Roman Catholics. This is the first atlas to incorporate historical essays on Christianity 1910-2010 by scholars from each region of the world. Included is a CD that contains all maps and graphs ready for classroom use.
Historical Atlas of Christianity by Franklin H. Littell; Franklin LittellOstensibly an atlas, Littell’s work is in reality a historical treatment of Christianity that is supported by maps and illustrations. All illustrations and maps are in black and white, and the maps are difficult to read. So much is covered in a limited space, that the treatment is pretty basic and somewhat superficial. The material is arranged under three major headings: “Early Christianity in Its Setting,” “The Christian Roman Empire,” and "The Age of Personal Decision.” This work seems to be aimed at a high school or undergraduate audience, not at graduate level students. If the maps were less fuzzy, it would be a more valuable resource for the number of maps it includes. A person/place/subject index is provided. Also included is a very sparse glossary of “Selected Persons and Concepts”. There is no bibliography. The main use for this resource would be if one wanted to check the chronology of an event, or get a very basic outline of the history of Christianity.
Historical Atlas of the Ancient World by Richard Szydlak (Editor); Anne Wittke (Editor); Eckhart Olshausen (Editor)This new atlas of the ancient world illustrates the political, economic, social and cultural developments in the ancient Near East, the Mediterranean world, the Byzantine Empire, the Islamic world and the Holy Roman Empire from the 3rd millennium BC until the 15th century AD. The atlas has 170 large color maps that document the main historical developments. Each map is accompanied by a text that outlines the main historical developments. These texts include bibliographies and 65 additional maps, tables and stemmata that provide further elucidation.
New Historical Atlas of Religion in America by Edwin Scott Gaustad; Philip L. Barlow; Richard W. Dishno (As told to)Much more than an atlas, Gaustad’s work is rather a study of religion and religious groups in America which is augmented by various maps, charts, and graphs There are 260 full-color maps and 200 graphs. Each religious group receives extensive treatment and each article is followed by a short bibliography. Parts 1 and 2 consist of historical articles on different religious group. Part 3 focuses on “three case studies”: Lutherans, Mormons and Roman Catholics. Part 4 consists of more topical essays (i.e., religion and politics, religion and education, etc.) There are 7 appendices and an index. There is a wealth of information provided in this work and it is an indispensable resource for the academic theological library.