It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a one volume biographical dictionary covering over 270 significant religious figures in American history from colonial times through the late 20th century. Entries are arranged alphabetically by last name and each entry provides the dates the subject was alive, a brief description of who they were (for example, the first entry begins: “Abbott, Lyman (1835-1922) Congregationalist minister, author”) and then is typically followed by a page or two of text describing the person’s life and prominence in the field of religion. Black and white photographs are scattered throughout the text. A brief list of works for “further reading” completes each entry. Cross-references are indicated through small caps. A glossary of terms is provided at the end, most of which will be familiar to graduate students in the field of religious studies. Indeed, the intended audience is not scholars, but “general readers and nonspecialists”. A bibliography of recommended sources is also provided at the end of the volume, as is a list of entries by religious affiliation and a list by birthdate (in groups of 10 years). An index is also provided. This is a biographical dictionary suited more toward the general reader or undergraduate, but not the serious scholar. It may prove somewhat helpful as a starting point for further research.
Mediators is Macquarrie's term for that handful of outstanding human beings who inspired the world's great religions. He provides lucid & readable portraits of 9 outstanding spiritual geniuses whose visions of God have been & still are among the most powerful factors shaping the lives of billions of people, not only in religion, but in morals, politics, culture -- virtually everything that constitutes human existence. The 9 are: Moses, Zoroaster, Lao-zu, Buddha, Confucius, Socrates, Krishna, Jesus, & Muhammad. In each case, Macquarrie describes a historical figure who had a special relation to God or to Holy Being & who left a body of scripture. (Amazon Book Description)
A fascinating look at the founders of the world's main religions. The major religious traditions of the world owe their existence to the vision of an ancient founder. This important volume explores the lives of the five founders of major world religions-Moses, Buddha, Confucius, Jesus, and Muhammad-chronicling what is actually known of these charismatic men and introducing readers to the cultural and religious worlds that heard their messages. Readers in predominantly Christian lands, in addition to learning about the lives of Confucius, Buddha, and Muhammad- whom they might not be familiar with- will also be introduced to modern research now casting fresh light on the careers of Moses and Jesus. Whether studied individually or in comparison with one another, these biographies, together with a chapter on the characteristics of religious leadership, chart the spiritual rivers that continue to feed the diversity of religious expression today. (Amazon Book Description)
An international biographical and bibliographical guide to individuals and organizations interested in the interaction of theology and science. This book contains four directories and a set of five indexes. It includes information about 1086 individuals from the United States and 39 other countries. It also lists 122 institutions, organizations, journals, and newsletters that are concerned with the integration of science and religion. (Amazon Book Description)
The organization of this three-volume encyclopedia is thematic rather than alphabetical, with the emphasis throughout on providing an interpretive, rather than merely descriptive, account of the history of women and religion in North America. Contributors include both academics and activists coming from a range of religious traditions and perspectives, but all share a basic feminist methodological commitment to the significance of women's history and experience. The encyclopedia takes a decidedly feminist approach to the topics covered, but the coverage is not limited to just those religious traditions where feminism has had a significant impact. Indeed, the encyclopedia neither ignores nor dismisses those religious traditions and movements where feminism has either had little influence or where it has provoked a negative reaction. And while this resource does a commendable job of covering women's history in relation to specific religious traditions and movements, it goes a step beyond by also attending to issues of how women's religious commitments and affiliations have affected the larger society and culture of North America. Black-and-white illustrations and photographs are used throughout the volumes, and each entry is followed by a brief bibliographic essay on sources.
This resource covers more than 450 Christian theologians from all historical periods. Each entry sketches the theologian’s education and career, and provides a concise summary of that person’s major works and contributions to theology. Entries are accompanied by short bibliographies, divided into two parts: Part A, listing the most important editions of the theologian’s primary works; Part B, listing secondary works, specifically modern studies of the thinker’s thought and influence. When possible, dates and places of the thinker’s birth and death are provided. The scope is limited to non-living theologians who died before 1994. The intended audience is graduate students in a master’s degree program in theology. There were 97 contributors to this work, and each entry is signed. This is a valuable reference work providing the new student with background into some of the major thinkers in the history of Christian theology.
The arrangement of this encyclopedia is alphabetical by topic. It is intended to be an authoritative, readable and reliable reference source on modern Christian thought. Modern is defined as the period in Western culture beginning with the Enlightenment in the 18th century, and Christian thought is defined broadly as not only theology but also the general economic, social, political and aesthetic perspectives of Christianity in the modern world. The editors attempted to avoid presenting either a liberal or a conservative bias in this work. The intended audience is both students and advanced scholars. The entries that deal with the major schools of thought in modern Christianity provide a review of the important themes, personalities, literature and debates. Other entries cover philosophical movements having an impact on modern Christian thought, such as existentialism, Marxism, etc. There are also entries that deal with the major Christian theologians of the period. Suggestions for further reading are provided with each entry. A glossary of theological terms is included. An index is also provided. Each entry is signed and a list of contributors is provided. Prominent scholars in the field of religious studies make up the list of contributors. This is a helpful reference tool and would be especially useful in obtaining an overview of the various movements, persons, and trends in contemporary Christian theology and ethics.
This Encyclopedia is intended to make information about religion in the South readily accessible. It is intended as a resource for both scholars and laypersons. The Encyclopedia does not claim to be comprehensive in its coverage. Articles are signed, and some, though not all, are accompanied by brief bibliographies. Entries range in length from a few paragraphs to several pages. There is no list of contributors. An index is provided. Basically, this work seems somewhat sketchy in its coverage, but it may still be a somewhat helpful resource for the student investigating religion in the south.
Includes black and white photographs. Accessible and well-written. Good especially for biographical information. However, not comprehensive – a number of key figures appear to be missing: Rev. Eugene Rivers, for example. Also, the choice of categories may be confusing – is Jesse Jackson a politician, a prophet, or a preacher? (here he is categorized as a “prophet” not as a preacher or politician). There is an index, but a list of names and where they appear would also be helpful. In addition to primarily biographical profiles, there is a final chapter covering “Movements, Terms and Events” as well as a “Timeline of African American Religious History.” The overall organization and tone of this work seems appropriate for an undergraduate and high school audience; there is not a great deal of depth here. Nevertheless, this is an accessible introduction to the African American Christian experience. A bibliography (not annotated) is also provided.
Christianity first came to China by way of the Silk Road in the seventh century, and ever since this great and enduring civilization in the heart of Asia has been home to brothers and sisters of Christ.
Christians in China, A.D. 600 - 2000 chronicles the lives of the Chinese faithful who through the centuries have been both accepted and rejected by their own countrymen. It explores the unique religious and political situations in which Chinese Christians, Catholic and Protestant, have struggled to live their faith and give witness to Christ.
This major work covers each of the historic periods in China with a focus on the development of Christianity and its cultural interaction in each period. It shows the evolution of Christianity as it occurred within the People's Republic of China. While telling the stories of various Christians throughout Chinese history, the author tries to answer a few key questions. They are: How the did the Church develop over many centuries in a culture so different from ours? How do Christians in China give witness to their faith? How do they contribute to the life of the universal Church? (Amazon Book Description)
Although the title says “encyclopedia” this work is more a chronology of the history of Christian martyrdom. Each chapter covers a different time period, starting with the New Testament and ending with the 20th century. Within each chapter, coverage is chronological, with the exception of the last chapter, which groups its subjects according geographical location. Background on the historical context for certain aspects of martyrdom is provided through the “Historical features” which are interspersed throughout the text. According to the compiler, the criteria for persons covered was inclusive: “The editorial policy this book takes on this matter is to be inclusive and to include any person who as put to death for their Christian faith…Also included are people who died in the place of others…” Basically, this work provides excerpts from writings about the martyrs. There are around 80 sources drawn from, most notably Foxe’s Book of Martyrs as well the writings of Eusebius. Each chapter provides a detailed table of contents for the chapter. An introduction compiled from the sources used begins each chapter, and then the individual martyrs are covered. The intended audience for this work is less the scholar than it is the believing Christian; nevertheless, this collection of some of the primary historical writings on martyrdom is an excellent resource for the historian of Christianity. A bibliography is provided at the end of the volume, as well as an index.
The Dictionary of Evangelical Biography will help broaden your perspective on the players in the English-speaking world's evangelical movement during the first 150 years of its development. This "who's who" directory features 3,570 biographies of English-speaking evangelical figures from every continent. Researched and written by 344 historians from around the world, this wide-ranging text explores even minor evangelical figures whose biographies are found in no other modern work. It describes individuals from a wide array of denominational backgrounds, including Adventist, Anglican, Baptist, Brethren, Catholic, Church of Scotland, Congregational, Episcopal, Free, Lutheran, Mennonite, Methodist, Moravian, Presbyterian, Quaker, Reformed, Wesleyan, and more. This edition includes an index of subjects arranged by country and denomination and provides resources for further study of individuals associated with the evangelical movement of 1730-1860. (Amazon Book Description)
Today's evangelicals are part of a historical family that has flourished since the 1730s, the decade that marked the rise of evangelicalism in Britain. This evangelical family tree bustles with activity and flourishes with interesting people who have left their mark on church and society. The Biographical Dictionary of Evangelicals offers access to the lives and achievements of the men and women who have shaped this evangelical heritage.Reaching back to the movement's precursors, who appear as early as John Wycliffe in the fourteenth century, the Biographical Dictionary of Evangelicals takes readers up to the present by including figures who were born in 1935 or earlier, such as Billy Graham and Bill Bright.Unlike some biographical dictionaries, in which articles are brief and contain only the most basic biographical data, the Biographical Dictionary of Evangelicals offers more expansive treatments and gives us a fuller sense of the lives and times, challenges and accomplishments of many of the most prominent figures in the history of evangelicalism.Editors Timothy T. Larsen, David Bebbington and Mark A. Noll present the contributions of a wide variety of historians and biographers--many of them significant evangelical leaders in their own right. Contributors include Edith Blumhofer, William Brackney, Timothy George, Staney Grenz, David Edward Harrell Jr., Bruce Hindmarsh, David L. Jeffrey, Tony Lane, Bill Leonard, J. I. Packer, John Stackhouse Jr., Carl Trueman, Geoffrey Wainwright, Marilyn Westerkamp and David Wright.The result is a book that brims with interest while providing reliable historical information. Researchers will value it as a first port of call, and browsers will find themselves delightfully lost in its pages within minutes of entry. (Amazon Book Description)
This dictionary covers figures of historical, literary or religious significance who flourished at any time between 1730 and 1860, and were associated with the Evangelical Movement in the English-speaking world. It provides a comprehensive source of information on figures related to a significant period of Christian history in the West, which is also organically related to that world-wide expansion which has transformed the church in the 20th century. The book shows that in North America, evangelicalism was the dominant religious influence during this period. In Britain, evangelicalism was important both within and outside the Church of England, and outside the religious world altogether, and was in some ways responsible for some of the dominant characteristics of British society, particularly in the Victorian period. It draws together interest in the movement and its branches on the part of historians and social scientists, as well as theologians, church historians and many concerned Christians. The period of 1730-1860 is designed to focus on the middle of the 18th to the middle of the 19th century when there was a reasonably coherent historical phenomenon which can be called the Evangelical Movement. The "English-speaking world" includes Great Britain and all of Ireland, and Britain's colonial holdings: the American colonies (and subsequently the United States), Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the African and West Indian territories and British India. Some non-native English-speakers will be included if they had strong connections with, or exercised notable influence on evangelicalism (such as the Moravian, Count Zinzendorf). The movement touched a variety of people of vastly different background, outlook, church connection, presuppositions and prejudice. Between the dates selected, there is a stream of Christian life in the English-speaking world which displays certain distinctive features which mark it off from the rest of the landscape: the intensification of the Christian life associated with a deep sense of personal guilt and an overwhelming sense of forgiveness through Christ; the application of preaching to conversion and transformation rather than to "duty"; the growing conviction of the universal application of the Christian message (with its inevitable outcome in the missionary movement); the moral radicalism which sprang from a sense of personal accountability; and the new pattern of church relations which produced both ecumenicity and schism, as well as an enlarged conception of ministry and a burgeoning of that organ which the Evangelicals transformed, the voluntary society. Given the multiformity of the movement, the dictionary includes among the evangelicals people who would not have recognized each other as such - Armenians and Calvinists, Churchmen and Dissenters, "Old Lights" and "New Lights". It includes not only figures of the large Churches, but also representatives of small and often forgotten movements which undoubtedly derive from the same main stream as Edwards and Whitefield and the Wesleys: Sandemanians and Walkerites, and members of the Teetotal Methodist Connexion. The dictionary consists of approximately 3500 entries, and represents contributions of over 300 international historians. (Amazon Book Description)
What was distinctive about Christian biography in late antiquity? In this book, Dr Williams examines a range of biographies of prominent Christians written in the fourth and fifth centuries, and suggests that they share a purpose and function which sets them apart from their non-Christian equivalents. This was an age in which the lives of saints first emerged as a literary phenomenon, and a broad perspective on this developing genre is complemented by close readings of more problematic works such as Eusebius of Caesarea's Life of Constantine and the Confessions of Augustine of Hippo. In including such idiosyncratic examples, the aim is to provide a definition of Christian biography which extends beyond mere hagiography, and which expresses a new understanding of the world and the place of individuals within it. It was a world in which lives might be authored by Christians, but could be authorised only by God. (Amazon Book Description)
In 100 A.D., Christianity was practiced only by a small, oppressed minority. Three hundred years later, these facts had changed dramatically, and Christianity had gone beyond simple approval and acceptance to become one of the world's major religions. But this change did not happen easily. The imperial government of Rome, intellectual tradition and battles within the church itself influenced the transformation. Every viewpoint had its champions and opponents, some of whom had a decisive influence on what shape the church would take. Whether they were "defenders of the faith" or those whom history later labeled heretics, they were part of the early evolution of Christianity. Focusing on the years 100-400 A.D., this volume discusses the beliefs and behaviors of more than 50 key and representative figures who played a role in the transformation from primitive Christianity to early Medieval Catholicism. Beginning with the 2nd century Church, it examines the influence of imperial rulers such as Constantine, proponents of the intellectual tradition including Gregory of Neocaesaria and Julius Africanus, and early Bible translators such as Tatian, Origen and Jerome. The work provides an overview of each person's life and in-depth treatment of their influence on the controversies and issues that divided the community of faith over time. The process behind these divisions as well as the typical reactions of different personalities is also a part of this fascinating look at Christian history. (Amazon Book Description)
This is a one-volume biographical dictionary. It would be most useful for ready reference type questions, since the entries tend to be brief (a single paragraph for many of the entries). The strength of the volume, however, is its comprehensiveness: it covers significant persons from all Christian traditions and is not limited either to theologians or ecclesiastical figures. More than 6,500 biographies are provided. The arrangement is alphabetical by name. A list of contributors is provided, but unfortunately, the entries are not signed and there is no indication from the list of contributors which entries each contributor is responsible for. Also, although there is a list of reference works that “were regularly used, by the editor or by contributors, in the production of this text” there are no bibliographies provided with each entry. This is another reason why this volume is best suited to ready reference and would not work so well for the student or scholar seeking further resources on a specific person. There are two indexes provided: an Index of Dates of Death, and an Index of Places of Death.
Pambo, Evagrius, Macarius of Egypt and Macarius of Alexandria, the four fathers presented in this volume, were well-known in Alexandria and Lower Egypt some 1600 years ago. Their lives, brought to fame by Palladius' Lausiac History, provide valuable insight into the Egyptian monastic communities of the fourth century and into the saintly tradition of the Coptic Church. This volume serves as a companion volume to St Macarius the Spiritbearer, also published by SVS Press, which features further insight into Macarius of Egypt. a book within the Popular Patristics series. (Amazon Book Description)
This magnificent new publication distinguishes itself from others by its comprehensiveness, and in its coverage of Eastern, as well as Western, saints. The book contains approximately 7,000 Saints and Blesseds. Entries are placed in alphabetical order according to name. Where there are numerous saints with the same name (for example John) these are now listed chronologically. The entries include date and place of birth and death as well as family background, education, activity for which the saint is remembered, and whether he/she is a patron saint.
In order to be comprehensive, even possibly mythical saints are included--Barbara, Christopher and Katherine of Alexandria, because their stories have been so important in art, literature and popular devotion. This is the most complete and accurate "Dictionary of Saints" available. (Amazon Book Description)
This dictionary contains approximately 350 signed articles with bibliographies from 150 contributors. It is intended to introduce issues of biblical interpretation to general readers. It is more focused on the specific issue of interpretation of the Bible, rather than on its history or content. It covers the schools, movements and periods in the history of biblical interpretation, and the technical terms, and methods used in interpretation. Most of the contributors are prominent British scholars in the field of religion. The arrangement is alphabetical by topic. An index is provided, covering personal names, topics and entries. An index of Biblical references is also provided. The list of contributors indicates the name of the contributor, their institutional affiliation, and the reference to the entries they provided for the volume. Cross-references are indicated by an asterisk within the text, and by a “see also” at the end of the text. This is a good reference resource for the theological library, especially for getting an overview of large issues in the field of Biblical studies such as hermeneutics, exegesis, feminist interpretation, form criticism, etc.
Provides brief biographical summaries of the patristic writers, along with the editions of each writer’s work, English translations, and major studies. An alphabetical listing of the writers covered is provided in the front of each volume, with the corresponding page number for where they are discussed. According to the introduction, “the precise focus of the Handbook is on the academic achievements in the field, that is, on the work of modern “patristic” scholars about ancient Christian exegesis, rather than about ancient Christian exegesis for its own sake.” One goal of the project is to “provide a broader readership with easy access to what has become highly specialized research and, on occasion, even to inform the specialists themselves of what is going on within the discipline.” Part A in Volume I provides an account of the study of patristic exegesis, and Part B covers in more detail the actual patristic writers and, as indicated above, covers the editions where their writings are available, English translations of these writings, and the scholarly studies done. Part B proceeds chronologically, starting with the 2nd century and continuing up through the 7th century. In addition to the Greek and Latin patristic writers, patristic exegesis in Armenian, Georgian, Coptic and Ethiopian is also covered.
Despite the author’s statement in the preface that the approach in this work is not a “strictly scholastic treatment” of the Old Testament, this work is nevertheless an excellent reference work for students in the field. The arrangement of the main part is alphabetical by the name of the Biblical character. The Apocrypha is treated separately from the rest of the Old Testament. In both sections, events relating to specific characters are set out as a straightforward narrative derived from the text, and are written so as to highlight the human interest of the story. Notes and comments are added, where necessary, to fill in the general background of the story or to note any problems of interpretation that have occupied the scholars. The issue of whether the person under discussion really existed in historical fact, or only in folk-mythology is not discussed. The work also includes excellent introductory essays on both the Old Testament and the Apocrypha. These cover the historical setting and scholarly views on the authorship and compilation of these works. The essay on the Old Testament actually provides a lot of useful information about the Bible in general, detailing its development, the canonicity of different books, and the various translations. A chart detailing the chronology of the period covered in the Bible is also provided, indicating the main characters for each period of time. The entries provided here are so clear and well-written that this work is an excellent resource for the academic library.
Interesting resource covering major figures within both the New Testament and the Hebrew Scriptures. Arrangement is alphabetical by name. Each entry typically provides information on the name itself and its etymology, a short synopsis of the Bible story within which the person appears, the historical context, archaeological evidence, and treatment of the person in extra-Biblical sources. A brief list of sources for further reading is also provided. The entries are clear, well-written and well-organized, covering usually a few pages in length. Black and white illustrations are scattered throughout the text. Appropriate for both students and general readers.
The approach of this work on important figures in contemporary theology is more pastoral than scholarly. The author is a minister and states at the outset that the audience for this work is “those who want to participate more fully in the great conversation about the religious concerns which tug at the mind and heart.” Thus, the intended audience is not necessarily an academic or scholarly one. There are no footnotes, bibliographies or indexes, although suggested readings are provided at the end of each chapter, along with discussion questions. The articles do not provide a comprehensive overview of the thinker’s work, but instead focus on a single theme. This resource is most appropriate for a church adult education class, but will be frustrating for the serious scholar.
This reference work provides background on some of the most important theologians of the 20th century. It would be of most use to the student of theology who needs a readable introduction to the important issues and themes of 20th century theology and who wants to get a sense of the significance of a particular thinker. The criteria for selection of theologians are set out in the preface: first, the thinker must have written constructively on a broad range of theological issues, and second, the thinker must be widely studied at present, especially in universities and seminaries. The period covered starts from the end of World War I until the end of the century. Each essay is written by a leading expert in the thinker’s works, and the basic pattern followed in most of the essays is as follows: introduction, survey, content (concentrating on the main issues of a theology, or on particular members of movements), the debate about the content, an assessment of the theology’s influence, achievement, and agenda for the future, notes, and a short bibliography. At the end of the volume there is a list of important dates and a glossary of key words and phrases. Chapters cover various groupings of theologians: i.e., British Theologies, Evangelical and Orthodox Theologies, etc. The epilogue is an essay entitled “Christian Theology at the Turn of the Milenium” written by the editor. A list of contributors is provided and indicates the contributor’s institutional affiliation as well as his or her important publications.
This work provides essays explicating the work of important contemporary theological thinkers. The organization of this work is alphabetical by the last name of the thinker/or by the topic covered (i.e., Asian Theologians). One interesting feature is the “Routes for Reading” section that groups theologians into various categories: geographical, ecclesial, theological family. Entries tend to be 10 or more pages in length. Most essays follow the pattern of a brief description of the life and major works of the theologian, followed by a discussion of the thinker’s theology. Most of the essays provide a select bibliography of the works of the thinkers discussed; however, secondary bibliographies of works about the thinker are not always provided. A listing of contributors is provided. There is no index. This is a work that would prove useful to the student in theology who wants to obtain a basic understanding of the current trends and issues in the theology of the mid-late 20th century.
Living Icons presents an intimate portrait of holiness as exemplified in the lives and thoughts of ten people of faith in the Eastern Orthodox Church. In this inspiring volume, Michael Plekon introduces readers to a diverse and unusual group of men and women who strove to put the Gospel of Christ into action in their lives.
The "living icons" Plekon describes were, among other things, priests, theologians, writers, and caregivers to the homeless and poor. One was an artist who became the greatest icon painter in this century; another was assassinated for his teachings in post-Soviet Russia. These remarkable people of faith lived through times of great suffering: forced emigration, the Great Depression, World War II, and the Cold War. Many of them were criticized, if not condemned, by ecclesiastical opponents and authorities. Yet each demonstrate a unique pattern for holiness, illustrating that the path to sainthood is open to all.
With the fall of state socialism, Eastern Orthodox churches and monasteries are being reopened and receiving renewed interest from believers and nonbelievers alike. Plekon calls to our attention people like Saint Seraphim of Sarov (1759–1832), a monk, mystic, counselor, healer, and visionary; Father Alexander Men (1935–1990), a Russian whose writings after Glasnost ultimately led to his tragic assassination; Mother Maria Skobtsova (1891–1945), a painter, poet, and political activist who was killed in a concentration camp for hiding her Jewish neighbors; and Father Lev Gillet (1893–1980), one of the twentieth century’s greatest spiritual teachers.
Living Icons, which includes a foreword by Lawrence S. Cunningham, brings to life the beautiful, and often unfamiliar, spirituality of the Eastern Orthodox Church through some of its most remarkable members. It shows with simplicity and clarity that Christ and the Gospel are often manifested in extraordinary ways in the lives of ordinary people. (Amazon Book Description)
Arrangement is alphabetical by the name of the saint. Not a terribly scholarly work, this encyclopedia presents the basic official biography of each saint. Accounts that the church have deemed legendary or suspect are noted, but the author does not seem to question official church teaching. Over 400 saints are covered, and include those both in the Roman Catholic and Orthodox Church. Each entry also includes the saint’s feast day, the date beatified (if known), and patronage. Recommendations for further reading are included, but the encyclopedia fails to adequately cite historical sources for the lives covered. Black and white illustrations are scattered throughout. Some longer entries feature further reading citations listing books, journal articles, and Web sites. There are 12 appendixes included in the volume. Three list Doctors of the Church, Fathers of the Church, and canonized popes. Others identify patron saints by topic or place, provide a chronological calendar of feast days, or explain the processes of beatification and canonization. Three are devoted to the Blessed Virgin Mary: feast days, authenticated apparitions, and unauthenticated apparitions. There is one glossary of general terms and another glossary of heresies. A detailed index completes the work.
This is a single volume biographical dictionary providing concise biographical sketches of prominent Catholic men and women. Most of the information is derived from secondary rather than primary sources. Information provided includes the date and place of birth, education, important positions held, activities, examples of significant work, and finally date and place of death of the individual. Entries are arranged alphabetically and are relatively brief. There are no bibliographies provided. There is no index. A timetable of events in American Catholic history is provided, and a list of Catholic presidents and cabinet members, supreme court justices and deceased American cardinals. This work provides basic information but is lacking in any in depth discussion of the individuals. Also, some individuals one would expect to be in a Catholic biographical dictionary are conspicuously absent (Mary Daly, David Tracy, as examples). This resource is good mainly for the basic biographical information it provides.
The first part of this book provides a global survey of Anglicanism, analyzing the evolution of Anglican theology in eight major regions of the world; the second part of the book constitutes a description of nearly 100 Anglican theologians of relevance to the Anglican communion. (Amazon Book Description)
"The Christian Culture Award Gold Medal is bestowed annually on an "outstanding exponent of Christian ideals." Father Murphy and Father W. J. Guinan, C.S.B., then President of Assumption College, co-founded the Award as an outgrowth of the Christian Culture Series to highlight the accomplishments of lay Christians.
In 1941 the first Gold Medal was awarded to Sigrid Undset, the famed Norwegian Nobel Prize novelist and refugee from the Nazis. Since that time the list of those awarded the Gold Medal shows how prestigious it has become. Past recipients include Jacques Maritain, Robert Speaight, Paul Martin, Sr., Dorothy Day, William Kurelek, Marshal McLuhan, Barbara Ward, Jean Chrétien, John Polanyi, Sandra Schneiders, Jean Vanier and Paul Martin, Jr." (Christian Culture Series web page, accessed March 31, 2011: http://www.assumptionu.ca/christian_culture_series.php)