Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Botany and Plant Sciences: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks

This guide identifies major information resources in botany including databases, bibliographies, handbooks, and guides.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, or Handbooks

 

Plants of the World: an illustrated encyclopedia of vascular plants by Maarten J. M. Christenhusz, Michael F. Fay, and Mark W. Chase. 2017 location  Covers evolution of land plants, naming plants, fossil plants, etymology, economic botany, lycopods, ferns, gymnosperms, monocots, eudicots, and more. Includes a glossary and further reading. Indexes by family and common name.

Botanical Latin: history, grammar syntax, terminology and vocabulary by William T. Stearn. 4th ed. David & Charles, 1992. location Includes color terms, a chapter on pronunciation, standard abbreviations, and terminology for describing plants or plant parts.
 
North American Cornucopia: Top 100 Indigenous Food Plants by Ernest Small. CRC Press, 2014. location Includes Photos, maps, family, scientific name(s). Arranged by common name. Plants which "have achieved commercial success or have substantial market potential." 
 
Collegiate Dictionary of Botany by Delbert Swartz.1971 location This is a dictionary of both technical terms and names.
 
Gray's Manual of Botany: a handbook of the flowering plants and ferns of the central and northeastern United States and adjacent Canada by Merritt Lyndon Fernald. 8th ed. American Book Company, 1950. location 1 location 2 Drawings and explanations pertaining to the plant family with a Latin names index. A well known and heavily referred-to source. 
 
Hortus Third: a concise dictionary of plants cultivated in the United States and Canada by Liberty Hyde Bailey and Ethel Zoe Bailey. Macmillan Publishing Co., Inc. and Collier Macmillan Publishers, 1976 location 1 location 2 The scope of this work is established North American horticulture. Entries are arranged alphabetically followed by a glossary.
 
CABI Encyclopedia of Forest Trees compiled by Andrew Praciak, Nick Pasiecznik, Douglas Sheil, Miriam van Heist, Marieke Sassen, Cristina Sousa Correia, Christopher Dixon, George E. Fyson, Keith Rushforth and Claire Teeling. CABI International, 2013 paper ed. location
 
 

 

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Profile Photo
Lori Bronars
Contact:
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111 New Haven, CT 06520-8111

Marx Science and Social Science Library | Yale University Library C38 Kline Tower
Yale University Library


203 432 6213