Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Botany and Plant Sciences: Special Collections Materials at Yale

This guide identifies major information resources in botany including databases, bibliographies, handbooks, and guides.

Special Collections Materials at Yale

 

The Daniel Cady Eaton papers (1834-1895) are available for research. This consists of 14 boxes of correspondence, writings and special files mostly of a scientific nature. These materials may be paged through Orbis from the Library Shelving Facility for use in Sterling Memorial Library Manuscripts and Archives. Call number MS 581. For a fuller description of these materials see the Orbis record at http://hdl.handle.net/10079/bibid/614227

The Alexander William Evans papers (1931-1959) are available for research. This consists of 4 boxes covering correspondence during Evans' term as curator and curator emeritus of the Eaton Herbarium at Yale. Focus is on collecting and identification of species of lichens, mosses, liverworts and other plants. Call number MS 866. For a fuller description of this collection see the finding aid link in the Orbis record http://hdl.handle.net/10079/bibid/613825. Through Orbis these materials may be paged from the Library Shelving Facility for use in Sterling Memorial Library Manuscripts and Archives.

The Arthur William Galston papers, 1938-2007, (some of them) are available for research. The collection consists of 28 boxes (one box is restricted until 1/1/2047 and one accession is restricted until 1/1/2042) including correspondence, course materials, writings and photos from his career as a plant physiologist and as a professor at Yale. Call number MS 1712. Much of this collection can be paged through Orbis for use in Sterling Memorial Library Manuscripts and Archives. For a fuller description of the collection see its Orbis record with a link to the finding aid at http://hdl.handle.net/10079/bibid/1118461

At the Yale Center for British Art, rare books and manuscripts collection, is the compiled herbarium of Miss Elizabeth Rowe. This collection consists of around 500 preserved plant specimens from the mid 1800s in 90 envelopes in a mahogany box, titled Collection of Botanical Specimens.

Travels to discover the source of the Nile: in the years 1768, 1769, 1770, 1771, 1772, and 1773 by James Bruce of Kinnaird is a 5 volume work which includes watercolors of flora and fauna of (now) Ethiopia and Entrea by Luigi Balugani. location 

Flora Londinensis: or plates and descriptions of such plants as grow wild in the environs of London: with their places of growth, and times of flowering ..., 1777-1798 by William Curtis. 6 vols in 3 Beinecke 1976 Folio 26 (non-circulating). There is an online edition, see its Orbis record. 

Curtis's Botanical Magazine, with its color plates, begin in 1787 Beinecke Ruskin Zz787 v1 (1787) - v48 (1821) (non-circulating) and LSF for use in Manuscripts and Archives QK1 C87 (LC) v1 (1787) - v32 (1810), ser 2 v17 (1844), ser 3 v16/17 - ser 3 v18/20. For use in any Yale library v166 (1949) - v 184 (1982 - 1983). Online years 1984 - , see its Orbis record. 

Fern and Flower Album, 1873-1878 by Ann Paley with natural specimens. location

An Arrangement of British Plants According to the Latest Improvements of the Linnaean System by William Withering, 3rd edition, 1796 4 volumes location 1 location 2

 

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Profile Photo
Lori Bronars
Contact:
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111 New Haven, CT 06520-8111

Marx Science and Social Science Library | Yale University Library C38 Kline Tower
Yale University Library


203 432 6213