A History of the Bible As Literature by
Explores the literary ideas of the Bible as they have come into and developed in English culture.
Cambridge History of the Bible, v. 1-3
This work is still the classic treatment of the history of the Bible and its printing. Volume three covers the Reformation and the translation of the Bible into English.
The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary (Online) by
Six years in the making, this state-of-the-art dictionary offers the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship.
Harper Collins Bible Dictionary
This is a concise, one volume reference.
Dictionary of Biblical Imagery by
This unique resource enables the reader to explore the many images used in the Bible (many deriving from everyday life) and their literary and theological use. Emphasis is on their meaning within scripture.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible by
This work provides an overview of each book of the Bible. Each article is followed by a comprehensive, up-to-date bibliography.
A Dictionary of Biblical Tradition in English Literature by
A one-volume reference work. Contains nearly 800 encyclopedic articles. Three detailed annotated bibliographies. Cross-references throughout.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception (Online)
Comprehensively renders the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. Documents the history of the Bible’s reception, not only in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora, but also in literature, art, music, and film, as well as Islam and other religious traditions and current religious movements.
A Dictionary of the English Bible and its Origins by
A helpful handbook for identifying Bible manuscripts, translations and English versions. Entries are short and concise.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved
