Yale University Library Research Guides: Government Documents and Information: United Nations: Home

About the United Nations collection

Yale University Library has been a depository for United Nations programme since 1945. The UN depository collection includes official records of the main organs of the United Nations, periodicals, United Nations Treaty Series, United Nations Development Programme and United Nations Environment Programme publications, other generally distributed documents and publications of the United Nations, and selected sales publications.

Other United Nations depository libraries in the Northeast include Brown, Columbia, Harvard, New York University, and Princeton. Consult the complete list of United Nations depository libraries for more information. While few documents are currently distributed through the Depository Programme, there is a Depository News section that may be consulted.

Featured resources

75 Years, 75 Documents
"To celebrate the 75th anniversary (2020) of the United Nations, the Dag Hammarskjöld Library is presenting an exploration of the seventy key documents that have shaped the United Nations and our world."
League of Nations Archives
Curated by the United Nations that provides links with information on the League of Nations Archive including digitized items.
United Nations Research Guides
The United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library has created excellent research guides on a variety of topics (development, disarmament, human rights, etc.), as well as very thorough resources for understanding UN documentation and how/where to find it. I recommend these guides for anyone undertaking in-depth research with United Nations materials.
Yearbook of the United Nations (back to 1946)
If you're interested in United Nations activities for a particular year, or in tracing activities over time, this is an invaluable reference resource that provides detailed overviews of the UN's work and concerns. Each Yearbook is fully indexed and includes all major General Assembly, Security Council, and Economic and Social Council resolutions. Use the Reader for full-text. Discontinued in 2014.

Yale and Open resources for United Nations research

Access UN's Electronic Resources
Materials in Access UN may be available in full text online, or are available in print or microfiche.
United Nations Documents and Publications, microfiche edition
more...less...
UN Microfiche List
AskDag
Dag Hammerskjold Library FAQ page... use this for a quick search and also as a quick contact with the UN Library
MSSA Search for "League of Nations"
Provides a search of Manuscripts and Archives for League of Nations, narrowed by "Woodrow Wilson." These are print materials and would need to be requested 2-4 days in advance.
Quicksearch League of Nations Author search
Exploration of items at both Yale University Library and the Lillian Goldman Law Library for materials authored by the League of Nations
Quicksearch United Nations Author search
Search of Yale's catalogs (Orbis and Morris) for United Nations authored publications.
UN Digital Library
Catalog of United Nations documents and publications indexed by the UN's libraries in NYC and Geneva; coverage is from 1979-onward, with older documents added regularly. Also provides some full-text access, including resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council from 1946 onward.
UN iLibrary
Free-mium access to publications from the UN. One is able to read online, but download would require purchase.
United Nations Official Documents System (ODS)
Full text of United Nations official documentation, 1993-present with some older materials. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.
United Nations Sales Publications
Browse publications by subject, agency, and more. Some titles are available in full text online; check Orbis to see if Yale has the publication in print.
UN Treaty Series
UN provided database that provides information on multilateral treaties facilitated by the United Nations

Government Documents and Information: United Nations: Home

About the United Nations collection

Featured resources

Yale and Open resources for United Nations research

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries