Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Yale Library

Digital Initiatives : The Q

What's developing? 2013-2014

Here's a list of work on digital collections happening now or about to begin...

 

Materials Sponsor Due Effort
Divinity School Day Missions   NEH 6/2014 delivery system
O.C. Marsh collection - Manuscripts and Archives          YUL 8/2014 delivery system
General collection - "Circ to Pres" YUL 8/2014  delivery system
Kissinger collection donor 8/2015   digitization, delivery system
Jonathan Edwards collection NEH 8/2014   digitization
Yale Daily News Alumni support ongoing   digitization      
Yale Indian Papers Project NEH 8/2015 expanding scholarly annotations
ORBIS-MORRIS Discovery Library IT TBA implementing bento box

 

If you have any questions or want to learn how to add to "The Q", please send email to: michael.dula@yale.edu .

What's digitizing? 2012-2013

Here's a list of digitization activity from 2012-2013...

 

Materials Sponsor Due Effort
Joel Sumner Smith Slavic collection Arcadia 12/2012 delivery system, WorldCat
Divinity School Day Missions annual reports NEH 6/2014 digitization, delivery system
Han Nôm manuscripts - South East Asia collection Arcadia 8/2013 digitization, delivery system
Urdu and Persian holdings - South Asia collection Arcadia 8/2013 digitization, delivery system
Arabic and Persian medical manuscripts - Medical Historical collection Arcadia 8/2013 digitization, delivery system
Divinity School Day Missions periodicals NEH 8/2013 digitization, delivery system
Yale Indian Papers Project - Walpole NEH 8/2013 digitization, delivery system
O.C. Marsh collection - Manuscripts and Archives          8/2013 delivery system   
General collection - "Circ to Pres" 8/2013   delivery system

 

If you have any questions or want to learn how to add to "The Q", please send email to: elizabeth.beaudin@yale.edu .

Read about the projects 2012-2013

Arcadia Year 4 Digitization Projects

As stated in the "Yale University Library Annual Report to Arcadia Year 3" delivered in September 2012, three new digitization projects will take place in Year 4 (September 2012-August 2013):

"

1. Digitization of Han Nôm Handwritten and Woodblock Manuscripts Held in the Maurice Durand Collection

In 1967, the Yale University Library’s Southeast Asia Collection acquired the private collection of Maurice M. Durand, director of École Française d’Extrême-Orient in Hanoi from 1947 to 1957, and a well-known scholar, author, and translator of Han Nôm during his lifetime. The collection contains 197 handwritten and woodblock texts in Han Nôm, a writing method for the Vietnamese language adapted from, and incorporating pure and/or modified Chinese characters developed in the 13th century and used up until the 20th century. The focus of this effort is to create metadata based on the finding aid for the collection, assess material for conservation, digitize the Han Nôm manuscripts and notebooks housed in this collection, and present them through the Library’s website.

 

2. Enriching, Enhancing, and Connecting Yale’s Digital Collections: Yale Persian Collection

Based on lessons learned in the Joel Sumner Smith Arcadia project, Yale Library IT will create a specialized repository for similar digital collections of international materials. This project will select Persian titles, especially those out-of-copyright in the old Yale classification, since many have minimal cataloging and thus low discoverability. The project team will create full level MARC records for the included volumes, identify and execute any necessary preservation, create digital images using external vendors, and ingest images and metadata into the digital collections repository for use by researchers worldwide through the Library’s website.

 

3. Arabic and Persian Medicine: Middle Eastern Texts in a Western Collection

While Yale’s Medical Historical Library is primarily known for its Western emphasis, it also has an important collection of early Arabic and Persian medical manuscripts and books that are underutilized and unknown to scholars who might not think to look for this collection at Yale. This collection reflects the Arabic and Persian intellectual efforts that translated, augmented, and transmitted Greek and Roman medical knowledge to Western societies during the Renaissance. It includes iconic works by authors such as Avicenna and al-Razi. The team will extract existing MARC records from ORBIS representing approximately 25,000 pages, convert these records to the Dublin

Core format, digitize and ingest the page images and metadata into the AMEEL collection, an existing digital repository of academic resources focusing on the Middle East.[1]



[1] AMEEL (Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library) began with funding from the U.S. Department of Education. It holds approximately 250,000 pages of full text, indexed and searchable in the language of publication including Arabic and Western scripts. Please see: http://www.library.yale.edu/ameel.

"