Consists of four volumes with word-by-word translations of Latin (v.1), German (v.2), French and Italian (v.3), as well as Hebrew (v.4) texts. (Music Library Reference section)

This collection provides English translations for the Propers of the Mass. This collection of more than 900 propers is a valuable reference for choral directors and church musicians and is the most comprehensive book of its type. A listing of the feast days of the liturgical year is helpful to church musicians who wish to select music with Latin texts for use in worship services or as an aid for conductors as they program Latin sacred music in concert settings.

(Music Library Reference section)

(Music Library Reference section)

A concise reference tool that brings together definitions of key musical terms, translated foreign terms, examples of usage from orchestral music, and practical vocabulary in multiple languages. Includes biographies of major conductors and other individuals; information on major orchestras, significant ensembles, key institutions and organizations; and practical entries covering baton and rehearsal techniques, bowing terms, information about instruments, voice types and much more. In a series of appendixes, also covers such topics as orchestral works that changed the art and practice of conducting, a short historiography of conducting, a comprehensive bibliography, a look at conducting recitative, and a list of pitches, interval names, rhythmic terms, orchestral and percussion instrument names, and finally translations of all of these categories of information into French, German, Italian, and Spanish.

Examines choral music and practice in the Western world from the Medieval era to the 21st century, focusing mostly on familiar figures like Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, and Britten. But its scope is considerably broader, and it includes all sorts of music-religious, secular, and popular-from sources throughout the world. It contains a chronology, an introduction, a bibliography, and more than 1,000 cross-referenced dictionary entries on important composers, genres, conductors, institutions, styles, and technical terms of choral music.

Gives examples of classical music from the Middle Ages through modern times pertaining to the Bible, and also numerous entries on hymns, spirituals, musicals, film music, and contemporary popular music. Each entry contains essential information about the original context of the work (date, composer, etc.) and, where relevant, its afterlife in literature, film, politics, and liturgy. It includes an index of biblical references and an index of biblical names, as well as a detailed timeline that brings to the fore key events, works, and publications, placing them in their historical context. There is also a bibliography, a glossary of technical terms, and an index of artists, authors, and composers.

Covers terminology related to the Protestant church. Includes more than 300 terms. (Music Library Reference, Divinity Library Reference sections)

(Music Library Reference section)

This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Sacred Music contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 800 cross-referenced entries on major types of music, composers, key religious figures, specialized positions, genres of composition, technical terms, instruments, fundamental documents and sources, significant places, and important musical compositions. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about sacred music.

A dictionary of Catholic church music. (Library Shelving Facility, available by request)

A dictionary that covers a range of religions including Christianity and Judaism. (Music Library Reference section)