Concise and engaging, this text covers a wide range of reference sources for research in all genres of music. Through this practical introduction to the key concepts of music research, students will develop a firm understanding of the tools used to gather data, including what types of sourcesexist, how they are arranged, and how they may best be used to do research.

A great guide to music resources and music research in general. Contains annotated bibliographies of dictionaries, encyclopedias, periodical and dissertation indexes, thematic catalogs, music histories, music literature, and more. Includes sections on library catalog searching, style manuals, and citations. (Music Library Reference section)

Another comprehensive guide to reference sources and research in music. (Music Library Reference section)

A comprehensive guide to the literature on choral music in the Western tradition. *Annotated bibliographic entries - *Topics within choral music, individual choral composers, regional and sacred choral traditions, choral techniques, choral music education, genre studies, - *Monographs, bibliographies, selected dissertations, reference works, journals, electronic databases, and websites - *Indices of authors, titles, and subjects - *The latest scholarship, and updated references and annotations

Examines the development of choral music from the beginnings of choral polyphony in the fifteenth century through the Renaissance and Baroque eras into the sacred works of the Classic-Romantic age. It reflects the dynamic nature of the changing face of European culture, the decisions contemporary scholarship has made regarding the essential compositional genres, and a consensus of the major composers within each area.

Explores the various genres, key composers and influential works essential to the development of the Western choral tradition. Divided into two volumes, covering medieval music and the Renaissance era up to the 21st century, volume 2 begins at the transition from the classical era to the Romantic