Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Faculty Guide to the Yale University Library: Useful Databases & Online Tools

Orbis & MORRIS

Orbis is the Yale Library's online catalog of books, periodicals, government documents, musical scores and recordings, maps, databases and other content. MORRIS is the catalog of the Yale Law Library.

 

Citation management programs: RefWorks, EndNote and Zotero

The Yale Library offers complimentary access to two popular reference management programs, RefWorks and EndNote. EndNote is available in two versions: a web version and as a downloadable program via the Yale Software Library.  (Zotero, another popular citation manager, is available for free as a download; see the Zotero website.)

Digital Collections

The Yale Library's Digital Collections database contains over half a million images from many different Yale collections, including the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Manuscripts & Archives, the Lewis Walpole Library and others. Viewing of many of these images from off-campus requires a VPN connection.

Yale Library Subject Guides

YUL's Subject Specialists/Liaisons have compiled online subject guides to help faculty and students make sense of Yale's rich and diverse library collections. 

Copyright and Fair Use Information

The Samuelson Law, Technology & Public Policy Clinic at the University of California, Berkeley School of Law has created a useful handbook, Is It In The Public Domain?, for determining whether material published in the United States between 1923 and 1977 is out of copyright.

Yale's Office of the General Counsel has a useful Copyright: Introduction page designed specifically for Yale faculty. The OGC also has a website describing the University's Copyright Policy as well as information on Academic Copying and Student Course Packets.

For other issues concerning copyright and fair use, please consult with your Subject Specialist or Library Liaison.

Off Campus Access

Yale VPN

Be sure to download and use the Yale VPN (virtual private network) if you are accessing library materials off campus.