Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Faculty Guide to the Yale University Library: Teaching with Collections

Class Visits to the Libraries

The Yale Library welcomes requests from faculty to bring students to the collections. Please contact us at least two weeks in advance of your planned visit. For undergraduate courses, please contact Emily Horning; for graduate courses, please contact your Subject Specialist or Liaison.

The Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library also welcomes Yale faculty and teaching fellows who would like to incorporate special collections materials into their courses. The Beinecke has four classrooms of varying sizes and curators and public services staff who can help you navigate the collections. To request a session, please visit Teaching at Beinecke or email your questions about the program to beinecke.library@yale.edu.

 

Librarian/Archivist Visits to Your Class

Faculty may also wish to have a librarian, archivist or curator come speak to your students about relevant research collections, primary source materials, research strategies, online databases, and tools such as Zotero, RefWorks or EndNote. Those teaching undergraduate courses should contact Emily Horning, the Director of Undergraduate Programs. For graduate-level courses, consult your Subject Specialist or Liaison.

Online subject guides for your courses

If a classroom visit is not feasible, there are other options. We can create an online Subject Guide tailored specifically to your course, to point your students to important databases for their research papers, citation tools for their bibliographies or "Works Cited" lists, and general research help.

Examples of Subject Guides created for Yale courses:

HIST 127J/WGSS 427: Witchcraft in Colonial America (Rebecca Tannenbaum)

CLSS 851/HIST 515: Theory and Methods in Ancient History (Joseph Manning)

A Tumblr created for HIST 133J: The Creation of the American Politician, 1789-1820 (Joanne Freeman)

Subject Guide