Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Animal Behavior - Selected Library Resources: Selected Books & Call Number Ranges for Browsing

This guide covers databases, LC call number ranges, and major resources for research in animal behavior.

Selected Books and Call Number Ranges for Browsing

 

Animal Behavior: concepts, methods, and applications 2014 location

Animal Cognition: evolution, behavior & cognition 2013 location

Pheromones and Animal Behavior: chemical signals and signatures 2nd ed. 2014 location

Introduction to Behavioural Ecology 4th ed. 2011 location

Animal Behavior: an evolutionary approach 10th ed. 2013 location

Animal Behavior: a beginner's guide 2013 location

Animal Behavior Desk Reference: a dictionary of animal behavior, ecology, and evolution 2011 paper ed. location

Principles of Animal Behavior 3rd ed. 2014 location

Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior 2010 location 

Chimpanzees of Gombe: patterns of behavior 1986 location 1 location 2 

Cultured Chimpanzee: reflections on cultural primatology 2004 location 

Chimpanzees of the Lakeshore: natural history and culture at Mahale 2012 location 

Orang-utan Behavior 1980 location 

Gorilla Behavior 1982 location 

Primate Ontogeny, Cognition and Social Behaviour 1986 location 

The Encyclopedia of Animals: a complete visual guide 2004 location

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia 17 volume 2nd ed. 2003 paper ed. location

An Introduction to Animal Behavior 6th ed. 2012 location

An Introduction to Zoology: investigating the animal world 2013 location

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (multivolume set) current, signed articles, started in 2002

Walker's Mammals of the World 1999 (includes photo of each species) location

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America multi-volume set

Handbook of the Birds of the World/Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive 1992-2006 12 volumes paper ed. location

Guide to Marine Mammals of the World 2002 paper ed. location 

National Audubon Society Field Guide to Fishes 2002 location

Fish Behaviour 2008 paper ed. location

The Diversity of Fishes: biology, evolution, and ecology 2009 location

Encyclopedia of Ecology 2008 location

Birds of North America Online online edition of multivolume set, current

Birds of North America 2009 location

National Geographic Complete Birds of North America 2006 location

Dictionary of Zoology 2009 paper ed. location

Butterflies of North America 2003 location

Tracks & Sign of Insects and Other Invertebrates: a guide to North American species 2010 location

Annelids in Modern Biology 2009 location

Ecology of Insects: concepts and applications 2008 location

National Audubon Society Field Guide to Fishes rev. 2nd ed. 2002 location

Firefly Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians 2008 location 

Chasing Doctor Dolittle: learning the language of animals 2012 location

 

Library of Congress call number areas (for book browsing)

  • QL700-QL739.8 Mammals
  • QL737 P9 Primates
  • QL750-QL795 Animal Behavior
  • QL671-QL699 Birds
  • QL614-QL639.8 Fishes
  • QL640-QL669.3 Amphibians and Reptiles
  • QL360-QL599.82 Invertebrates   

 

 

Science Research Support Librarian - Life Sciences

Profile Photo
Lori Bronars
Contact:
219 Prospect St., PO Box 208111 New Haven, CT 06520-8111

Marx Science and Social Science Library | Yale University Library C38 Kline Tower
Yale University

Office hours: Mondays 10:15-11:15 am BASS 205 (when classes are in session)
203 432 6213