Skip to main content

Citation Management : New RefWorks

A guide for all things citation management.

What is New RefWorks and how do I access it?

New RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that is free for Yale affiliates. Its best feature is Google Docs integration. Its key limitation is that you have to be online to use it. Access it at https://refworks.proquest.com/.

Set up an account in New RefWorks

  1. Start at https://refworks.proquest.com/
  2. Enter your Yale email address and click "check"
  3. Create a password
  4. Validate your account (RefWorks will send you an email to click on)
  5. Install three useful tools
    1. Save to RefWorks browser bookmarklet for every browser you use
    2. RefWorks Citation Manager for Word
    3. RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs

Get help with New RefWorks

New RefWorks User Guide

Training videos

Use the help icon  when you are in New RefWorks to access the Knowledge Center, watch video tutorials, or contact support.

Switching from Legacy RefWorks to New RefWorks

Have you been using Legacy RefWorks? Check out the information here as you prepare to upgrade: https://knowledge.exlibrisgroup.com/RefWorks/Product_Materials/Upgrade_Toolkit/Upgrading_to_the_(New)_RefWorks_(User)

Documents created in Legacy RefWorks with Write-N-Cite are not compatible with New RefWorks. You can upgrade documents created in Legacy RefWorks to be compatible with New RefWorks. Always save a copy first!

Talk to your librarian if you have questions.

Add reference to New RefWorks

Add references while browsing the internet

Install the Save to RefWorks browser plugin first.

  • Make sure your browser's favorites toolbar is showing.
  • In Refworks, select Tools > Tools.
  • Select Install Save to RefWorks.
  • A dialog box appears. Drag it to your browser's favorites toolbar.
  • Click anywhere on the page to close the dialog box.

After the browser plugin is installed, make sure you're logged in. Go to a webpage that contains a citation or information about a citation. On your browser's favorites toolbar, select save to RefWorks. You can select the citation(s) you want, edit them if necessary, and add them to your RefWorks collection.

Add references from bibliographic databases or other citation managers

From your favorite database or from another citation manager, export records in RIS format. This is great for batches of records.

Add references by searching external databases from within RefWorks

In the left sidebar, select search databases. Run a search. Select the results you want to add, and select import. This feature is good for adding known references to your RefWorks collection; for broad searches about a topic, you may want to use the search and filter features of your favorite database. Some external databases, like JSTOR, even have a built-in export-to-RefWorks feature.

Create references manually

This is a last resort! It's better to import references than to create them. But if you have to, select Add > Create new reference. Start entering information about the citation. New RefWorks will try to identify the document you are describing. When all the information is there, click save

Add citations from your New RefWorks collection to a document

Add citations to a Google Doc

Install the RefWorks Add-on

Open a Google Doc. Select Add-ons > Get Add-ons. Search for refworks. Select Free and Allow to add RefWorks for Google Docs

Open the RefWorks sidebar in Google Docs

Open a Google Doc. Select Add-ons > ProQuest RefWorks > Manage citations. Enter your RefWorks credentials.The sidebar will appear. 

Insert a reference in Google Docs

Put the cursor where you want the citation to go. Open the RefWorks sidebar.  Select a reference and select cite this. This will insert an in-text citation at the cursor's location and insert a bibliography at the end of the document.

Add citations to a Word document

Install the RefWorks Citation Manager (this is the New RefWorks version of Write N Cite)

In Microsoft Word, select Insert > Store and search for refworks. Select Add in the row for RefWorks Citation Manager. It will open in the right sidebar. If you close the sidebar, you can get it back by selecting Insert > My Add-ins > RefWorks Citation Manager.

Insert a reference in Microsoft Word

Put the cursor where you want the citation to go. Open the RefWorks Citation Manager and log in with your RefWorks credentials. Select the reference and select Quick Cite. This will insert an in-text citation at the cursor's location and insert a bibliography at the end of the document.