It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide focuses on the many Drama-related resources, in print and online, available via Yale University Library.
Most of the resources listed are subscription access only and thus limited to current Yale students, faculty, and staff. You must be connected to the Yale network on campus or via one of our authentication methods--see Off-Campus Access for details. If you do not have a current Yale NetID, please visit the Arts Library in person.
Please contact me if I can help you with your research!
Robert B. Haas Arts Library
Yale'sArts Library, linking Rudolph Hall and the Loria Center at 180 and 190 York Street, serves as the primary collection for the study of art, architecture, and drama at Yale. The Arts Library contains approximately 150,000 onsite volumes including important reference works, monographs, exhibition catalogs, and print periodicals, as well as digital resources, including online periodicals, article indexes, and databases. Arts Library Special Collections features artists' books and volumes on the book arts, fine printing, typography, and illustration, as well as archival materials and thesis projects from the Schools of Art, Architecture, and Drama. An additional 300,000+ volumes are stored in the offsite Library Shelving Facility for quick delivery to any Yale Library via Eli Express.
Drama Online includes full text of plays ranging from Aeschylus to the present day. It includes non-English language works in English translations, scholarly and critical editions, first night program texts, critical analysis, and contextual information. L.A. Theatre works. Additional media within Drama Online includes L.A. Theatre Works audio plays and streaming video of Hollow Crown and Shakespeare's Globe on Screen.
Digital Theatre Plus provides online access to streaming video of current British and global theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate understanding of the productions and texts.
Performing arts periodicals database provides indexing and abstracts for international periodicals in the arts and entertainment industry, as well as full text for selected journals. Subjects include: dance, drama, theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, and television. Coverage is from 1864 to the present.
IBTD began as a project initiated by the American Society of Theatre Research, and now comprises a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated database of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance.
Contains the Berg Fashion Library, the full text of the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, images, e-book and e-journal content related to fashion, and the Fashion Photography Archive. Browse chronologically and geographically, or search across thousands of images.
Over three million images, many from museum collections, searchable by keyword and browsable by medium, time period, etc. Register and log in to download JPEGs to your computer. Create your own details by zooming in and downloading JPEGs of zoomed-in views.
Most of the resources listed here are subscription access only and thus limited to current Yale students, faculty, and staff. There is no separate login, but you must be connected to the Yale network on campus or connect remotely via EZproxy or VPN--see Off-Campus Access for details. If you do not have a current Yale NetID, please visit the Arts Library in person.