Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Theater Studies and Dance: Images and Media

A guide to print and online resources available through the Yale University Library for drama, theater, dance, and the performing arts in general.

Images

Artstor
Over three million images, many from museum collections, searchable by keyword and browsable by medium, time period, etc. Register and log in to download JPEGs to your computer. Create your own details by zooming in and downloading JPEGs of zoomed-in views.

Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Contains the Berg Fashion Library, the full text of the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, images, e-book and e-journal content related to fashion, and the Fashion Photography Archive. Browse chronologically and geographically, or search across 7000+ images.

Vogue Archive
Every page of every issue of Vogue Magazine from 1892 to the present, digitized and indexed by photographer, model, author, designer, etc.

Harper's Bazaar Archive
Every page of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from 1867 to the present.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Theatre, Music and Literature
Collections of digitized primary-source material from the long 19th century, including "British Playbills 1754-1882" and the "Drury Lane Theatre Archive." These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions.

Yale University Library Digital Collections
Searches across digital images in Yale library collections, including the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the Yale Visual Resources Collection, Manuscripts and Archives, the Yale Daily News Archive, and many others.

Watson Library Digital Collections from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Digital images and publications from the Met's collections, including exhibition catalogs from the museum's history, rare books, and sketches, photographs, and fashion plates from the Costume Institute.

Folger Shakespeare Library Digital Image Gallery
Free and open access to over 50,000 digitized objects from the Folger Shakespeare Library's collections, including photographs, books, theater memorabilia, and manuscripts.

New York Public Library Digital Collections
Free and open access to over 800,000 digital images from the NYPL collections, including the Mid-Manhattan Library's Picture Collection.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog, Library of Congress
Catalog of over 14 million items held by the Prints and Photographs division of the Library of Congress, with digital access to over 1 million items.

College Art Association: Image Sources and Rights Clearance Agencies
Listing of reputable sources of free images from libraries and museums, including many public-domain and open-access images.

Britannica ImageQuest
Search across millions of images from Britannica Digital Learning.

LIFE Magazine
Searchable, browsable digital versions of issues 1936-1972, hosted by Google.

Media

Met Opera on Demand
More than 450 recordings of Metropolitan Opera productions, in streaming HD, video, or audio, dating from the 1930s to the present.

Digital Theatre Plus
Streaming video of full plays, musicals, and operas from contemporary British companies, plus educational materials about the plays and their creative and technical production.

Drama Online
Along with playscripts and ebooks, Drama Online now includes video and audio from the National Theatre CollectionGlobe on ScreenL.A. Theatre Works, and more.

Electronic Arts Intermix Educational Streaming
More than 500 full-length videos from EAI's extensive catalog of video, media, and performance art from the 1960s to the present.

OntheBoards.tv
Streaming HD video of contemporary dance, theater, and music performances from Seattle-based company On the Boards.

Kanopy Streaming
On-demand streaming of thousands of documentaries, indie films, classics from Criterion Collection, BBC, PBS, and many others. 

Theatre Online: Theatre in Video
More than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, totaling more than 500 hours of streaming video representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.

Dance Online: Dance in Video
Five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Music and Performing Arts
Searches across the following Alexander Street Press databases (some are individually linked above):

  • African American Music Reference
  • American Song
  • Classical Music in Video
  • Classical Music Library
  • Classical Music Reference Library
  • Classical Scores Library
  • Contemporary World Music
  • Dance in Video
  • The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
  • Jazz Music Library
  • Opera in Video
  • Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Medici.tv
Over 1600 videos of opera, ballet, and classical music concerts, along with documentaries and artist profiles. Search and browse by artist, composer, director, etc.

Naxos Video Library
Over 1580 full-length videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Search and browse genres, composers, labels, artists, and production personnel.