Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Theater Studies and Dance: General Reference

A guide to print and online resources available through the Yale University Library for drama, theater, dance, and the performing arts in general.

If there's "No Full Text Available" for your article...

Not everything is online, and this is especially true in the humanities. Go to Quicksearch or Orbis and search the title of the journal as a Journal Title. All available formats (print, electronic, or microform) and issues held by the library will be listed in your search results.

 

If the journal title or issue you want is not owned by the Yale University Library, place a request via Interlibrary Loan using the citation you found in the article database.

General Online Reference Databases

American National Biography Online
More than 18,700 entries on significant figures in American history and culture.

Blackwell Reference Online
Large general reference source focused on the humanities and social sciences.

Marquis Biographies Online
Includes Who's Who biographical listings back to 1989, over 1.5 million entries.

Oxford Art Online
Full-text online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art, plus the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, and other reference sources. Includes images and bibliographies for further reading.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Over 58,700 entries on significant figures in British history and culture, from the Romans to the 21st century.

Oxford Music Online
The online version of three music encyclopedias: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, including work lists and bibliographies.

Oxford Reference
Cross-searches over 2 million entries in sources such as the Oxford English Dictionary, the Oxford Companion to American Theatre, and the Oxford Dictionary of Plays. These reference titles can also be searched and browsed individually.

Shakespeare on Film, Television, and Radio
An international database of Shakespeare-related content maintained by the British Universities Film and Video Council.

Arts Librarian

Profile Photo
Lindsay King
Contact:
Associate Director for Access and Research Services,
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
Website