Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Theater Studies and Dance: Primary Sources

A guide to print and online resources available through the Yale University Library for drama, theater, dance, and the performing arts in general.

Primary Sources at Yale

Many special collections repositories within the Yale Library system house rare and unique materials related to drama and theater studies. Highlights from Arts Library Special Collections, Manuscripts and Archives, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, and the Yale Center for British Art appear below.

Search for particular productions, people, etc. in collections across campus via Archives@Yale. Keep in mind that many of these materials are stored offsite and require placing requests at least a day or two before you can see them in a reading room. Most collections allow you to bring cameras to photograph materials, but please consult individual repository locations about details and duplication services.

Arts Library Special Collections

Many of the collections from the former Drama Library are now housed in Arts Library Special Collections. See the pages below for details on our holdings:

Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library

Arts Librarian

Profile Photo
Lindsay King
Contact:
Associate Director for Access and Research Services,
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
Website