Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PUBLIC HEALTH HISTORY
Dirt and Disease by
Call Number: Hist RA644 P9 R64 1992
Publication Date: 1992-05-01
Dirt and Disease is a social, cultural, and medical history of the polio epidemic in the United States. Naomi Rogers focuses on the early years from 1900 to 1920, and continues the story to the present.
Research using Yale's libraries and resources
- Orbis, Yale's library catalog, to find books, journals, and other materials. Try a variety of keywords, thinking of terms like letters, diaries, journals, etc. Or, do a subject browse by selecting "Subject Browse" in the drop-down box next to the search.
- Worldcat for finding collections around the world. This catalog of catalogs is built from the records of many libraries, so use this to find books, papers, dissertations, online resources, and other materials, especially if you are having difficulty locating materials in Orbis.
- JSTOR for scholarly journal articles
- America History and Life for scholarly journal articles
- Historical Abstracts for history outside the United States.
- History of Science, Medicine, and Technology for history of medicine. HSTM indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book chapters, book reviews and dissertations in the history of science, medicine, and technology and allied historical fields. It draws from bibliographies from major journals, such as Isis, Technology and Culture, etc.
- Project Muse for a variety of scholarly articles in the humanities and social sciences.
- Academic Search is a larger database that goes through a number of current periodicals, scholarly, popular and trade.
- Articles+ for a variety of articles and newspapers on your topic, past and present (think of this like Google Scholar, except better connected to Yale!)
Primary sources at Yale
Archives at Yale for papers of individuals or groups involved in Public Health
Research guide on Contemporary Medical Care and Health Policy collections, which have some major public health players.
The Contemporary Medical Care and Health Policy Collection Subject Guide is an annotated list of personal papers and organization records in Yale's Manuscripts and Archives which document the development, evolution, and politics of health care and health policy in the United States during the twentieth century.
The Medical Historical Library has materials from Ira Hiscock and C.E.A. Winslow, involved in the founding of Yale's School for Public Health.
Articles+ for primary sources in newspapers and journals
PubMed for medical research