Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Materials, Research Tools and Images
Ancient Americas at LACMA
Provide the highest level research and information on the Ancient Americas. Contains maps, 3-D models and image databases such as the Linda Schele drawings archive and the Mexican codices which are searchable. Zapoteca Effigy Vessel database of line drawings is also available. Access to field-based forums. From the LA County Museum of Art.
Architecture, Restoration, and Imaging of the Maya Cities of Uxmal, Kabah, Sayil, and Labna - the Puuc Region, Yucatan, Mexico
Extensive documentation of ancient Maya sites at Uxmal, Kabah, Sayil, and Labna. Includes 19th and early 20th century drawings, prints, and photographs, as well as more than 1,000 recent photographs. An extensive annotated bibliography is also included.
BDMx - Biblioteca Digital Mexicana
Digitized codices from Pre-Columbian, Colonial, Independent and Revolutionary periods in Mexican history.
Catálogo en Linea, Museo Larco.
Also contains a login for scholars that allows power users to add additional comments and observations for objects of interest. Sign in to annotate
Codex Zouche-Nuttall (British Museum)
A high-resolution scans of the original Codex Zouche-Nuttall, a pre-Columbian painted manuscript housed in their collection.
Colección virtual, Museo de Arte de Lima.
MALI site includes virtual collections of their pre-Hispanic artifacts.
Collections Database, American Museum of Natural History.
Access to their Anthropology Collections Database. Filter by country, culture, etc.
Collections Search, Museum of Fine Arts Boston.
Images including extensive information on each of its Maya vases.
Códices de Mexico (Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia)
Digitized codices found in (INAH) archives and libraries. Provides free high-resolution images of the codices as well as interpretive material on the works and their long history of study.
Digitized Codices (LACMA)
High quality digitization of Maya and Aztec codices.
Dumbarton Oaks: Pre-Columbian Collection
A digitized collection of objects from Mesoamerica, the Andes, and the Intermediate Area of Latin America.
FAMSI (Foundation for the Advancment of Mesoamerican Studies)
Conference reports, bibliographies including the Bibliografía Mesoamericana, digitized codices, the Piedras Negras photo archive, Mayan Museum Database and many other resources.
Maya Dechipherment Blog
Written by David Stuart, with contributions by leading epigraphers publishes epigraphic discoveries, mysteries, and observations
Site contains scholarly publications, site informes, notes, and reports. Includes an encyclopedia and other resources.
Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Provides substantial information on its collection of Latin American ancient art.
Museo Nacional de Antropología (MNA)
Mexico's MNA collection can be viewed online.
Precolumbian Portfolio (FAMSI)
A photographic collection of artifacts and sites from the Ancient Americas. Photographs by Justin Kerr, well known for creating visual documentation of ancient artifacts.
Schele Drawing Collection
An archive of drawings by the late Linda Schele of nearly 1000 illustrations.
Zapotec Effigy Vessels
Assortment of line drawings capturing hundreds of examples of ancient Zapoteca artistic expression
Art of the Ancient Americas collection at Princeton University Art Museum
Digital images of over 750 objects from the museum's ancient American art holdings. Browse images or search by culture or object type.