Yale University Library Research Guides: Agriculture: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Agriculture Subject Guide. In this guide you'll find:

links to major encyclopedias and dictionaries
links to taxonomy resources
links to statistics, market reports, and data resources
links to major journals in agriculture held by the library

About this Guide

This guide is intended to give users a starting place for Agricultural research at Yale. Yale does not have an agriculture program but many areas of study at Yale have interests in agriculturally-related materials.

Studies at Yale that may include sectors of Agriculture

Economics
Planning
Business
Political Science
Forestry
Sustainability
GIS
Global Change
Environmental Health
Rural Sociology
Anthropology

Purchase Request

To submit a collections purchase request to the library click here: Purchase Request. A library selector will be in touch with you.

Highlighted Resources

These databases are good places to start your research. Visit the Journals & Databases tab for even more sources.

CAB Direct
CAB Direct with the Archive, gives access to literature from 1912 onwards, with over 380,000 abstracts added each year. Its gives comprehensive international coverage of the applied life sciences includes agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition.
It includes less well-known and non-English journals and those published by independent and learned publishers. With publications from over 120 countries in 50 languages, it includes English language abstracts for most articles offering the fullest global picture for any subject.
ProQuest Natural Science Collection
The Natural Science Collection includes the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, Biological Science Database, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
PubAg
Unveiled March 2016 - PubAg is the USDA National Agricultural Library's search system for agricultural information (nutrition, food, animal and crop production, natural resources, sustainable ag, rural development, ag economics, statistics, imports/exports)
as of May 2016 it contained 1.23 million citations (42K full-text) with intention of adding 20,000 new citations each month
AgEcon Search
AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.

Yale Related Programs

Yale School of the Environment
This Yale professional school, founded in 1900, is the oldest continuously active professional school of forestry in the United States. Forestry studies are classically considered a part of agriculture. There is a special area within the study termed as Agroforestry.
Agrarian Studies
This Yale Program is an interdisciplinary one with the goal of assisting scholars to understand rural life and society which cover the areas of poverty, subsistence, cultivation, justice, art, law, property, rural life, cooperation, resource uses, and state action.
Yale Sustainable Food Project
This project works to draw meaning from the connections among people, land and food. They support exploration and academic inquiry related to food and agriculture and how food we eat and its production involve world health, culture, the environment, education, and the global economy.
Institution for Social and Policy Studies
Areas of study include Food & Agriculture.
UConn Rudd Center for Food Policy & Obesity
Program dealing with public health as related to food policies.

Social Science Librarian, Research Engagement

Rachel Sperling

Email Me

Contact:

Marx Science and Social Science Library

203-436-5912

Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, Environmental Studies, Global Affairs

Agriculture: Home