Yale University Library Research Guides: Agriculture: Journals & Databases

CAB Direct (aka CAB Abstracts)
The Premier Agricultural database in the world with over 11 million records + 360,000 added each year.
Contains: Forestry Abstracts; Forest Products Abstracts; Agroforestry Abstracts; Leisure & Tourism Abstracts; Crop Science Database; Environmental Science; Nutrition and Food Science; Rural Development; Soil Science; Agricultural Economics
It is also CAB's Global Health database

In order to access these resources, you must be within the Yale network. This means either on campus and logged in with NetID or by use of the VPN/AnyConnect application to remotely enter into the network.

ProQuest Natural Science Collection
This database combines the ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection, the Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts, Biological Science Database, Water Resources Abstracts, EIS: Digest of Environmental Impact Statements, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Pollution Abstracts, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database into a single search platform, with coverage from 1946-present.
Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Dissertations contain extensive, focused bibliographies
If DAI has scanned fulltext, Yale has access to it

Open Access Databases

AgEcon Search
Free Open Access repository of full-text literature, developed by the University of Minnesota Library. Contains over 75,000 publications.

These databases are available for anyone to use. Make sure that you look to see if they have links to fulltext.

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
This is not a database, but is the main page for Agricultural information for Canada.
AGRIS
AGRIS is another FAO resource for searching for papers, data, statistics, multimedia material. Review the How It Works page for help.
AGRIS is a collaborative network and bibliographic database of over 7 million records with links out to web resources when available.
FAO Corporate Document Repository (CDR)
Search box is found on left column. use this search for either the CDR or the FAO website. For advanced search, click on 'More Search Options'
National Agricultural Library Digital Collections
U.S.D.A. National Agricultural Library digital collection materials includes historical and current materials. It is not comprehensive for all USDA output.
National Ag Safety Database
"NASD is an information clearinghouse for agricultural safety related documents." A NIOSH project.
PubAg
Unveiled March 2016 - PubAg is the USDA National Agricultural Library's search system for agricultural information (nutrition, food, animal and crop production, natural resources, sustainable ag, rural development, ag economics, statistics, imports/exports)
as of May 2016 it contained 1.23 million citations (42K full-text) with intention of adding 20,000 new citations each month
Science.gov
Gateway to U.S. Federal Science - use the Advanced Search
U.S. Forest Service Treesearch
This is the database of all USFS produced publications
USDA/CRIS
USDA Current Research Information System: 'provides documentation and reporting for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the United States Department of Agriculture; with a focus on the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) grant programs. Projects are conducted or sponsored by USDA research agencies, state agricultural experiment stations, land-grant universities, other cooperating state institutions, and participants in NIFA-administered grant programs, including Small Business Innovation Research and Agriculture and Food Research Initiative. '

Agriculture: Journals & Databases

Major Journals

Yale only Databases - limited to Yale community

Open Access Databases

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries