Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19 UPDATE

Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.

German Language and Literature: Literary News and Podcasts

Library resources for German language and literature at Yale

Reviews

Berliner Literaturkritik Rezensionen

 

Buchhandel.de Rezensionen

 

Buchkritik.at Rezensionen

 

Reviews from Deutschlandfunk Büchermarkt

 

Literaturen – Das Journal für Bücher und Themen

Offers interesting articles on current topics, as well as monthly reviews of books by German and international authors.

Literaturkritik.de: Rezensionsforum für Literatur und für Kulturwissenschaft 

A free monthly publication that provides full-text online access to academic reviews of thousands of new releases on literary and cultural topics. The latest issue can be found here, but one can also browse through the archive of older issues, available here.

Rezensionsnotizen von perlentaucher.de

Overview of all literary reviews published over the past 6 days in leading German newspapers and magazines. Reviews are grouped by newspaper title and topic/genre.

Spiegel-Rezensionen

Notable German literary prizes

Der Deutsche Buchpreis

Awarded annually for the best German language novel.

Der Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels

An international peace prize given yearly at the Frankfurt Book Fair in Frankfurt am Main. It is awarded to a public figure who, through his/her activity in the fields of literature, science, or the arts, has fostered the idea of peace.

Der Georg-Büchner-Preis

Germany's most prestigious award for literature.

Der Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis

Awarded yearly in Klagenfurt, Austria during a publicized event which lasts several days. It is one of the most important awards for Germanophone literature.

Der Kleist-Preis

 

Der Lessing-Preis für Kritik

 

Der Nelly-Sachs-Preis

Awarded every 2 years for outstanding literary contributions to the promotion of understanding among peoples.

Der Paul-Celan-Preis

Awarded for an extraordinary literary translation into German.

Der Preis der Leipziger Buchmesse

Honors new publications in the following categories: fiction, non-fiction, essay writing, and translations.

Der Schiller-Gedächtnispreis

Awarded every 3 years for outstanding work in literature or the humanities, be it an individual piece or an author's lifetime activity.

Der Theodor-W.-Adorno-Preis

Awarded every 3 years in recognition of extraordinary achievements in philosophy, music, theater, and film.

Thomas-Mann-Literaturpreis der Bayerischen Akademie der Schönen Künste

Awarded for lifetime achievement in literature.

Interesting resources

Deutsche Kultur International

The official portal and directory for German arts and culture, published online under the imprimatur of the Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations and supported by the culture section of the Federal Foreign Office. The website covers areas such as... "the German language and literature at home and abroad; exhibitions of German art worldwide and art from abroad in Germany; support of artists in the fields of fine arts, music, dance and theatre" and "the relevant libraries, multimedia services and documentation centres for German culture". Not all texts and directory entries are in English, although a great many are. For many users the most useful part of the website will be the comprehensive list of forthcoming conferences, exhibitions, and events relating to German culture - as well as an A-Z directory of official German arts and cultural organisations.

European Book Club

A book club created jointly by the Austrian, Czech, French, German, Italian, Norwegian, Polish and Spanish cultural institutes in New York City. The Club meets monthly in a different cultural institute to discuss a well-known, contemporary novel of the respective country.

Germany in NYC

An online guide to "all things German in New York City," most notably to ongoing and upcoming cultural events (lectures, movie screenings, musical and theater performances, etc).

Goethe Institute in New York

 

Literaturport

Berlin-based Internet portal to German literature, with individual author portraits, as well as audio and reading samples.

Neue Galerie  

A museum of early twentieth-century German and Austrian art and design located in New York City.

Tatsachen über Deutschland

An online version of the reference book by the same name. The book publishes up-to-date, reliable information on many aspects of German life, both past and present. Facts and figures are divided into categories: foreign policy; economy; modern life; political system; culture and media; federal states; society; education and research; and history. Each chapter contains articles by well-known authors, who give insights into modern day Germany, providing their views on political, social, and economic developments. These keynote articles are accompanied by relevant facts and figures. In the section entitled "Culture and Media", users can locate information on literature; theatre; music; the press; cinema; fine arts; Internet; and broadcasting.

Various literary resources provided by the Goethe-Institut

 

WESS German Studies Web

List of various resources pertaining to German Studies, grouped by topic.

Words without Borders

An online magazine which translates, publishes, and promotes the finest contemporary international literature. Every month, in their online magazine, they publish eight to ten new works by international writers. To date they have published well over 1,000 pieces from 114 countries and 80 languages. In addition to producing the magazine, they also partner with publishing houses to release print anthologies.

Podcasts

Author interviews as audio podcasts from Deutsche Welle

The oldest available interview is with Max Brod (1884). Other famous interviewees include Elfriede Jelinek,  Dieter Kühn, Ulrich Plenzdorf, Christa Wolf, Günter Grass, Martin Walser, Siegfried Lenz, Friedrich Dürrenmatt, Peter Weiss, Elias Canetti, Nelly Sachs, and Erich Kästner.

Der Podcast des Literatur-Cafés

 

Podcasts on cultural topics from Bayerischer Rundfunk

 

Podcasts on cultural topics from  Deutsche Welle

 

Podcasts on cultural topics from Deutschlandradio

 

Podcasts on cultural topics from Norddeutscher Rundfunk

 

Podcasts on cultural topics from WDR 3 Radio 

 

Podcasts on literary topics from Podcast.de

Hörbuch und Hörkunst in Deutschland (via Goethe-Institut)

Nachrichten von Deutsche Welle

This an excellent resource for intermediate & more advanced learners of German. Each news segment can be downloaded in an MP3 or WMA format, spoken either at a normal or slow pace. A written transcription accompanies each newscast and can be printed by users.

Popcast with current music from Germany

Lesung.podspot.de

Readings of poems and excerpts from classic literary & philosophical works by German writers.

Literatur-podcast.de

Readings in German of famous works of world literature. Podcasts are free to download, but one must first install a podcatcher (e.g. Apple iTunes) on one's computer, then sign up for newsfeeds from Literatur-podcast.

Sprechbude.de

Audio readings by actors & actresses of texts written by famous authors of German literature.

Süddeutsche Zeitung

Swiss Library for the Blind

Each month one short story is made available in audio format and can be downloaded free of charge for 3 months.

Thesaurus Librorum 

Vorleser.net

Literary News

Berliner Literaturkritk Nachrichten

 

Börsenblatt für den deutschen Buchhandel

Specialized magazine on the German book industry. 

Buchreport

Specialized magazine on the German book industry, with bestseller lists, directory of publishing houses, etc. 

Frankfurter Allgemeine Bücher

 

German Book Office in New York

Founded in 1998 as a non-profit organization, this project of the Frankfurt Book Fair acts as a bridge between the German and American publishing industries. The GBO provides information on the Frankfurt Book Fair, offers American editors an overview of newly released German-language titles, organizes readings, discussions and seminars designed to stimulate interest in German literature, and even offers a translation grant in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut (the Helen and Kurt Wolff grant).

Goethe-Institut New York

 

Goethe-Institut (German page)

 

Literarisches Colloquium Berlin

 

Das Literatur-Cafe

 

New Books in German

A twice yearly journal aimed at editors in the UK, the US, and in other countries, who would like to publish more translations from German into English. It provides a selection of contemporary literature from Austria, Germany and Switzerland, reviews, as well as features on many aspects of the publishing scenes there, portraits of authors and news of forthcoming publications in English translation.

Perlentaucher  

 The largest cultural online magazine in German language with a daily overview of media and cultural events, as well as of book reviews published in a range of main German newspapers.

Spiegel Online Kultur (with a special literary section available here)

 

Tagesspiegel Kultur (with a special literary section available here)

 

Welt Online Kultur (with a special literary section available here)

 

Zeit.de Kultur (with a special literary section available here)