Skip to main content

European History: Books in Library catalogs

Library resources for Western European history at Yale

Digital Versions of Books

Google Books
Search through the full text of millions of books. Tips:

  • Use "Advanced Book Search" to limit your search by date, search only in the title or author fields, limit to books written in French only, etc.
  • Many books still in copyright will not be fully readable online. To find a print copy of any book, click on the "Find this book in a library" link on the right-hand side of the page.

Yale Library - Orbis
Yale has paid for electronic access to many books that are not available for free elsewhere. To see if Yale has your book online:

  • Go to Orbis and then to "MORE LIMITS"
  • Under "Medium" select "Electronic Resource"

HathiTrust.org
Search through most of Google Books, plus material from the Internet Archive and dozens of research libraries.

 

Specialized Databases
There are many databases that are not crawled by Google that allow you to search through digitized versions of books, including:

  • Gallica: About 1 million books from the Bibliotheque Nationale
  • Early European Books: Several thousand books published in Europe pre-1700. (So far, only includes books from Copenhagen and Florence; more books are in the process of being added.)
  • Early English Books Online: Digitized versions of a large portion of all the books published pre-1700 in Britain
  • Evans: Digitized versions of 40,000 titles published pre-1800 in America

Search for Books Worldwide

            List of archives.

formerly Gabriel, Gateway to Europe's National Libraries.

The European Library offers free access to the combined resources of the national libraries of Europe. You can search cross-library or make a specific selection. There is a wealth of information about each collection and its services at this site. The site provides a list of links to the online services of each library, the information pages of the national libraries, exhibitions and many other options.

Union Catalogs and Groupings per country

.

USA / Canada

Search the holdings of almost every library in the United States and Canada, as well as selected European libraries.

Austria

Belgium

Denmark

France

Germany

Iceland

Ireland

Italy

Luxemburg

Netherlands

Norway

Portugal

Scandinavia

Spain

Sweden

Switzerland

United Kingdom

National Libraries Worldwide

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_national_libraries
Links to nearly every national library, worldwide. Once you get to a library's home page, look for its catalog.