Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

French Language and Literature: Bibliographies

Library resources for French language and literature at Yale

Francophonie

Here you can find a selection of French bibliographies for francophone countries:

Littératures africaines à la Bibliothèque nationale: catalogue des ouvrages d'écrivains africains et de la littérature critique s'y rapportant entrés à la Bibliothèque nationale / établi par Paulette Lordereau. Paris: La Bibliothèque, 1984- (in 2 vols.: [1] 1973-1983 -- [2] 1920-1972) SML, Stacks, LC Classification. Z7106 B54X 1991 (LC)

 

Bibliographie de la critique sur les littératures maghrébines / Charles Bonn et la Coordination internationale des chercheurs sur les littératures maghrébines. Paris: L'Harmattan, 1996. LSF, Z3515 B66 1996 (LC)


Cooperative Africana Microform Project (CAMP) [electronic resource]

 

Bibliographie méthodique de la poésie maghrébine de langue française: 1945-1989  / Nicola D'Ambrosio. Fasano, Br, Italia: Schena; Paris, France: A.-G. Nizet, 1991. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, Z3515 D35X 1991 (LC)

 

Bibliographie critique de la littérature judéo-maghrébine d'expression française: 1896-1990 /  Guy Dugas. [Paris]: Université Paris-Nord; [Alger]: Université d'Alger; [Paris]: L'Harmattan, 1992. SML, Judaica Collection, Z3515 D84X 1992 (LC)


Electronic Journal Of Africana Bibliography
  [electronic resource]


Journal of Commonwealth literature. no. 1- 1965- Oxford, England: Hans Zell Publishers.
[electronic resource]

 

Women writers in Francophone Africa / Nicki Hitchcott. Oxford; New York: Berg, 2000. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, PQ3980.5 H57 2000

LITAF: Littérature Africaine Francophone [electronic resource]

 

Bibliography of African literatures / Peter Limb and Jean-Marie Volet. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1996. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), Z6514 C7 A38X 1996 (LC)

 

Notre librairie. 62- 1981-  [Paris]: C.L.E.F. SML, Stacks, LC Classification. PQ3980.A1 N6

Postcolonial African writers: a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook / edited by Pushpa Naidu Parekh and Siga Fatima Jagne ; foreword by Carole Boyce Davies; Emmanuel S. Nelson, advisory editor. London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). PL8010 P585X 1998. Also available as online book.
______________________
  Canada

Bibliographie de la critique de la littérature québécoise et canadienne-française dans les revues canadiennes / René Dionne et Pierre Cantin. [Ottawa]: Presses de l'Université d'Ottawa, 1988-. SML, Stacks, LC Classification. Z1377 F8 D56 1988 (LC)

 

Dictionnaire des auteurs de langue française en Amérique du Nord / Réginald Hamel, John Hare, Paul Wyczynski. [Montréal]: Fides, [1989] SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) PQ3900.2 H36 1989

_______________________   

The Caribbean

 

Caribbean writers: a bio-bibliographical-critical encyclopedia / editor, Donald E. Herdeck, associate editors, Maurice A. Lubin ... [et al.], Margaret Laniak-Herdeck; Washington: Three Continents Press, 1979. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). PN849 C3 C3

 

The complete Caribbeana, 1900-1975: a bibliographic guide to the scholarly literature / Lambros Comitas; under the auspices of the Research Institute for the Study of Man. Millwood, NY: KTO Press, 1977. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z1595 C63 (LC)

 

Writers of the Caribbean and Central America: a bibliography / M. J. Fenwick. New York: Garland, 1992. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) Z1595 F46X 1992 (LC)

 

A bibliography of the Caribbean / Marian Goslinga.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1996. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) Z1595 G68X 1996 (LC)

________________________
Country Bibliographies

Algeria / Richard I. Lawless. Rev. ed. Oxford, England; Santa Barbara, Calif.: Clio Press, 1995. (World bibliographical series; v. 19 ) SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z3681 L378 1995 (LC)

 

Québec / Alain Gagnon.  Oxford, England; Santa Barbara, Calif.: Clio Press, 1998. (World bibliographical series; v. 211 ) .SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z1392 Q3 G34 1998 (LC)


The Maghreb / Anthony G. Pazzanita, compiler. Oxford, England; Santa Barbara, Calif.: Clio Press, 1998. (World bibliographical series; v. 208). LSF, Z3515 P39 1998 (LC)

_________________________

Other countries are also represented in SML's collection. To locate other titles, use Advanced Search in Orbis with: keywords (name of country) and Series keywords: world bibliographical series 

How to find bibliographies in Orbis

There are several ways to find bibliographic resources at Yale.  One of the most effective is to run the following (or similar)  "subject" searches in order to find a list of bibliographies in Orbis:

All literary periods

Here you can find a selection of general sources spanning more than one century. Bio-bibliographies containing substantial bibliographical listings are also included here.

 

Bibliographie de la littérature française du moyen age à nos jours. Paris: Librairie A. Colin.  SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), Z2171 B552 (LC)

 

Biographie universelle ancienne et moderne [par] J. Fr. Michaud. Graz, Akademische Druck- u. Verlagsanstalt, 1966-70. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, On order.

  

A concise bibliography of French literature / Denis Mahaffey. London; New York: Bowker, 1975. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z2171 M33 (LC)

 

A critical bibliography of French literature. Syracuse, N.Y.: Syracuse University Press, 1947-1994. Edited by David C. Cabeen and Jules Brody. SML, Stacks, Yale Classification, X565 947c 4A

 

French language and literature: an annotated bibliography / Fernande Bassan.  New York: Garland, 1989. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z2175 A2 B39X 1989 (LC)

 

French literature: an annotated guide to selected bibliographies / Richard Kempton.   New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1981. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), Z2171 A1 C34 1981 (LC)

 

French women writers: a bio-bibliographical source book / edited by Eva Martin Sartori and Dorothy Wynne Zimmerman. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). PQ149 F82 1991

 

Guide to theses and dissertations : an international bibliography of bibliographies / by Michael M. Reynolds. Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 1985. LSF, Z5053 R49 1985 (LC)+ Oversize

Klapp-Online. Comprehensive and authoritative bibliography of all periods of French literature from medieval through contemporary. Klapp Online contains a database covering the years from 1991 to the present. The 1956-1990 years have been retrodigitised and made accessible in the form of a searchable PDF file.

Manuel de bibliographie littéraire pour les XVIe, XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles français / Jeanne Giraud.   Paris, J. Vrin, 1939-1970. LSF, Z2171 G57 (LC)

The Medieval period

Here you can find a selection of French bibliography for the Medieval period:

 

Bibliographie de l'histoire médiévale en France (1965-1990) / textes réunis par Michel Balard. Paris: Publications de la Sorbonne, 1992. SML, Stacks, LC Classification. Z2188 C55 B53X 1992 (LC)

 

Bibliographie des romans et nouvelles en prose française antérieurs à 1500 / Brian Woledge. Genève, Droz, 1954. Widener: 37530.140. SML, Stacks, LC Classification. Z2174 F4 W65 (LC)

 

Bibliographie des romans et nouvelles en prose française antérieurs à 1500. Supplément, 1954-1973 / Brian Woledge. Genève : Droz, 1975. SML, Stacks, LC Classification. Z2174 F4 W65 Suppl. (LC)

 

La littérature occitane du Moyen Age bibliographie sélective et critique / Robert A. (Robert Allen) Taylor. Toronto; Buffalo: University of Toronto Press, 1977. LSF, Z7033 P8 T38 (LC)

 

Ma bibliothèque poétique. Éditions des 15e et 16e siècles des principaux poètes français / Jean Paul Barbier. Genève, Droz, 1973- LSF, Z2174 P7 B37 1973 (LC)+ Oversize

 

Manuel bibliographique de la littérature française du moyen âge / Robert Bossuat.  Melun: Librairie d'Argences, 1951. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), Z2172 B67 1951 (LC)

 

The medieval literature of western Europe; a review of research, mainly 1930-1960 / John H. Fisher, ed.  [New York] Published for the Modern Language Association of America by the New York University Press, 1966. SML, Stacks, LC Classification, PN671 F57

 

Medieval studies: a bibliographical guide / Everett U. Crosby, C. Julian Bishko, Robert L. Kellogg. New York: Garland Pub., 1983. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z5579.5 C76 1983 (LC)

 

Serial bibliographies for medieval studies / Richard H. Rouse.   Berkeley, University of California Press 1969. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z6203 R66 (LC)

The 16th century

Here you can find a selection of French bibliography for the 16th century:


Bibliographie internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance. 1- 1965-Genève, Librairie Droz. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z6207 R4 B53 (LC)

 

Bibliographie de la littérature française du seizième siècle / Alexandre Cioranesco; collaboration et préface de V.-L. Saulnier. Paris: C. Klincksieck, 1959. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) Z2172 C56 (LC)

 

A checklist of editions of major French authors in Oxford libraries, 1526-1800 / David H. Thomas. Oxford: Voltaire Foundation, Taylor Institution, 1986. LSF - PQ226 Z99 T56 1986

 

Ma bibliothèque poétique. Éditions des 15e et 16e siècles des principaux poètes français / Jean Paul Barbier.   Genève, Droz, 1973-2007. LSF, Z2174 P7 B37 1973 (LC)+ Oversize

 

Les sources de l'histoire de France, XVI siècle (1494-1610) par Henri Hauser. Paris, Alphonse Picard et fils, 1906-15. Nendeln, Liechenstein, Kraus Reprint, 1967. LSF, Z2176 .S75 1906 (LC)

The 17th century

Here you can find a selection of French bibliography for the 17th century:

 

Bibliographie de la littérature française du dix-septième siècle / Alexandre Cioranescu. Paris: Editions du Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1965-1966, c1965-c1967. SML, Starr Main Referenc eRoom. Z2172 C563 (LC)+ Oversize (Non-Circulating)

 

L'ère baroque en France : répertoire chronologique des éditions de textes littéraires / Roméo Arbour. Genève : Droz, 1977-1985. LSF, Z2172 A72 (LC)

 

French 17. v. 26- 1978- Fort Collins, Colo., Published for Seventeenth Century French Division of Modern Language Association of America by Colorado State University. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) Z2172 M6 (LC) Oversize

 

Mazarinades: a catalogue of the collection of 17th-century French civil war tracts in the Houghton Library, Harvard University / edited by James E. Walsh. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1976. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z2181 M47 H33 1976 (LC)

 

Les muses classiques: essai de bibliographie rhétorique et poétique: 1610- 1716 / Bernard Beugnot. Paris: Klincksieck, 1996. SML, Stacks, LC Classification. Z7004 R5 B48X 1996 (LC)

The 18th century

Here you can find a selection of French bibliography for the 18th century:

 

XVIIIe siècle : bibliographie
Voilà un outil visant à faire connaître, le plus rapidement possible, les ressources imprimées et électroniques sur la littérature française du dix-huitième siècle. La bibliographie couvre la fin du XVIIe siècle jusqu'au début du XIXe siècle. Créée en 1992, elle a été réalisée et est mise à jour à partir d'ouvrages bibliographiques courants. L'auteur invite les personnes travaillant sur cette époque à télécharger gratuitement son travail sur leur poste. Les mises à jour sont fréquentes (une dizaine de fois par année). Réalisé par : Benoît Melançon, Département des littératures de langue française, Université de Montréal (Québec, Canada)

 

Bibliographie du genre romanesque français, 1751-1800 / Angus A. Martin. London: Mansell, 1977. LSF, Z2174 F5 M37 (LC)+ Oversize

 

Bibliographie de la littérature française du dix-huitième siècle / Alexandre Cioranescu. Paris: Editions du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, 1969. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z2172 C564 (LC)+ Oversize

 

Bibliographie d'ouvrages français en forme de dialogue 1700-1750 / D. J. Adams. Oxford: Voltaire Foundation, 1992. SML, Stacks, LC Classification PQ2105 A2 S88 293


La face cachée des Lumières: recherches sur les manuscrits philosophiques clandestins de l'âge classique / Miguel Benítez.   Paris: Universitas, 1996. LSF, DC33.4 B46 1996

 

______________________

History/Philosophy

 

Bibliographie annuelle de l'histoire de France. 1- 1953/1954- Paris, Editions du Centre national de la recherche scientifique. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) Z2176 B53(LC)

 

Bibliographie de la philosophie. Bibliography of philosophy. 1- 1954- Paris: Librarie Philosophique J. Vrin.SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating), Z7127 B525 (LC)

 

Le siècle des lumières: bibliographie chronologique / Pierre M. Conlon. Genève: Droz, 1983-. SML, Stacks, LC Classification Z2162 C65 (LC)

The 19th century

Here you can find a selection of French bibliography for the 19th century:

 

Balzac aux U.S.A.: recensement annuel pour L'Année balzacienne de travaux sur Honoré de Balzac entrepris aux Etats-Unis (1998+)


French XX bibliography. no. 21- 1969- New York: French Institute-Alliance Française. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z2171 F74 (LC)

 

Bibliographie des revues et journaux littéraires des XIXe et XXe siècle / Jean-Michel Place.  Paris: Editions de la Chronique des lettres françaises, 1973-1977. 3 v. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating).  Z2173 P53 (LC)

 

Bibliographie des auteurs modernes de langue française, par Hector Talvart et Joseph Place. Paris, Éditions de la Chronique des lettres françaises, 1928-1976. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z2171 T16 (LC)

 

Bibliographie de la littérature française de 1800 à 1930 / Hugo P. (Hugo Paul) Thieme.  Paris: E. Droz, 1933. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z2171 T45 1933 (LC)

The 20th century

Here you can find a selection of French bibliography for the 20th century:

 

Bibliographie des auteurs modernes de langue française, par Hector Talvart et Joseph Place. Paris, Éditions de la Chronique des lettres françaises, 1928-1976. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating) Z2171 T16 (LC)

 

Bibliographie des revues et journaux littéraires des XIXe et XXe siècle / Jean-Michel Place.  Paris: Editions de la Chronique des lettres françaises, 1973-1977. 3 v. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z2173 P53 (LC)

 

France-actualité. v.1-v.3; 1978-1980. Québec, Microfor. LSF, AI7 F73 (LC)+ Oversize

 

French XX bibliography. no. 21- 1969- New York: French Institute-Alliance Française. SML, Starr Main Reference Room (Non-Circulating). Z2171 F74 (LC)

 

French periodical index. 1973/1974-1995. Morgantown, W.V. [etc.] Ponchie & Co. SML, Stacks, LC Classification. Z6956 F8 F74 (LC)

 

Index analytique. v. 1-6, no. 10; 1966-72. Québec, Les Presses de l'Université Laval. SML, Starr Main Reference Room, Index Case (Non-Circulating). AI7 I53 (LC)+ Oversize

 

Periodex. Index analytique de périodiques de langue française. v.1-11(1972/1973-1983) [Montréal] Centrale des bibliothèques, Ministère de l'éducation. SML, Starr Main Reference Room, Index Case (Non-Circulating) AI7 P47 (LC)+ Oversize

 

Point de repère. Refonte auteurs microform. 1984-1999. Montréal, Qué.: Centrale des bibliothèques. SML, Starr Main Reference Room, Index Case (Non-Circulating). AI7 P47 (LC)+ Oversize

 

Les revues littéraires éphémères paraissant à Paris entre 1900 et 1914 : répertoire descriptif / Roméo Arbour. Paris: J. Corti, 1956. SML, Stacks, Yale Classification Xa36 F6 956A