It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A collection of library resources social, cultural & linguistic anthropology, archaeology and physical anthropology for the countries of Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Viet Nam, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Brunei, the Philippines and Timor Leste
"The ABIA Index covers publications on pre- and proto-historical archaeology, historical archaeology, ancient and modern art history, material culture, epigraphy, paleography, numismatics and sigillography of South and Southeast Asia and of culturally related regions: Afghanistan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Tibet, the 'Silk Road', South China and the Pacific. The Index covers scholarly publications from 1996, ranging from survey works and monographs to articles in journals and monographs, reviews and PhD dissertations. The ABIA Index provides detailed bibliographic (with the original diacritics) as well as annotations for each of the publications covered. Indexes by author, subject, and geographic area further facilitate searches. While the database is in English, publications originate from a multi-lingual palette, ensuring both variety and broad scope"--Opening screen.
From website: "The South and Southeast Asia Video Archive has three principal objectives: first, to produce archival master tapes of the highest possible quality; second, to produce circulating copies which will be loaned to scholars throughout the country; and third, to catalog and publicize the collections broadly. The intent of the project is not just to make current materials available, but to house masters in a preservationally sound manner."
Through funding provided by the The Henry Luce Foundation, Inc., the University of Pennsylvania Museum created a website in 2002 for the dissemination of scholarship on the archaeology and anthropology of Southeast Asia. Since late 2013, The Institute for Southeast Asian Archaeology (ISEAA) has assumed responsibility for content and technology updates.
The project currently has four components:
•A web-based searchable bibliography of references related to Southeast Asian archaeology and ethnography. The bibliography is capable of exporting selected references to the user’s word processing or bibliography program
•Downloadable tables of human skeletal data from Ban Chiang and Non Nok Tha, along with data recording forms
•A searchable and downloadable database of stratigraphic, typological, and analytical data on all metals, crucibles, molds, and slag found at the sites of Ban Chiang, Ban Tong, Ban Phak Top, and Don Klang, along with data recording forms
•Multilingual archaeological vocabulary lists
Created by Ohio University, contains indexes of articles in journals, monographs, and conference papers on Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei and other Southeast Asian countries. Cross disciplinary, including anthropology subjects.
"TMA, acronym for Institute of the Malay World and Civilization, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM), promotes multi-disciplinary research on the Malay world. To-date, writings, published and unpublished, on Malay World Studies are scattered in various forms and under a number of different fields of studies and disciplines. As the corpus of such knowledge increases and becomes more varied, one major challenge is to provide a fast and efficient information retrieval system to fulfill the needs and requirements of researchers and scholars in Malay World Studies. This portal is set up to broaden and deepen research on the Malay world studies."
"PapuaWeb is an information network for students, researchers, development workers, community leaders, government agencies and others working on issues relevant to Papua, Indonesia (formerly Irian Jaya). The University of Papua, Cenderawasih University and the Australian National University, the project hosts, welcome contributions of research materials to enhance the resources of this website."
From website: "The KSC Orang Asli Archive (OAA) is a repository for published and unpublished documents, films, tapes and other recordings relevant to Orang Asli peoples and cultures. The Orang Asli are the indigenous peoples of Peninsular Malaysia and comprise about 17 to 20 different groups."
General Anthropology Databases from Anthropology Libguide
Searches Harvard's Anthropological Literature and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute). Coverage is from late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture; and interdisciplinary studies.
Provides access to the current issues of the American Anthropological Association's publications through the end of 2008. Includes an archive of all AAA journals including access to archival content housed at JSTOR.
Cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory. This annually-growing database is organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Indexes the information contained in over 2,600 social sciences journals and 6,000 books each year. Coverage includes both core and specialized material from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. About 100,000 citations are added each year.
Full text, multidisciplinary database. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, ngo and special reports.
Provides over 500 time series of economic and socio-economic data from more than 230 countries, incorporating data from the World Bank publications World Tables, Social Indicators of Development, World Population Projections, the World Development Report, and the World Bank Atlas from 1970- present with some gaps in series.